We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lovely place, very clean, spacious and the staff were very friendly. The swimming pool was lovely, and the full breakfast included made it good value. We stayed on a Thursday, so availed of the hotel happy hour before getting a courtesy lift into the farmer's market. They came and collected us from the same point when we were ready to head back to the hotel later that night. We were sorry to leave!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. It was good to see that you had the opportunity to enjoy farmer’s market during your stay at our hotel. Many of our guests take advantage of the shuttle down to farmers market and find it to be a great to get to and from the event. The guests have told us that they really like the shuttle because they don’t have to worry about parking or directions when they go into town. We appreciate your kind words letting us know that you found our hotel to be a “lovely place to stay”.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    220
    53
    13
    6
See reviews for
301
196
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We came for one night to visit Cal Poly and this was a perfect spot. Great breakfast included (there was also a cocktail reception and BBQ that we did not attend but have to assume it was good, too)
The room was spacious, clean and the beds were super comfy. I was a little worried that it wouldn't be quiet as our room was near the hot tub and the parking lot. But it was perfectly quiet and we slept great! Also, they have free DVD movie rentals so we got to watch a movie, too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broc551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on tripadvisor. It was great to read that your suite was spacious, clean and that it was perfectly quiet allowing you to “sleep great”. We hope on your next visit that you were able to come for more than one night so that you get a chance to enjoy our town as well as Cal Poly.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,


George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for night driving from LA to San Fran we were exhausted from travelling and were pleased to arrive. Check in was easy and all the staff encountered here were so helpful polite and efficient. The bed was comfortable and it was the best nights sleep. All the extras the drinks and BBQ meal on site were such a nice touch. The breakfast was awesome. Would recommend this place and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on tripadvisor. We understand there are times when traveling can be exhausting. We have done our best to incorporate many free amenities at our hotel so that our guests can relax, connect and get rejuvenated during their visit. It was nice to read that you found the beds comfortable and you got good night’s sleep. A good night’s sleep and a great breakfast usually help our guest’s get a good start to so that they can fully enjoy their day.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit our hotel.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I am first going to disclose I am a Choice Hotel employee and therefore I look at our properties with a discerning eye. Would I stay here again? Absolutely. I had a king suite with two TV's which was perfect for the teenager traveling with me and allowed privacy since the pocket door separated him from my sleeping quarters. The hotel grounds are like an oasis, the cooked to order breakfast a wonderful addition, the bbq at dinner so inexpensive and the complimentary beverage bar in the evening a real treat. Our maid, Maria paid attention to the room detail and I was delighted to stay in a spotless suite. The 24 hour gift shop with complimentary DVD rentals was a great add on because we saw two videos after a long day sightseeing. The spa/hot tub had the best jets and not a speck of dirt. The pool was equally as pristine. I have stayed in some of the best hotels in America yet I preferred this gem on the Central Coast.

Room Tip: The pool gets busy during the day but was no problem at night. Stay further in the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XCaliforniaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on tripadvisor. We wish you could have stayed longer as well. It was great to see that you are in the hospitality industry as well. We appreciate hearing from people with a hospitality background because they provided us a unique perspective that we do not always get. It was nice to see that you enjoyed the many amenities that we provide. Understanding that you have stayed at some of the best hotels in America and prefer our hotel lets us know that we are providing our guests an experience that they appreciate.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights a few weeks ago. I thought the grounds around the hotel were very nice with comfortable seating and decor. The rooms were spacious and the bed was comfortable. My daughter complained about the pull out sofa being to springy, so she just slept on the sofa itself the second night. The sofa was a sectional, so my other daughter could sleep on the pull out part with no troubles. The room was very clean and housekeeping staff friendly. We felt the front desk staff were a little on the unfriendly side. I wonder if these were the same staff that were getting good previous reviews? Apart from that, thought that it was a great hotel and a super location in such a pretty town. I agree with the others about the noise level...ask for a quieter back room away from the pool if you are sensitive to noise.

Room Tip: Back room around the quieter courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvmaui40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. I apologize that your greeting was not friendlier upon your arrival. All of our guests deserve and should expect to be treated warmly when they arrive. If this happens to any of our future guest, please let me know. I would like them to contact me personally so I can make sure this they are greeted properly. I do appreciate knowing that you had a nice stay and that you found our housekeeping staff friendly. It was wonderful to see that your overall experience was positive and that you thought our hotel was great and a super location.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit our town.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights and were happy with the accommodations. It's not a luxury hotel, but that's not what we were looking for on this trip. The suite was roomy. If you want a quieter room reserve one near the gazebo courtyard, not the pool. We were near the gazebo and didn't have any noise issues. The exercise room is not large by any means but sufficient. We enjoyed using it the 2 mornings we were there. Breakfast is included and we were very happy with it. It's cooked to order and much more substantial than a typical continental breakfast. We had omlettes, waffles, fresh fruit, sausage. The hotel is close to the downtown area and they offer a shuttle to and from the hotel. We didn't use this feature but I can see how it would come in handy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveBirds25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on tripadvisor. It makes all of us at the hotel feel good to know that you had a “very pleasant stay”. Many of the things that you covered in your review are mentioned by our guests as the amenities that provided them the most pleasure during their stay. Even though you did not take advantage of our free shuttle to downtown we hope you got an opportunity to visit the surrounding area. Most of our guests that visit our town while they are here find they enjoy the special features that San Luis Obispo has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit us.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We just stayed here for the 1st time. The location to downtown is great. The price is very reasonable with the hot breakfast, evening poolside bbq (you can feed small children dinner with this bbq!), and happy hour. The rooms were clean and the staff were very accommodating on the locale of the room we needed (quiet - in the back away from the pool area). We will definitely be coming here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor in the back of the hotel were extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. We liked knowing that this was the first time you have stayed with us and you will definitely be coming here again. It helps our Associates know they are doing a good job when they see and hear our guests enjoying their time at our hotel.

Our poolside barbecue is very popular with our guests. It is nice to see everyone enjoying the hotel and their time together.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing