We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Factor out breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Other reviewers have pointed out that the remodel has served this roadside motel well. I agree. But if you are factoring the free breakfast into your motel choice decision, factor it out. The "continental" breakfast does not begin to rise to that admittedly low bar. It consists of weak coffee, milk, orange juice, sliced bread, apples and tiny sweet rolls and muffins that taste like they were dipped in preservatives. We chose to break the fast at the Big Sky Cafe, four blocks northeast of the motel.

Room Tip: The floors are squeaky. So second floor rooms are quieter. Rooms with two queen beds are kind of lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_traveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

The rooms have recently been updated with a modern decor. We stayed in a King room and the bed was very comfortable, overall the room was very clean. The room size itself wasn't huge, but plenty of room for the two of us to get around. Our room had a mini fridge, and Free WiFi which is always a plus. The location is great and only a short walk to downtown restaurants, bars, shopping and the Mission. The front desk clerk Sol was very nice and helpful. I would stay here again and highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice room and a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CariLVNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room is a small that barely fit 2 double beds, but it is clean. The location is a short walk to all the central downtown activities (i.e. Farmers Market). The bathroom is small too, but it is clean and new. My husband likes the firmer beds they have which I don't. The place looks like the pictures in tripadvisor. It's strange that they didn't update the pictures in their own website.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCDavis1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I really enjoyed my one-night stay at Avenue Inn on Thursday, 5/15/14. My room (211) had a good view and was very nice and clean (all rooms have been recently remodeled and are like new). The price was very reasonable. Sol, the manager, was friendly and helpful; he and the staff provided excellent service. What a terrific downtown location--very close to shops and restaurants, within a few minutes' walking distance to everything including the Thursday evening Farmers Market. And there's a great bread shop two doors away from the inn. I had taken Amtrak to San Luis Obispo--the train station is a little over a mile from the inn. I highly recommend Avenue Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KCfromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The staff were really nice and friendly, very helpful. Room was spacious and scrupulously clean. Great location for walking into downtown SLO and perfect for 1 or 2 nights. Breakfast pretty basic. Excellent value for money, great motel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We got a queen-bed room here for one night (Saturday). The reason for 3 instead of 4 stars is because the room was pricey for the quality. The room was newly renovated, but it was missing one set of window shades (a thumbtack bedsheet hung in its place). The shades for the other window was shoddily installed, but at least the blackout curtains worked! The shower is a rain shower - so if you like that, then great. But if not, your hair will get wet with every shower. They do not provide a shower cap. All in all, it was clean and the location was great - just a 10 minute walk to the center of downtown SLO. I will be back if I have to!

Room Tip: ask if the room is newly renovated and if the shades are installed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hkwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

In our opinion this was a great little inn.It was clean and updated and the service was excellent. You could walk to most restaurants and shops within five minutes.

Sol was working each day of our stay, he is an asset to this property and made us feel welcome.

We will return to Avenue inn. It is by far the best and cleanest of the inns we have tries thus far in SLO.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darlingdncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
643 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,458 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3820 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £65 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travelodge
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing