We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place but not very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Owner manager is not very personable. When pricing the room he had a take it leave it attitude. Very overpriced on the weekend for what you get. Room was clean and orderly but the negative attitude does not make a great place to stay. Not sure they should be in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, guest like you gives us the opportunity to help improve our service and serve the guest like you. we appreciate your comments and want to let you know that the prices around the area are high in all the motels due to high demand of the vacation time and the events, we are sorry to learn that you have to visit us during our high season and apologize for you experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here 4 nights on a business trip. We found the staff very nice and accommodating to our needs. It's a convenient location, close to the freeway. The room had everything that we needed. It is an older property and some of the fixtures could use updating. We were very comfortable here. The bed is one of the best and most comfy that we have ever slept on. It was quiet and when you are away on business that is something that we really appreciate. The breakfast was basic but good. We were very pleased with our stay and would stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your Positive feed back we are glad that you like our new pillow top beds and had enjoyable stay. We look forward to see you again and Thank you for sharing your experience .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is perfectly located for visits to Cal Poly and downtown San Luis Obispo. The room was nice and clean and the rate was good.
The service was nice and the staff friendly.
We enjoyed our visit and plan to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Manager and wife were not friendly at all. No smiles, no hospitality, and very abrupt. One expects to be greeted with a welcoming attitude, and these managers lacked that ability. I get the same attitude at 7/11, but didn't expect it at a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 55210ht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your feed back and we apologies for your experience and will make sure that we have our team members get right coaching so that we have the happy guest giving us the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

For a motel, it exceeded my expectations! Clean rooms, friendly service when we checked in, and it was a nice area with quiet guests. The breakfast was good for being free, especially the waffle maker.
Since it is cheaper than the other hotels, we took it, and was happy.
The bed felt a little better than most motels (I've only been to 2 others). The bathroom was clean and there weren't anything lurking in the corners or holes in the walls (I hear scary stories about motels).
Definitely worth a one night stop during our road trip.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#22 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Address: 1951 Monterey St, Hwy 101 exit Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £53 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Super Eight San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Super 8
San Luis Obispo Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing