We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fair bargin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fair bargin!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I ave stayed at this hotel a number of times and have to recommend. While the rooms themselves are a bit dated, the overall experience is on par with much more expensive hotels. The afternoon happy hours with free beer and wine is a great thing after a long day. I think the best aprt of this hotel though is the breakfast. No Chincy wafflemaker and three day old pastries, rather you can get a made to order plate fo rthe asking. In addition to omelets or made to order eggs, there is a full compliment of fruit and yougert, hot coffee and juice. The breakfast itself is equal to knocking $15.00 per person off of the rate.

Room Tip: It is a little quieter in the back part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaibabAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for providing a description of your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your recognition of our free breakfast. As you describe, we do our best to offer all the things our customers have told us they like the most. Based on my own traveling experience I would agree with your $15 valuation per person for breakfast.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    223
    53
    14
    6
See reviews for
305
199
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is very family friendly, and about six blocks from downtown SLO. The hotel centers around a pool, which kids will love. Rooms are relatively small but do have two rooms, albeit with a rather poorly designed bathroom layout.

The hotel is known for it's breakfast and two hour happy hour, featuring free beer and wine and discounted hot dogs, hamburgers, etc., from a BBQ next to the pool. Very lively and no complaints. We had a first floor room, which was not as good as one one one of the upper floors.

Free shuttle to downtown, train station, etc. If you can find a good rate, definitely recommended for families, less so for couples.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAReviewer--CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We like knowing that you found our hotel to be family-friendly. Our guests have told us that adults and enjoy the pool and patio area. The option of getting dinner at the barbecue and relaxing around our pool/patio area is a good opportunity for families to enjoy the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Came in late with family of 6 in tow...we went to check in & were told we had king rooms where we had reserved for double. No double rooms available. They asked if we had our booking confirmation. My husband showed our confirmation for double rooms. They exemplified great customer service and comped an additional room. We were very impressed. Great accommodations for our family and lovely breakfast. Wish we could stay here longer!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlrb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on tripadvisor. It was great to see that our Associates were able to help you with your reservation and make the adjustment to accommodate your family of six. We will make sure we recognize those Associates involved that exemplified “great customer service”. We understand that traveling with family is a special time and it is our job to provide you with memorable experience.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We are SLO Quality Suites regulars. My sister started at Cal Poly in 1988 and this was our family's home away from home whenever we visited. Both my husband and I attended Cal Poly from 1991-1996 and we have continued to visit SLO with our kids at least 3 times a year. While Quality Suites has always been the best place to stay we have witnessed the changes it has made over the past 26 years to continue to make it the best. While we can't imagine staying anywhere else my husband and I both agree this time around that it is time to change over the drapes and most importantly it is time for the green couches to go. Our daughters echo that sentiment as this was the most uncomfortable sleep they have had yet on these very well used and probably tired fold out sofas. With that being said it is hard to beat the generous Happy Hour and even more generous cooked to order free breakfast, chocolate chip cookies, pool, location and all around great service. There are a few other decent lodging choices when visiting SLO but you will be hard pressed to find anything as all-encompassing as Quality Suites....even if the
green couches are still there!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandsPatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on tripadvisor. It was great to see that you been staying with us for 26 years. Since you have been staying with us for so many years I am sure you have seen many of the refurbishments and upgrades we have made the suites and our hotel. We are in the process of refurbishing the suites and it is good to get the feedback. Your input will be helpful in guiding us in a positive direction.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re in San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our family of four stayed here for one night on a road trip up the West Coast. The staff upon arrival was less than friendly but efficient, so it was fine. The suite room layout is a bit odd--a long, narrow room with the "living room" in the forefront, then the bedroom, and then bathroom at the end of the "tunnel". The living room had a sofabed which we never used because there was so much other odd bits of furniture it would have been a tight squeeze to pull it out. The bathroom door lock was broken and the bathroom itself had that set-in urine smell that comes with being an old bathroom that isn't cleaned properly each time. Breakfast was okay; they had three or so menu items made to order but the eggs I think were powdered and the bacon was a bit questionable. Overall, however, it was a good deal considering that it is peak season and the rates are reasonable for a large family since it does include breakfast. The young lady at checkout was really super friendly, making up for grumpy (but efficient!) girl at the start. Good for a stopover but I wouldn't stay more than one night if possible.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the pool as these tend to be more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkndtrvlr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay and providing comments on tripadvisor. We hear what you are saying about the suites. One of the reasons for the length of the suite is that we wanted a lot natural light to be in both the living room and bedroom. When we constructed the hotel we wanted to take advantage of the great San Luis Obispo climate and having a lot of natural light was important to that experience.

I apologize that the bathroom was not as clean and fresh smelling as it should have been. I will work with our housekeeping to Department to make sure we correct this situation.

We hope to have some changes in place that you can experience the next time you visit.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I spent two nights here with family and had a good stay. The premises are well-kept and have a feeling of spaciousness that I enjoyed. One courtyard had a pool and also featured indoor/outdoor breakfast and afternoon reception service, and the other courtyard was much more peaceful with just some shaded seating.

Front desk staff was courteous, as was the afternoon bartender and breakfast employees. Our suite was at the better end of what one would expect from a Quality Suites, so much so that I'm surprised this place isn't branded as a Clarion. The two beds were comfy, but the fold-out sofabed was one of the least comfortable I've ever experienced. One of us ended up sleeping on the sofa itself rather than the sofabed. The view from the bedroom was somewhat obstructed, but at least there was a window there and in the living room too.

Overall, I liked my stay here. My only concern with the property is the steps to the second floor. They are uneven, feel rickety, and look dated to the point that I wondered if one or two might fail or cause me to trip. I hope the old concrete stairways are replaced with new steel or wood ones. That kind of improvement should be expected for a hotel at this price point.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davdaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on tripadvisor. When we open the hotel the Clarion brand was not an option. Many of our guests come back and visit our hotel on a regular basis and they know us as the Quality Suites so we have continued with that name.

Thank you for pointing out your concerns about the stairs. We will have our maintenance staff look into it and find a resolution that will improve our exterior stairs.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay for one night during our drive to SF.
There are a bunch of hotels in SLO but most appear to be older/dated. This was the case w/ Quality Suites. Not usually the type of place I would choose to stay in terms of the dated rooms. That being said, the rooms are very spacious with a separate living space. This was very convenient as we were a group of 4. They also offer a happy hour at 5:30-7:30 with free wine/beer and pretzels. This is a great perk. The hot breakfast in the morning has a GREAT selection. Fresh strawberries, bananas, yogurt, made to order eggs, etc. You can even get the breakfast to go and take it to your room/on the road if you wanted. There is a free shuttle into downtown SLO but it's also an easy drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsl_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on tripadvisor. Even though we are not your “usual” hotel I was glad to see that you gave us a try. It was nice to find out that you found our suites to be spacious and that you had the chance to enjoy the many amenities we provide.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,599 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing