We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST DEAL IN TOWN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. Large suite with two TV's and bedroom separated by a pocket door. We had a king bed room with living room and bedroom. This hotel price includes a free Happy Happy Hour Mondays-Thursdays from 5:30-7:30 (wine and beer). While the Happy Hour is going on outside the hotel is grilling food by the pool. You can purchase a burger and salad or other entree's for $4-$6 and have dinner right there. In the morning they offer a free cooked to order breakfast with all the extras (fruit, muffins, danish, etc.). The pool area is very nice with lots of chairs and in the evening they light all the fire pits so you can use those while sipping your wine! It's about a 15 minute walk to all the shopping downtown but there is a wonderful little restaurant/bakery down one block called Splash. A great place to pick up breakfast, lunch or dinner! Stay away from their espresso drinks though, they don't make good ones as they add the flavor to the milk and then steam the milk...thus burning the flavoring! I would highly recommend this hotel as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhunteraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your stay at our hotel and posting a review on tripadvisor. It was great to read that you thought we were “the best deal in town”. For future reference, our free happy hour goes seven days a week from 5:30 to 7:30 PM. There is a lot to experience in San Luis Obispo. The short walk to downtown as you describe is a great way to visit the area and get a feel for our town. The convenience and location of Splash Café also makes it a favorite among our guest.

We hope to see you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just a stop off for one night SF-LA. 4 friends with a single occupancy room each. Very polite check-in. Explained about the free wine and cheap bbq, but we went into town to explore so can't comment on these.

Decent breakfast included in the price, which is unusual for the US - possibly not in these motel type places? There's several in SLO, but this one is far enough off the 101 not to get the traffic noise. Suited us just fine - only negative is the dreary and dated decor of the rooms themselves, which could do with a modernising freshen up.

Space and facilities were fine - it's only the aesthetics that are lacking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was nice to read that you and your friends decided to stay at our hotel while driving down the coast. We feel SLO provides a unique experience for our guests. It was good to see you had the opportunity to explore downtown during your visit. Many of our guests visit San Luis Obispo just to spend time enjoying the area and downtown.

We are constantly working to provide upgrades to our hotel. We recently renovated the patio area. Next on the list is to renovate our suites. We hope you are able to visit again to see the new renovations.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit our area.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A great family hotel. We stopped overnight on our trip up the coast. The rooms are perfect for families with a bedroom and separate living room with a pull-out sofa bed. The hotel offers a nice pool in the central courtyard as well as several seating areas and a couple of fire-pits located throughout the grounds. During our stay, they also offered an evening bbq with very reasonably prices, burgers, hot-dogs and chicken sandwiches as well as an evening reception with complimentary beer and wine. Breakfast was also good with a wide selection of offerings. We would definitely consider staying here again when in the area.

Room Tip: The area around the pool can get a little noisy, but rooms have good sound insulation, so it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for telling us about your visit to our hotel and posting a review on tripadvisor. We always like seeing when families have an opportunity to connect and enjoy each other while staying at our hotel. Your review stating that we are “perfect for families” helps us know that we are providing an experience that our guests appreciate. Our evening barbecue is one of our most popular items. It was good to see that you had the opportunity to experience it during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Great lobby, large room, ok breakfast.
IMO most Quality Suites are a bit "dated". But this property has done a great job
on the entrance & lobby area. The free wine mixer is a nice touch....It tends to get a bit crowded w/ larger groups on weekends but nevertheless it's worth a look---if you're there at dusk.
The room was large.....and fairly quiet in the back...away from the pool. I was both surprised and disappointed with the un-attractiveness of the back stairways. They really are dirty AND they absolutely need some minor repair work done. Breakfast is better than most hotels of this caliber; especially if you have young children. (Note: If you want a real treat for breakfast, or lunch, go down to the Big Sky Cafe....that place is GREAT!)
In short: If you have small children then this place is tough to beat for the money. If ur a couple then this place is okay....you'll find similar deals around town.

Room Tip: Back rooms...building 5&6 are quieter. If you have kids, then stay by the pool. AND do go to Bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. We agree with you regarding the back stairway. We have scheduled a contractor to come in and give us a bid to make the backs stairway more attractive.

We appreciated hearing your comments that “we have done a great job on the entrance and lobby area”. Big sky Café is one of the favorite restaurants mentioned by our customers. In addition to breakfast and lunch they also do a great job at dinners.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

In a small city we did not expect the wonderful level of service we received here. A driver picked us up at the train station (no cost) and wished us to the hotel. A quick check in and a clean room awaited us.
At 5:00 we were treated to free bar drinks and munchies that made traveling day much better. The next morning we were again treated to the very best breakfast we have had in very many motels/hotels. Made to order omlettes,fresh orange juice,great coffee.
The staff there made you feel right at home...terrific

Room Tip: Frontside pool had nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Art333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your visit to our hotel. It pleases our entire staff when we make our customers feel like they are “right at home”. The objective of all our Associate and their culture is to provide our customers an enjoyable and relaxing visit to our hotel and the community of San Luis Obispo. When we hear that one of our guests feels like they were right at home it helps us know that the services we provide are connecting with the people that stay with us.

We hope to see you again the next time you are able to enjoy our hotel and the San Luis Obispo area.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

There's a reason this property is rated #1 in San Luis Obispo. It provides extraordinary value to travelers not just in San Luis Obispo, but more broadly in Central California. Readers considering visits to Morro Bay, Hearst Castle, Solvang and Paso Robles (all well worth seeing) may want to consider using this property as a base.
I have stayed at many properties over the years, with nightly rates ranging from $70 to $370. However, this Quality Suites stresses guest services and accomplishes what high-end city hotels try to provide at a fraction of the price. Here are some examples:
(1) We were there on a Thursday night, and the shuttle service was available to take us to the famous Night Market. Shuttles at most properties run every half hour. Here, we arrived in the lobby, the front desk was staffed, so they took us immediately, with no wait! And when we were done at the market, we called the.front desk and they picked us up at a pre-arranged meeting spot. Again, no.wait!
(2) At checkout the next day, I asked the attendant if he would provide the address and telephone number of the Quality Inn in another California city, as we had reservations and would be staying there that night. The attendant not only cheerfully provided the information, but printed directions for us.
(3) The breakfast is cooked to order, and it's popular with the guests. Management understands that, and staffs the breakfast room to ensure that each guest's experience is positive. The cooks are courteous but fast in filling orders; If you ask for more than one piece of waffle, they will provide it with a smile. The selection of hot and cold food is significantly larger than I normally encounter. In addition, the staff is not afraid to interact with guests. One staff member noticed my "Route 66" shirt, and struck up a conversation about "The Mother Road" and the great cars of the 1950s.
(4) This property has a coin laundry near the pool and breakfast room. At many other properties I have encountered a washer or dryer that doesn't work or a front desk that has no detergent on hand. Those kind of mistakes aren't tolerated here, as management is detail-oriented. And the machines are easy to operate.
(5)I Our room was on the first level, near the pool and breakfast room. It was quiet, enabling me to get work done despite being close to the public spaces. This was a weekday stay, and the college was not in session,
(6) After checkout, we were pushing wheeled suitcases from our room to the parking lot. No less than four different staff members asked, "Can I help you?" within less than two minutes.
The property has a nightly manager's reception with beer and wine, and food (such as burgers and bbq) is available at nominal cost. We were unable to try these events (for example, they conflicted with the city's Night Market).
Kudos to ownership, management and staff for the level of customer service and attention to detail. We will certainly stay here next time we are in Central California.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BechamelDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such and extraordinarily detailed review of our property. It made our entire staff feel good about the job they are doing in taking care of our customers. I am very proud of our staff that four of them came to ask you if you needed any help with your luggage in just a 2 minute period. We feel that San Luis Obispo is a great place for travelers to stay as their primary location while visiting the County. I appreciate that you recognized this during your stay and made mention of it in your review.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are on the Central Coast.

Thank you again for providing such a thorough review of our hotel.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and we enjoyed it once again. It has so many extras (free manager’s reception, inexpensive BBQ, free DVD rentals) as well as some other things we’ve come to look for in a hotel (free breakfast, free wi-fi and free parking). But it also has lots of space! The rooms have plenty of space (it’s really a living room and bedroom), with lots of storage space and a long counter. There is also plenty of tables and space in the breakfast dining area as well as around the pool. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familytravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We always appreciate knowing that you chose to come back and visit our hotel again. The best endorsement of our property I can think of is to have our guests come to visit us again once they have had the opportunity to experience our hotel. It was great to hear how well the extra space worked out for you during your stay. Many of our guests choose to visit again because of the many amenities you mentioned in your review.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are coming through San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,452 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £116 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing