We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give me a break.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Give me a break..........OK, I should have known it was an old outdated motel that had a facelift, but for some reason I was expecting a little more for the money ($115) - at half the price it would have been OK. Think 1960's vintage motel with a coat of paint. Sure everything was clean enough, but the bathroom had a tiny counter, the decor was tacky, and we had two of the same exact motel type prints side by side on the same wall. Beds were just OK. Needed to lug our luggage up the stairs, and if you are thinking great breakfast room in the lobby, think again - not much of a lobby for more than a few people. And, although the reservation was for 4, we were given towels for two. Sure we got more, but they could have done their homework. So, if you want a low end, 2 star motel experience, this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Swissatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge San Luis Obispo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2008

Needed to stay in the area for one night. I was a little disappointed when I saw that they had outside doors (versus inside corridors). But that was my fault for not checking. Some guy was talking loudly on his cell phone till 11:30pm on the balcony just outside my door (rude). Could hear lots of street noise since it is right off of the main street. Pipes made weird noises most of the night. Room was decent size and so was bathroom. There was no remote control for the tv and had to keep getting up to change the channel or turn it on or off. When I told them about the remote the next day, I had to explain it three times because he was having trouble understanding English. Little high on the price for a motel ($170/night). Don’t think I’ll be staying here again (but I’ve seen worse).

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank monkeytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

Just an basic motel type. Benefit was you could walk to town. Great Thursday night street fair/farmer's market in SLO.
Easy to get to and easy to get away from!
No real issues no real wows.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank KathleenI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

SLO lodging options are all pretty expensive so with that in mind, this is one of the cheaper options and good enough if all you need is a roof over your head and a hot shower. The good is that it has decent shower (as mentioned in the previous review - they remodeled the bathroom), with tons of channels on tv, plus about 7 blocks from the main downtown area. It doesn't have wi-fi but they do provide a computer in the lobby for you to check email and what not.

Now the bad. The decor of the rooms includes the travelodge bear, their logo, as the wallpaper, the bed covers, and the lamp shade design. This may be great for a 3 year old's bedroom, but for the rest of us, it seemed rather cheap. The beds were hard and pillows lumpy. The included breakfast couldn't really be called a breakfast as it consisted of coffee and some individually wrapped sweet bakery. The walls and floors were pretty thin too.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flyboyarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2008

The lodge was average from the outside, as expected. The location is very good for SLO. And the surpise was that the room was not outdated. The bathroom was remodeled with slate tile and curved curtain bar. For the money I was very happy.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

I had a 6 night reservation. After the first night I complained about the lack of hot water, and was told that it was due to the room upstairs using water at the same time. Day 2 complaint response was "watch your tongue" ( I used no curse words, but did express my frustration). Day 3 complaint response was, "I'm too busy to take care of this. You can't change rooms now because it's too late to re-rent your room because the maids are gone." Day 4 I left.
Asit and Hima Shinglot are general managers. My demand for reliable hot water seemed to be an unreasonable request to them.

It was inconvenient to not have reliable hot water, but to have my request dismissed in this manner was insulting.

Bed okay, clean, noise level high, hot water????????? And don't expect any complaints to be received with a courteous or a positive response.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank lookingeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2007

stayed one night on my way to San Francisco ... its okay for one night but don't except anything else then a bed ( not very comfortable ) and a telly. It was very basic and clean so if you are on a budget for one night i think it would be okay.
Also it s walking distance to the downtown area and there are a few eateries around.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NatDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#26 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
357 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
271 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Luis Obispo

Address: 1825 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £52 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing