We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, modern (and reasonable) overnight spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, modern (and reasonable) overnight spot!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Right nearby the freeway and close to downtown SLO. Both Taylor and Sol were friendly and fast in booking a room for me, as I was driving from Los Angeles to San Francisco. My remodeled room with rainshower and comfy bed made it an efficient and quick place to stop enroute. So comfortable that I overslept and even missed the continental breakfast :) I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    230
    63
    14
    4
See reviews for
143
253
41
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised at this hotel. It was obvious that it had been recently remodeled, and everything was in excellent condition. Room was clean and comfortable, and the front desk staff was exceptionally friendly. Great restaurants within walking distance, and easy access to the highway. If we ever go through there again, we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WoodButcher402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is close to the freeway, easy to find and within walking distance to downtown. Plenty of parking space and the check in was swift and friendly.
The room was very clean and you could tell it was recently remodeled. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was great. The wifi worked fine. It was also quiet during the night.
The breakfast is not a reason to pick this hotel: toast, cereal, pastry and bananas. But at least it kept us alive an hour or two.
This was our first visit to San Luis Obispo and it is a charming town. I would gladly go back and then probably choose this hotel again – but get breakfast elsewhere …

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barfota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was very clean, and you can tell it was recently remodeled. The room looked modern and clean, and the bathroom was the same. The AC worked well, and the breakfast was decent. The front desk staff was friendly, and you can't beat a location right off the freeway and within walking distance of downtown. Worth the money, and a very nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ryan_sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights on business at Cuesta College. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I would stay here again anytime. In a great area of downtown, so you can easily walk to dinner or other shops.

Room Tip: Staying during the week is a cheaper rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Facility has an excellent location to down town, but that is where anything excellent ends. The rooms were clean but ordinary. The breakfast opened at 7:30 and I would characterize as average at best. Waffle maker, two cereals, apples, oatmeal, toast and rolls and of course coffee. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This recently renovated motel is ideally located in town, a comfortable 4 or 5 block walk from all the restaurants and shops. Room is very attractive, with all the amenities. We were there on a weeknight and got a great price ($87.). I understand weekend rates are much higher,

Room Tip: No elevator, so specify 1st floor if you can't climb stairs to 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Property: Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3820 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travelodge
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing