We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, great sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Service, great sleep”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great room and facilities, absolutely warm welcome and very friendly and supportive staff, breakfast yummy. Only negative was that the breakfast room felt a little crowded and the room/price ratio could have been a little bit more favourable. Quiet rooms, got a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    364
    127
    32
    13
See reviews for
312
300
36
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Both, room and bath were tidy and clean. Standard furnishing, however maintenace highly recommended. Personnel was very friendly and committed. Only real drawback was the lack of a room safe for valuables.
Good hotel for a stop-over during a round trip.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was the only place on a week long trip that we had no issues with. A pleasurable experience. Staff was very friendly and interactive. The breakfast area was big enough for everyone without feeling stuffed in. They also had Carbons golden malted waffle mix for their waffles. This is one of the best waffle mixes we have ever found and regularly order it online for our own personal use. That was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked 2 rooms here for an overnight on a recent trip from Cypress to San Simeon, CA which also involved a stop in Buellton at Anderson's and a visit to Solvang. The hotel rooms were very comfortable, very nice and very clean... and we were very pleased. We chose rooms on the ground floor and, although they faced the highway directly, we heard basically no road noise. Our beds were exceptionally comfortable and the linens looked brand new. The showers were also perfect and spray mode was adjustable. The tubs were the older low-sided type, so stepping in and out was not at all difficult. Although the tubs appeared to be an older style, they looked new. I particularly liked that the sink and dressing area was separate from the shower and toilet area, allowing plenty of space for 2 people trying to get ready for the day without feeling rushed. We walked across the highway for a bite of dinner that evening. There are several restaurants in the shopping area directly across from the hotel, as well as other stores if one would like to do a bit of shopping, and a crosswalk is provided for safe and easy crossing even though it is a 4-lane highway. The hotel serves the usual continental-style breakfast, included with the room charge, and the coffee was good. The night and morning desk attendants were very pleasant and helpful, answering a few questions we had about other things in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sittingonready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I travel a lot and have found ourselves staying more often at a Best Western Plus. The San Luis Obispo Best Western Plus is a very pleasant hotel that is well-located to the center of town, shopping and restaurants. The staff is extremely helpful in making sure that you have a most enjoyable stay here. This is definitely a solid four-star hotel that would please most of us Trip Advisor Travelers.

Room Tip: I highly recommend Tahoe Joe's steakhouse located across the street for a great meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anaheim, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a great hotel to stay at. They make you feel welcome and comfortable. I have stayed at this place about 6 different times. Its close to stores and the beach area. I sleep really well here. I would totally recomend this place to anyone that wants a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsmuir, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you are already a fan of the BW brand you know what to expect because they are all required to maintain a certain uniformity and generally consistent high quality product. The staff at this motel would be reason enough to raise this motel to a level above the others. However the heated, spacious and 8ft deep!! Pool, and best-I've-experienced Exercise Room at a BW make this motel exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Louie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
383 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing