We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“way to expensive for what you get, avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed there on a Saturday to Sunday night. It was the cheapest option in town ($129 incl. tax) but the value for money was bad.
The room was quite large but worn. The bathroom was even larger, but in even more need of maintenance. Both were clean - so no complain about that.
In the middle of the night, I fight broke out right outside of our room. It lasted for a good 45 minutes and the guy from the front desk did not manage to stop it. No physical fighting, just a lot of jelling. This was characteristic for the clientel who stays there.
Conclusion: Avoid, if possible. Otherwise don't expect much.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

Do not stay here. Bathroom window would not lock, neither would the front door. Dirty everywhere, carpet ripped and stains everywhere. Front desk person not friendly at all. Would have forfeited our money and went somewhere else but it was late. Did not feel safe and felt like we needed another shower after we left.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

5/12/11 - I never checked in and didn't stay 5 minutes but manager Jay still charged me 50% of my 3 day booking. When I walked into the lobby there was an offensive odor that smelled like ur ine. Upon inspection of the room I saw yellow stains running down bathroom wall near toilet, no paint on moldy window sill and in shower and bedspread was extremely faded with a large yellow stain. Jay's explanation of odor was that it was from the continental breakfast, though it was 3:30PM, and it was always present such as in the billboard that advertises to... "wake up and smell the coffee".

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank FatDad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Pulled in after a long days driving from San Francisco, just looking for a reasonably priced motel to get a good nights sleep. The rate including tax came to $57 and you really get what you pay for! Dirty room, safety lock on door busted off, dirty sheets, lumpy bed, terrible TV reception and painfully bad breakfast. I feared for my safety while staying here and as a result did not sleep well - wish i had kept on driving!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angiebeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abvi805, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2011

Thank you for your comments we appreciate your feedback. Your feedback gives us an opportunity to evaluate our facilities and make changes where necessary. Our goal is to provide the best possible accomodations at the most reasonable rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

My company placed us in this pit while doing some work there. The first night I arrived I pulled back the sheets to find stains and small black hairs on the sheets and pillows. There was molding coffee grounds in the coffee maker, food left in the refrigerator and mold in shower. The best part of the stay was after going to a doctor due to a horrible rash that turned out to be BED BUG bites. We immediately checked out. The staff of course denied that they could have bed bugs but were kind enough to offer a different room. I don't think there is anyone I hate enough to recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aquagrl914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abvi805, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2011

Thank you for feedback we appreciate your taking the time to give us your comments. We apologize for the conditions that you found when you checked into our property. We continue to train our staff to recognize these problems and to correct them so these conditions are not repeated in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I was looking forward to a good night sleep after traveling for 19 hours. Once I entered the room it did not have a fresh smell. I was tired so I overlooked it. I could hardly sleep. I felt something crawling on my arm and when I turned on the light there were ants crawling all over the bed. I got out of there as soon as I could.

A
NJ

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angie037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abvi805, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We apologize for the conditions that you encountered while staying at our Inn. We have addressed the issues which you have pointed out and continue to train our staff to recognize the problems you have described.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I stayed in this hotel for about 3 months. The manager was very nice and friendly. The cleanliness well maintain. The service was good. Overall, I have a good time staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JS-ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abvi805, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2011

Thank you for taking time to give us comments we appreciate your feedback. We work to provide the best possible lodging experience at the most reasonable rates. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.7 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#28 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Luis Inn & Suites
San Luis Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in San Luis Obispo
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#22 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 950 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2360 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £46 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling through or staying for a relaxing getaway, Americas Best Value Inn San Luis Obispo offers clean comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access in our public areas and free high-speed Internet access in our guest rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, clock radio, free local calls (restrictions apply), and wake-up service. Children age 18 and younger stay free in their parent's room. At Americas Best Value Inn San Luis Obispo, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Hotel San Luis Obispo
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
Econo Lodge San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing