We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Based on the previous, negative reviews, I was a hesitant to book this hotel. But the savings was considerable ($150 less than the BW Somerset up the street), so we took a chance. I'm glad we did! Our experience overall was positive. In short, friendly & accommodating staff & a decent room with everything we needed. Good value for the price. Details below.

Other reviewers suggested guests request the main/remodeled building (more desirable than the older section across the street). We did. To make sure of this, I followed up our online reservation with a personal phone call, requesting the newer section & a room with 2 Queen beds. "Angelo" at reception was very kind, & upgraded us to a room with a balcony, after I explained our visit was a special mother/daughter retreat. The large enough room (1208) was equipped with a fridge & microwave. Two (very!) comfortable beds with plenty of pillows. Bathroom was clean with plenty of towels. Internet worked fine, as did the air conditioner.
Lovely mountain view from the room & balcony. Shaded & easy parking. The hotel is within easy walking distance of downtown. While, as vegans, we only had tea & juice at breakfast (we brought our own food with us, so the fridge was great), there seemed to be a large enough selection of cereal, breads, eggs, bacon, & waffles.
A young woman "Wendy," who ALONE managed the breakfast set up, deserves a special mention. She was clearly very busy & hard working & stayed poised under pressure when multiple guests started complaining or making requests all at once. As she attended to everyone's needs, even the complainers, Wendy stayed pleasant, calm & polite. Much better than the guests demanding things of her!

Down side: the balcony in our room needed a good sweep & wiping of the table. The blind on the door out to the balcony needs replacing soon (Had a hole & didn't go up)
There were a few spots on the rug, but nothing disgusting. While this isn't a 4 star hotel, neither was the price! It was more than adequate for 2 nights. We weren't there to see the room.
All in all, request the newer building & don't hesitate to stay here...& save money as you do! :-)

Room Tip: Newer/main building upstairs. 1208 has a balcony & view of the mountains. Also overlooks the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    57
    53
    29
    17
See reviews for
68
44
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and when we walked in, it smelled funky. The carpet felt grimey. The couch fabric was grimey, also. I lifted up the couch cushion to see if it was a bed, and there were pieces of food under there. The bathmat had holes in it. The paint peeling in the bathroom. One of the chairs was taped on the leg. When we went to breakfast, the eggs & bacon were gone and there was no batter for the waffles. Very disappointing stay for the price

Room Tip: The Motel 6 in SLO is much cleaner than this place. We wouldn't have stayed here if we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Fair Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I recently stayed here with my husband and two young children. The hotel was tidy but absolutely filthy. Both the sleeping area and bathroom had mold on the walls and ceiling, the "astro turf" carpeting was old and black - in fact our feet were left black from it! and bedding was stained. This is not to mention the small, old televisions and stained bathtub. I would truly never stay here again and would recommend to anyone else not to stay here as well. It is a hazard to you and your families health. Hopefully they will be inspected sometime soon before getting someone seriously ill.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 910erican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

One of the best Comfort Inns that I have stayed in. Charming look, comfortable large rooms, and decent breakfast. The front desk was very helpful, the internet operated at a decent speed. The location is close to some restaraunts and close to Hwy 101.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
476 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The room was top floor and a in corner with windows that actually opened onto the courtyard pool (for fresh, cool, air) . It was clean and had a fridge, microwave & coffee maker, which was good. The staff was cordial and breakfast good with eggs, bacon,etc. However, the small eating area was full, so I took mine back to the room.

Bedding & pillows were new, but the bedspread was quilted so so heavy it was hard for me to sleep with the weight of it. Guess they haven't discovered lightweight microfiber yet!

It was fine for a one night stay. Their wifi was VERY slow, but I have my own myfi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Upon checking in and going to room noticed a sticky spill in elevator. Thought manager would want to take care so sticky wouldn't spred but apparently I was interferring with his dinner. Then left to go eat after dropping off bags. Came back to use toilet. Was I surprised the broken seat bit my "cheek". Told manager apparently no maintence staff. He would take $10 off room price. Very disturbing considering I am disabled from a knee that needs to be replaced. If that seat had cut my cheek there would be more said then just this review. Not hospitable and quite forgettable don't waste your money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pattykatty46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here on our way to San Francisco. We were given a handicapped room because that's all that was available, so the room was spacious. The hairdryer did not work and we had to ask two different lethargic managers three times to get some shampoo. The elevators and hallways were dingy and smelled strongly and mysteriously of mustard. This place is LOUD. doors slamming all night long and a lot of noise from the street, even with windows closed and the air blasting. There was vomit and empty bottles of Jack Daniels in the sidewalk below our room in the morning...cheers! Continenal breakfast was some stale danishes, cereal and the like. Coffee pot was empty. Lack of tables, no seating and they wouldn't let you take your stale roll back to the room (??). The $209 we spent on one room for one night for this place was ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HWY1CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lexington Inn
Lexington Inn
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites

Property: Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Address: 1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter Hotel San Luis Obispo
Comfort Inn And Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn Lamplighter
Comfort Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing