We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    119
    94
    57
    31
See reviews for
139
68
34
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Van Nuys
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Nice staff, but rooms are terribly rundown, peeling, chipped paints, lights not working, dirty bed spreads

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here last year for 2 nights (am just now posting review because the camera with the photos was misplaced). From what I can see we got a decent rate ($65) and I don't think this hotel is worth more--however, it's my understanding that in San Luis Obispo, as in most places, they take advantage of excess demand to raise the rates, this being the case during the summer and around the university's graduation dates. We had no complaints about the room--it was clean and came with everything you could need. Didn't use the pool. Have to agree that the breakfast was very minimal and my biggest complaint would be that the "dining area" is actually just a little corner of the check-in area, as though it was added as an afterthought, probably around the time all of the competing hotels started including breakfast in the rate. Would stay here again only if, pricewise, the other hotels were simply too expensive or completely booked.

Room Tip: Had a room towards the back where we could hear frogs at night if we had the door open, but nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greta65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Traveled across the country for a wedding, reserved 2 rooms, after almost 12 hours of travel I try to check in and I'm told I have only 1 room reserved. After questioning the managers customer services skills I was told 'now you have NO rooms!'. The soup nazi of the hotel world. I was able to final secure two rooms, but it gets better. Another party in our group had the same problem and was also threatened with total cancellation. But wait, it gets better, after the wedding another couple in our group had to leave at 3am because of BED BUGS, the management offered a refund but said it wasn't their responsibility to find them a new room. Suffice to say this is perhaps the worst 'lodge' on the planet, stay away.

Room Tip: Don' do it, stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Ha to stay here last minute and feel I got a bit ripped off price wise. yet I would not say anything against the place. It wont blow you away but like most Travelodges it does the job.

Staff were helpful the little I dealt with them and the Breakfast beats getting nothing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Luis Obispo

Property: Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Address: 1825 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing