We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“extended stay due to family illness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Pomona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“extended stay due to family illness”
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Our daughter was in critial condition and was transfered to a hospital in San Luis Obispo. We needed a place to stay near the hospital and happened on the Comfort Inn. The staff was very nice and considerate, making our stay as nice as possible. The room was clean and comfortable. We felt safe and sleep as well as could be expected. The breakfast was good and very convientant.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mldelrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    57
    53
    29
    17
See reviews for
67
44
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We requested and paid extra for a suite expecting it to be a nicer room. We had one bedroom and another bedroom/living room. The rooms were old and dated, the carpeting was stained, the linens were thin and warn, there was no alarm clock and the wi-fi didn't work. When we complained to the desk staff, we were told that a long-term resident had just moved out of the suite, as though that was an excuse for how it looked. This hotel was certainly not acceptable and is not the caliber expected from Comfort Suites..

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We're tourists from Australia traveling LA to SF. We stayed in the rooms 'across the road' at the back of the hotel - in a family suite. 1xK, 2xQ in two rooms, and 2x large TV's. Nice and spacious and wonderfully quiet, concrete floors so really didn't notice any other guests (there were others). Furniture all looking a bit tired and dated - as is the room decor. Toilet seat old and stained. Mattress on one of the Queen beds was completely past it's use by date (had to put a pillow under the mattress to make it sleepable) - but others were fine. A/C hadn't been on heat mode since last winter - we only turned it on for 5 minutes due to smell. Continental breakfast included and good although limited seating. Certainly did the job for us but not the highlight of our trip from an accommodation perspective.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sail09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

The room was on the small side, but every standard item (fridge, microwave, tv, coffee maker...) was there, and the bathroom was spotless. Nothing special besides that - just another budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

SLO town was pretty booked, I don't care for motels with room doors opening to outside walkways, but I was just staying one night and didn't want to pay more than $100 and this place was it. I had reserved 2 rooms online. One room had a leaky toilet with a big puddle of water on the floor, the other room the A/C wasn't working, it was too hot to keep that room. I was informed there were no more rooms at that rate, the clerk first tried to get me to pay for the "upgrade" to a suite. I went to the suite, it had yet to be cleaned, it was 7pm. Back to the office, now there are two other unhappy guests trying to get a better room. Seems to be a theme. I left and said I would be back later and to have a working/clean room ready when I return. Hours later, I was informed that the A/C in the first room is working now. It was working, I then tried to get online....you guessed it, signal too weak. The following morning, the internet was very spotty with frequent disconnections. Glad it was for just one night. Otherwise the room wasn't bad, just definitely not good. Oh, FYI for the fitness minded, their "Gym" was a converted hotel room with a treadmill.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank here2help
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I liked very much this hotel, specially because of the staff. They helped me a lot. I was travelling with 2 children and the staff was very helpful and friendly. And the free breakfast... was very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSAOPAULO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

In a town with overpriced hotels, this turned out to be one of the more reasonable. The room was adequate, but small with oversized furniture. Outdoor pool was convenient, but cold! Free breakfast buffet -- expanded continental. Convenient location to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#22 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lexington Inn
Lexington Inn
#20 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peach Tree Inn
Peach Tree Inn
#14 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites

Property: Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Address: 1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter Hotel San Luis Obispo
Comfort Inn And Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn Lamplighter
Comfort Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing