We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel worthy of much more than an overnight stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel worthy of much more than an overnight stopover”
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We booked a night at this hotel as part of our road trip from San Francisco to LA. The room was very clean and spacious and the hotel staff made us feel very welcome - it was just what we needed after a long car journey. The only thing that could be improved upon in the room would be to include an in-room safe. Having arrived feeling very weary the managers reception with complimetary beer, wine and nibbles from 5 - 7pm along with the reasonably priced BBQ by the pool (steak, burgers, chicken or veggieburger) were very welcome as was the free DVD rental from the gift shop to use in the DVD player in the room. The included breakfast was fairly extensive with cereal, juices, bagels, toast, english muffins, juices, tea and coffee plus your choice of cooked to order items (bacon or sausage, fried or scrambled egs, potatoes and waffles with syrup). Free Wifi throughout hotel was very handy and computers with printers in reception allowed us to book and print out tickets to Six Flags in advance of our next stop. We only wished that we could have stayed on another night so that we could have made use of the lovely pool facilities and explored the area further.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shigson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 22 April 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property.

Great to see that you came all the way from the UK to visit San Luis Obispo and stay with us. We we hope that the next time you are able to stay longer as well. That way you can get to know our town better and enjoy all the amenities we offer here at the Quality Suites.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    225
    53
    14
    6
See reviews for
309
200
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We found this hotel by chance as we were driving through, we tried a few other places first and arrived here by luck! It is fantastic. Happy hour with free beer from 6 - 8pm, bbq by the pool and like other reviewers have just said, the place is really clean. our children are in heaven making friends at the lovely pool and we are drinking coffee by the pool under the patio heaters! I think this is a fantastic stop for anyone driving through. Staff very polite and attentive, we just stayed at a 5* on the way down along highway 1 and this is much much better.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcursionHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I have children myself so I understand how important it is for both parents and children to enjoy their stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that we provided you family an enjoyable visit.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jivio
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Everything is fine about this hotel except the walls are paper thin. When other people close their doors, the slam and the entire building shakes. We watched our picture frames bounce every time someone else left their room and there was a lot of in and out activity. We could hear the TV and conversation from the rooms beside us, every step taken by the people overhead, etc. NO PEACE OR QUIET TO BE FOUND HERE. The management could at least encourage people to be aware of this and not allow doors to slam and to keep their voices at a moderate volume while in the room.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jivio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and express your concerns about surrounding noise. I was sorry to hear that you experienced a lot of noise from your neighbors during your stay. I know that when I travel with my family I do not like to have a lot of outside when we are trying to sleep. We do everything possible to our work with all our guest to make sure that everyone enjoys their stay while being considerate to the other guests. If we are notified of a noise compliant we do our best to get the situation resolved. Most guests are happy to work with us. Sometimes it is necessary to move guests and we are happy to make that accommodation as well.

We look forward to seeing you again.

George Newland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRESNO
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Due to a death in the family, we drove into San Luis Obispo from Fresno. Due to complications in the family, we spent 5 nights at the hotel. It is delightful to know that we have a "home away from home" at the Quality Suites on Monterey Street. The staff that owner/partner George has on duty is great. We have loved this venue since it opened for the great breakfasts, evening gatherings, pool, and spacious ultra-clean rooms and great staff! A new gentleman named Daniel (from England) is a superb new addition to the front desk crew! He is professional, yet friendly and most attentive to a guests needs. Bruce continues to do an excellent job.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lheifetz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
Great to hear that you think of us as your "home away from home" . We strive to have a friendly atmosphere here at our hotel and it is nice to see your review acknowledge our staff.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I chose this hotel based upon the reviews from Trip Advisor and was very pleased. We were on a one day visit to Cal Poly and this hotel suited our needs. Hotel staff were friendly but not too knowledgeable on local restaurants or if we could park a car a Cal Poly (parking is available for a $5 day fee). The hotel was about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the central part of town and I believe the hotel even offers shuttle service. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Included in the price - a full breakfast. I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelboundsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 5 March 2010
Thank you for your review and your acknowledgment about us being the Perfect Hotel while visiting Cal Poly. You are correct, a lot of our guest choose to make the 10 minute walk downtown. We do offer a shuttle downtown for those that would prefer a ride. We will work to improve our knowledge of local restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We returned to this hotel after staying here almost two years ago. The rooms are still very clean, with comfortable beds and nice pillows and blankets. The front desk and staff were quite friendly and helpful, and there are two computers in the lobby handy for checking email, printing, etc.

No complaints other than the miserable breakfast coffee (pretty undrinkable). This is a fairly pricey place, so I think they could upgrade the quality of the coffee!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank music33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
We always appreciate getting the perspective of guests that have stayed with us before. Good to hear that you see we are keeping up with everything. I will check on our coffee to see what we can do to make some improvements.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We had our family reunion (25 people) at the Quality Suites. They gave us the space they use for breakfast which consisted of 3 good sized rooms that opened onto their patio area. They also gave us use of the pool and whirlpool. We brought our own food and were able to keep items warm in our slow cookers. Having stayed at this hotel before, I knew the staff was friendly, the rooms clean and well kept. We were very happy. We will use this space again. BTW we gave short notice and were still treated great.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osuannahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 2 February 2010
Good to hear that all went well for you reunion. We have several areas at the hotel for groups to gather. I am glad to hear that it worked out well for your group and that our staff responded quickly to your needs.

We look forward to having you visit again.

Thanks

George Newland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,400 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,625 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing