We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for an overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the Royal Oak for one night on our way from LA to San Francisco. We arrived at night and the check in process was very easy. The room had a very good size and the furniture and decoration was quite average for a Best Western. We had a room with pool view although we didn't have the chance to use it. Location is good if you arrive by car and San Luis Obispo is at 5/10 minutes by car. Our reservation included a breakfast which was ok to jumpstart the day. Check out was also very easy. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mauricio76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Motel room upgrade is nice but the walls are still paper thin. Motel staff helpful and kind. Good location, right off the free way. Continental breakfast was very good. Beds are a little firm for me but in good condition. More than adequate motel for a few nights; we just wish the rooms had more sound privacy between rooms; its always annoying to hear other conversations/TV late at night as well as the plumbing. Decent value for the area

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Carol/mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I am a sales Rep and have to be up in the area about every couple of months I will be staying here whenever necessary. I highly recommend the Best Western Royal Oak in San Luis Obispo. The staff are very friendly the atmosphere is warm and inviting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel is ok to spend a night (Spacious, clean and somewhat comfortable).There's a kind of commercial center right in front of it, where you can find several restaurants, a supermarket, and some other stores. Prefer the lower rooms, since depending on the floor you are assigned you will have to climb some stairs. It can be a problem if you're with heavy luggage. Breakfast is ok, by american basic hotel standards. Free wi-fi is also ok, and you can park your car for free.

Room Tip: Prefer the lower rooms, since depending on the floor you are assigned you will have to climb some st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asbarreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Happy and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable bed and room. Great breakfast and Happy hour too.Great location close to downtown, beach cities and restaurants.I enjoyed every minute and felt like a queen!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Miriana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at the B/W Royal Oak Hotel for a family wedding. The hotel was the best Best Western we stayed in. Great room, inside corridors, friendly and helpful staff before and during our stay. Grat location too. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 219garys2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stay at this Motel whenever we go to San Luis Obispo to visit our daughter, who is attending Cal Poly. This Best Western is close to Everything, dog park, restrauants, shopping. The staff is always extremely helpful and you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank williamcU2595TY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
650 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,467 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing