We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utilitarian ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Utilitarian ”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Went up for a little one night getaway with my husband. It is a newly remodeled hotel with the Motel 6 feel to it. It was clean and quiet. However, the cleaner or deodorizer they used in the room was so strong I could taste it. If you are really sensitive to perfume, you will be sorry you chose this hotel. I opened the bathroom window while we were out to dinner, but it still smelled strongly in the room for the whole stay. The bed was comfortable and the motel is in walking distance to downtown SLO. However, if you are looking for a romantic getaway, spend some more money and get a nicer hotel. I was glad we were not paying weekend rates as it wouldn't have been worth the money.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    214
    58
    12
    3
See reviews for
130
238
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a great trip to SLO and fantastic stay at this hotel. The owner/manager provided great service throughout our stay. Very friendly staff too. Our two adjoining rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. The recent renovation was very well down. Bedrooms and bathrooms were very nice and beds were extremely comfortable. The location is awesome too! Short walk to all the great restaurants, pubs, and shops in downtown SLO. Only needed the car a few times during our long weekend visit. Given all the factors, this hotel is a step above many of the other options in the area. Will definitely be back and stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I spent two nights at the Avenue Inn earlier this month. The accommodations are clean and modern being newly renovated. Sol, the proprietor, was more than gracious despite the fact that it was nearly midnight when I checked in. LOCATION and PRICE are the two major selling points for this property. Easy walk to downtown SLO and much more affordable than any of the local chain motels! Had no reason to use my car the entire time I was in town. Walking access to trailheads for Johnson Ranch/Cerro San Luis trails. Simple breakfast but just enough to get you started for the day. Looking forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColdWind_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altona, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed her for a few days on our way through. Rooms are a bit small but they have done a great job at upgrading and modern decor. The only thing that would have been nice is a small fridge.The staff were very helpful and professional. Good value for the money and great location within walking distance to downtown. The breakfast was a really nice addition!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruralgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel has been recently remodeled and is a great deal for the price! It is in downtown SLO and close to the freeway...great location. Staff very nice. I stayed there with two of my sons. Small continental breakfast was included and an easy way to start the day. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was neither an Inn nor was on an Avenue & it was on the outskirts of the downtown area.
We were there for 4th of July weekend. We paid a lot of money for the 2 days. This is a Motel.
Nothing special. The bed was very comfortable but it was not worth the money. Our room was on the 2nd floor of an outside walkup staircase. Kind of tough considering this was the first 2 days of our 14 day trip with lots of luggage.
The accommodations were very rudimentary but clean. If you don't mind a motel than this May be ok for you.
I expected so much more & was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This place is a classic motel style set-up but has clearly been refurbished in recent past. The rooms are a good size and are all new and clean. Comfortable beds, efficient A/C and well equipped bathrooms. Breakfast is basic but a welcomed 'extra' when all you're really paying for is a room for the night.

Ideal for a stopover when driving the Pacific Coastal Highway as we were. We stayed on a Thursday night, which turned out perfect as that's when the town's weekly Farmer's Market is on, which sees one of the main streets downtown (10 min walk from the motel) closed to traffic and stalls set out along both sides with live music and BBQ stalls.

Super friendly staff, particularly ex-pat Brit' Sol Taylor who was very friendly and chatty on the desk! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Property: Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3820 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travelodge
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing