We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This place was our last night in the u.s ....when it was booked for us we thought it would just be a bed to sleep in ...we where most surprised ..was a fantastic place with very helpful staff and ad free wifi in the room ad a free business centre where we could check in for our flight the following from l.a.x back to australia. Also we ate next door at the ihop and we got a 20% discount there for stopping at the best western ...would recommend this motel to anyone ...p.s brekky was great too the next morning in the dining room ...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

One of our best experiences for overnight. Room was spacious, real glasses not plastic, tub and all the amenities. Refrigerator was a bit cold and our milk froze. Small thing, since we received free drinks (beer, wine and cheese) upon arrival, and a healthy start breakfast with eggs fruit yogurt juice in the morning. Most importantly to us, this hotel is pet- friendly with a fenced dog run, so nice!. We were not charged for my service dog, and the staff was attentive and efficient. Excellent sleep, good value, highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mittae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and everything is in working order. My only negative for Best Western and 98% of the other hotels out there: the heating & AC units need to be quienter.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

only stayed at this hotel one night but it was a very good stay. The room we stayed in was on the top floor and was very large and comfortable, the balcony looked out onto the pool which was nice and the location was very convenient. The room decor was a little old fashioned but it was clean and comfortable after a day of driving.
Chase (on reception) went above and beyond for us and was really pleasant and friendly.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay_Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a favorite. It has friendly, helpful staff and quality rooms. It is well landscaped with a lovely swimming pool setting. The continental breakfast is ample. The hotel is easily accessed from Highway 101 with well situated handicap parking. A good IHOP is immediately next door, a very easy walk for a good meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Beverly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. It was conveniently located close to restaurants and shopping and had easy on/off freeway passage. We felt the weekend rate was a little high, but the weekly rate was good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was our first experience with a Best Western Plus hotel. We stayed at 3 others along our trip down the coast of California...this particular hotel had a great, helpful staff, offered updated rooms, clean facilities, & was a good value for us. We knew about the "free breakfast" but it was above average offering most anything you wanted to eat...the nice surprise was receiving 2 drink coupons for wine or beer when we arrived, along with "snack items" ..It was a nice touch after a long day on the road. Since were traveling all the way down the coast to San Diego, there was no need to stay at a "resort hotel" since we wouldn't be in one place long enough to enjoy the facility...this worked out great for us!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank BJandDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,239 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
629 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,445 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £82 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing