We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit like Alcatraz on outside but rooms good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
leiston
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bit like Alcatraz on outside but rooms good”
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Check in good, website shows hotel to be a little more sylish than it is but the rooms are large and extremely well cared for. We had a room overlooking the pool which was pleasant but the lack of lifts make the luggage thing a bit of a problem. The corridors are very bare and prison like and could do with something to make them a little more appealing. The rooms however make up for this. Breakfast adequate but often ran out of things and staff seem a little slow at wiping tables or replenishing the food which is a shame. Overall a good stay for a reasonable charge.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvislivesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    371
    127
    33
    13
See reviews for
319
302
37
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We spent a night here last year on a long road trip, and such a good experience we stayed again when we came to SLO for an event. Staff is very efficient and polite. The rooms are clean, quiet, nicely furnished and look well kept. A step up from the usual Best Western. The pool is warm and the hot tub just right. Continental breakfast & free internet in the rooms. Honestly, they do a better job then some of the better chains at twice the price. The location is off the freeway and next to the Madonna Inn, so not right downtown, but it’s a five minute drive.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We arrived here after reading the trip advisor reviews and I have to say i was expecting a little more. The rooms and clean and large and more than sufficient. Im not really a fan of the location to be honest considering its on a main road but its a best western after all. Breakfast was nothing special but all in all ok for 1 night stop over.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DimplesLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We were driving from San Francisco to Los Angeles and got really tired. So we got off the freeway and had no idea where we were. The first hotel we saw was the madonna inn. We made a left turn and saw the vagabond and the best western. We picked the best western. We drove into the driveway, checked into the hotel and within minutes were in our rooms. We were pleasantly surprised when we opened the doors. The room was very, very clean, the bathroom was very clean. Everything appeared relatively new. There were a lot of clean towels in the bathroom. When we put the tv on, it had channel 22 which is the visitor channel advertising restaurants and shops in the area. IHOP is right next door. Denny's is two doors down. When we woke up in the morning, we found out that we had a balcony. Across the street is a supermarket and some fast food restaurants. We later found out that we were about 10 minutes from the beach. Walking to our car, we passed by the swimming pool which seemed very large. The hotel is on an incline. There are no elevators, but you can park your car up the hill and be on the same level as your floor. We still had to walk up a small flight of stairs with our suitcases which was kind of a pain. We didn't go to breakfast in the morning because we literally forgot about it. I would definitely recommend the hotel for what we paid and what we got.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank californiamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Good location, good staff, clean, large room, fair rate, good continental breakfast--even though there is no elevator (we lugged a bunch of luggage to the 4th floor!). The exterior looks like a dormitory and the tip jar at the continental breakfast was a bit offensive. Walls seem thin as we could hear the television in the room next door...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visitingyourtown
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

You won’t break the bank and you’ll enjoy a clean comfortable room. They serve a good continental breakfast and the staff was friendly. The location is convenient and I would certainly stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vistingyourtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
necegirl
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Good, clean, safe room. Check-in measured up to my expectation - no frills, no nonsense

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
607 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing