We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best in San Luis Obispo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Still the best in San Luis Obispo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have been traveling to San Luis Obispo several times/yr for the past few years since our oldest daughter attends Cal Poly, and we'll continue making these trips since our youngest daughter just started Cal Poly as well. The Quality Suites is always our first choice in hotels and we only stay elsewhere if they are completely booked. We recently stayed for 3 days while we were in SLO moving our daughters into their respective apartments, and everything was first rate as usual. Our daughters slept on the sofa sleeper for a couple of nights, and were very comfortable with the plush alternative down comforter that was provided (we've noticed that most hotels provide minimal linens and thin blankets). Breakfast was hearty and delicious, and the fresh sweet local strawberries are to die for! We used the workout facility every day, and did a couple loads of laundry. Even with our busy schedule, we had time to enjoy the complimentary wine and snacks in the evening. The service is impeccable, the location is ideal (just a mile from campus), and it's always our favorite place to stay in SLO. Just book early since the rooms fill up fast!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KikoSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    211
    51
    13
    6
See reviews for
288
193
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Hills
Level Contributor
579 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

I've been staying at this place whenever I come to SLO, which is five to six times a year for the past twelve years. The entire staff is very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are clean and everything works as it should. They recently remodeled the pool and spa area and added new outdoor furniture. Complimentary beer and wine are offered in the evenings at the Manager's Reception. The complimentary breakfasts are cooked to order and the selection is excellent. The location is perfect for seeing the downtown area and offers easy access to Morro Bay, just 12 or so miles away. The prices are a little on the high side but considering everything together, they are not that bad.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We selected this hotel based on the reviews from Trip Advisor, as we needed to have a quick one-night stay to break up the drive from San Francisco to LA. While the service and the room were adequate, I was expecting a little more for the rate that we were being charged. The hotel rooms face the pool area and it's a very nice pool. But on the evening that we stayed, there was a very large (25-30 people) group huddled around one end of the pool, sharing drinks and having a few laughs. This was all well and good, but I would have expected the rooms to be more sound-proofed than they were. The highlight of the stay is the *great* breakfast that is included in the rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcola33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

This hotel is in a great location in San Luis, and the service is awesome. The staff is efficient, competent, and friendly. The pool area and grounds are beautiful and the breakfast is great. We had a very nice 3 night stay here. Our room was clean and comfortable.
The room had a large amount of counter space and a fridge, making it ideal for our family with small kids. It was great to have the reception area and lobby available to us, as we used it to meet friends and share drinks without having to find a sitter for our kids. Overall, this hotel is great and we'll never stay anywhere else in SLO!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Free beer and wine during a manager's reception each evening, free DVD rentals for the in-room DVD player, a nice swimming pool and hot tub, close to downtown and a great concierge. Plus, a cook to order complimentary breakfast!!

The room was huge, the bed was amazing and the staff were fantastic. I cannot express how amazing this place is to stay! No wonder SLO is the happiest town in America!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianinvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband, I and our two 20+ kids stopped by on our way from LA to San Francisco (PCH). I selected this hotel based on previous reviews. Glad I did! The suites were spotless, spacious, exactly as described (in fact looked even better than pics) and more than met our needs. They do have twin suites (although this doesn't seem to show up on their website). The complimentary wine evening was fab with tasty nibbles, there was also complimentary DVD rental. Great friendly, helpful staff :-) Great stay and location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angiebaby67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here one Thursday night in July in order to walk over to the great Farmer's Market in town. Place was lively and full of children in the pool which is in the first courtyard of the hotel. I had booked a room in a "quiet" area - which was in the back with its own garden courtyard. Suite was fine and we stayed on the 3rd floor (of 3 floors). Bath counters upgraded, coffees/teas, small fridge, microwave. Bed comfortable. There was a bbq and wine/beer evening event but we skipped that to go to town. Later in the evening, we used the jacuzzi, which was calmer since most of the children had gone to their rooms. I spoke to one family and they said they stay there every Summer for a week. It seemed like many families had the same idea. Hotel has a beautiful lobby, a bar area behind that. Small "store" in back of reception which loans DVDs. Service was quick and helpful. The breakfast buffet was nice: organized, fresh and they made some things to order. It was in a banquet type room but many people sat on the patio also. We opted to take our food to our room as it was so noisy with about 20 children running around. This was our first time here and we liked the proximity to the freeway and town, the service and the free breakfast. We'll stay here again but perhaps not in the Summer.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room, ask for the garden courtyard in the back. 2nd or 3rd floors best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was nice to read that you stayed to visit Farmer’s Market. Farmer’s Market is a great event and is mentioned by many of our guests as one of their favorite things to do in SLO. Summer is a time when a lot of families travel. It was good to see that you found a calmer spot at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing