We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I really enjoyed my one-night stay at Avenue Inn on Thursday, 5/15/14. My room (211) had a good view and was very nice and clean (all rooms have been recently remodeled and are like new). The price was very reasonable. Sol, the manager, was friendly and helpful; he and the staff provided excellent service. What a terrific downtown location--very close to shops and restaurants, within a few minutes' walking distance to everything including the Thursday evening Farmers Market. And there's a great bread shop two doors away from the inn. I had taken Amtrak to San Luis Obispo--the train station is a little over a mile from the inn. I highly recommend Avenue Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KCfromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

The staff were really nice and friendly, very helpful. Room was spacious and scrupulously clean. Great location for walking into downtown SLO and perfect for 1 or 2 nights. Breakfast pretty basic. Excellent value for money, great motel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We got a queen-bed room here for one night (Saturday). The reason for 3 instead of 4 stars is because the room was pricey for the quality. The room was newly renovated, but it was missing one set of window shades (a thumbtack bedsheet hung in its place). The shades for the other window was shoddily installed, but at least the blackout curtains worked! The shower is a rain shower - so if you like that, then great. But if not, your hair will get wet with every shower. They do not provide a shower cap. All in all, it was clean and the location was great - just a 10 minute walk to the center of downtown SLO. I will be back if I have to!

Room Tip: ask if the room is newly renovated and if the shades are installed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hkwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

In our opinion this was a great little inn.It was clean and updated and the service was excellent. You could walk to most restaurants and shops within five minutes.

Sol was working each day of our stay, he is an asset to this property and made us feel welcome.

We will return to Avenue inn. It is by far the best and cleanest of the inns we have tries thus far in SLO.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darlingdncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had read about the Avenue Inn and its reviews prior to my trip to SLO and was nervous to book as it was recently renovated, under new ownership and the older reviews were terrible. I needed a place for 2 nights so I decided to drop by and see it first hand. First, hotels in SLO are generally overpriced, especially on weekends, and even more so on Cal Poly event weekends. Secondly, I have yet to find a hotel in SLO that is a hotel I would return to due to many being outdated, overpriced for what you get and many not in great locations. The Avenue Inn met all my requirements and I will definitely return. Sol is just a delightful man and his gentle nature and commitment to the renovations convinced me before I even saw the room. My room was very clean and felt fresh and new with a contemporary style. Great bed, pillows and linens. Excellent shower of granite with a rainhead fixture. The AC worked great and the room also had in room coffee machine and hairdryer. There was a continental breakfast provided, but I did not attend as I like to hit up my favorite local coffee shops - all within walking distance. The location is the best as far as walking distance to downtown and the farmer's market. The majority of the hotels in SLO are at the other end of town on Monteray or further south off Los Osos...neither which are walking distance to downtown. I loved being able to easily walk to the coffee shops, retail shops and my favorite sushi restaurant! It is also easy to hop on the 101 right around the corner. This is a renovated motel, so you park in front of your room and the hallways are all exterior walkways of a two story building, so if stairs are difficult or you have a lot of luggage, you may want to request the 1st floor. The price we paid was great for being a hotel in SLO that was new/clean and in a great location. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Treetop_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a great hotel, the location is excellent and management was very easy to deal with. I had only booked one night and needed to extend the reservation, he was very accommodating. The room was clean, and it was a great value (~$70/night inc. tax)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Location is great, short drive/walk to prime downtown activities. This used to be a Travelodge and in April 2014 was under major renovation. We paid $80/night. For the quality of the room, you would have to pay 2x elsewhere near downtown. It is a motel property, so you do hear a little outside traffic noise. Sal, the manager, was very nice and accommodating. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JKchi17agirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
644 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
907 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3820 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £66 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travelodge
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing