We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Thank god we did not have bed bugs! Upon entering the lobby I knew this was going to be sad. It smelled of exotic spices, and not in a good way. The clerk was on a phone call that she didn't want to help me any more than she had to and was very abrupt with only yes or no answers, maybe it was a language thing. Next we set things up in the room, the bathroom was dingy, the window has a cheap film on it so people can't see in. The dresser was broken and missing drawer pulls even if we wanted to use it. There was no WIFI, bring your ethernet thank god it worked.
The most annoying thing about this hotel is that the walls were paper thin. There was a group that returned around 2am that were talking in the hall and it felt like they were next to my bed. It seemed to go on for hours.
Then there was the complimentary breakfast. HA HA HA, white bread, cornflakes, and coffee or juice that is 1/2 watered down. I should have slept on the beach or even bubble gum alley would have been better. Loved the city, hated the hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roquemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2009

Two words and they ain't Merry Christmas. In case you aren't aware of what a bed bug is, or think its just a game created by Milton Bradley in the 80's, go to google and do a little searching on what they are. Now do a little searching on how to get rid of them. It is probably easier to exorcise a demon out of your soul than to get rid of bed bugs. Need I say any more other than proceed with extreme caution or don't proceed at all to this place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wombat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

On an impulse we decided to get away for the weekend. The Spring Price of $56/night made us nervous about the quality of the Inn, but knowing we'd only sleep there, we took a chance- and we were paid handsomely.

We've both traveled extensively, and found the room to be very clean, management extremely helpful, and other than getting lost in SLO- had a terrific time.

I'd recommend this to someone who is willing to stay in a Best Western, Travelodge, Quality Inn type of place. If you need a Hyatt Regency, or Four Seasons- its not for you!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

This hotel had no frills other then a coffee pot, microwave and small fridge, however, it was quiet and very clean, not to mention very inexpensive! I was gone all day so coming back to a clean, quiet room was just what I needed. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Divertida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Upon arrival the hotel looked fairly clean but aged! We weren't in the room very much as we were out and about and only slept there. Upon return to the room we found ants swarming the bathroom, toilet, front door, vanity and table. We shared the news with friends in the next room and they found the same the next morning. It was a horrible experience to wake up with ants on your pillow! We reported this to the onsite manager who immediately moved us to different rooms. The new rooms were ant free, although the shower curtains were black at the bottom and full of mold, the shower and sink were moldy and the water pressure was sparse. In room #103 there was constant activity throughout the night which left us sleepless the entire night. We were awake through men (about 8 different men) knocking at the door just about every 45 minutes, banging could be heard from the room with the shower running in between. The next morning, the 2 young ladies from that room were outside smoking. There was obvious prostitution going on in that room the entire weekend! Certainly not a place to get any sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Robin2birdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

On a July 2008 family reunion trip, we reserved 2 nights at Econo Lodge, Olive St., San Luis Obispo, CA. On check-in at 1 p.m. the woman clerk on duty came from the back room (obviously leaving some animated conversation) and addressed me in a bothered fashion. She was very unwelcoming; only a few words spoken to me by her.

We paid by credit card for 2 nights (their policy); took our bags out of the car and put them in the room--very sparsely appointed and barren. Because we had plans arranged for the day we left and returned about 9:45. Upon trying to settle into the room upon our late return, we discovered no smoke alarm--only wires hanging from the ceiling; mold in the corners of the bathtub; water? stains on the furniture; a hole punched in the wall behind the door; and the faucet was loose and appeared to be coming out of the vanity.

We are not that picky about hotel rooms (we travel a lot) but we could not stay there because of the condition of the room, so headed out to find another hotel. Then we came back and talked with a male clerk on duty who absolutely would not refund the current day's lodging fee, but reluctantly did refund the next day.

The hotel looked very run down--different from the website photo, and the room was shabby. We ended up paying $20 less at the next hotel for a much cleaner room. Don't go!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

Good value for the budget-minded traveller.
I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, but we only needed it for sleeping and showering so we weren't too concerned about the amenities.

However, I was pleasantly surprised. The person manning the checkin desk was pleasant and friendly. The room was clean and spacious. The only downfall was the bathroom. The toilet bowl was stained, and it looked like the walls were starting to collect mildew. But, the tub was clean and it had a fairly new shower curtain.

Free coffee, tea, juice, toast, muffins, and cereal was available in the mornings....just enough to give us a quick bite before heading out for the day.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mszkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.7 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#28 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Luis Inn & Suites
San Luis Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in San Luis Obispo
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#22 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 950 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2360 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £45 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling through or staying for a relaxing getaway, Americas Best Value Inn San Luis Obispo offers clean comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access in our public areas and free high-speed Internet access in our guest rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, clock radio, free local calls (restrictions apply), and wake-up service. Children age 18 and younger stay free in their parent's room. At Americas Best Value Inn San Luis Obispo, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Hotel San Luis Obispo
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
Econo Lodge San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing