We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for passing through”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were worried we'd have difficulty finding a relatively inexpensive place to stay for our one night stay getting set for our drive up the coastal highway. We booked it online in the car while just a few hours away and went with it based on the price ($130ish I think) and reviews. With no need for special amenities, just nice/clean, free breakfast, etc., it was a great choice. I didn't realize until we got there (wife booked it) that it's more of a motor lodge than a hotel, but that has its own charm in this instance. The view from the parking lot of the mountains right behind the hotel is rather impressive and a nice 'welcome'. The room was very large compared to any typical hotel room (Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn Express, ex.), maybe not as modern as we prefer but still suited our purposes perfectly. There was a tiny window in the bathroom (could open it for additional circulation) that really was a view to nothing much, but it was another 'charming' addition that you don't typically see. Sometimes it's nice to stay someplace different than the more modern, yet cookie-cutter hotel staples. And with very friendly folks working the desk (told us where to eat when asked, gave coupon) and a very reasonable price.....we simply have no complaints and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

Great stop on Highway one raod trip.
Nice clean hotel, room was great, fridge was definitely a plus. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Fitness centre adequate.
Internet was down during our stay- only downside.
Would say again.

The Thursday Farmers Market is a must do....amazing fresh fruit, veggies, nuts jams and so much more. Save your appitite because there mnay different foods available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deislandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The location for this hotel was perfect - close to downtown, Pismo/Avila & Morro Bay + the university. The amenities were even better. It included a 5-7 pm Happy Hour, breakfast, heated pool & jacuzzi, comfy beds and a helpful staff! I would stay here again on my next visit to SLO.
Only negative was the loud A/C unit - they need to update them for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room with pool view & balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nepite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Arrived very early as we were passing through anyway. Room not ready at the time but they let us store our stuff there. Came back about 6 hours later and check in went smoothly. Front end staff was great. Several restaurants in the area. One should start their cont. breakfast before 8:30 AM. It gets crowded any later. They did have the room type we ask for. We booked directly through the this BW hotel. About the same price as the discount online sites. Have seen firsthand about others not getting what they wanted by going with a discounter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Good Best Western hotel for a stop on the way from Hearst Castle to LA. Very large and nice rooms for a very reasonable rate. Good restaurants options in the area. Nice swimming pool it seems, but no time to test it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franceses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My family stopped in BW Plus Royal Oak Hotel as a rest place from a concert nearby. The rooms were exceptionally clean, as I have found with most Best Westerns. The rooms were spacious with a very small bathroom vanity. The beds were most comfortable. The staff were courteous and friendly when we checked in. Plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from, inclduing late night at Appleby's. Would recommend this place to stay at and would most likely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room closest to the entry way and we could hear when people were coming and going...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

As we are frequent travelers with our pets we appreciate a pet friendly hotel which is clean and noce and the rooms were awesome.. Pets are cleaner than kids at least ours are . WE travel with a portable puppy pen that covers the floor so that the dogs cannot have accidents or pick p anything form the floors.. SOme hotels will put you in the WORST rooms with your dogs. This hotel was freidnly well cleaned lovely to be in and was soooo comfortable!! Staff was very nice to my little dog.. I loved this place! VERY well for the dog lovers who are really starting to do a lot of travling ..LOVED THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: IT really was just a very nice hotel all around ,,,...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishrred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
625 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,424 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £86 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing