We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming small hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Charming small hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights there earlier this week. It was a return visit. This hotel has recently finished a renovation. The rooms are large, very clean, and with a nice small balcony with chairs if you care to sit outside to enjoy the fantastic SLO weather. The only small issue is the unusual hair dryer that you have to hold down the button while drying your hair. It doesn't have a lot of punch and if you have arthritis or carpal tunnel, it is almost impossible to get your hair dry using this type of dryer. BUT, none of that matters because the La Cuesta Inn has the MOST COMFORTABLE BEDS EVER! I didn't want to get up. The tv had enough channels for everybody. The continental breakfast is adequate and their coffee is very, very good. Their front desk is first class and very friendly. If the dryer issue isn't all that important to you, I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    133
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
128
111
28
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egaa, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This motel is an ideal place to stay on trips between L.A. and San Fran for those of us that prefer a break along the way. The staff is effective, the rooms are large and clean, and the pool area is delightful. The main street in the nearby city of San Luis Obispo has lots of shops, bars and restaurants, along with the awesome / disgusting bubblegum alley.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldEgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and I would stay again. I stayed on the 3rd floor and the room had two queen beds with nice pillows and confortable mattresses. Water pressure was okay and the toiletries were good. My only concern with this room was that the air conditioner didn't put out enough cool air. Luckily I had brought a small desktop fan and that helped circulate the air.

The continental breakfast was okay but it would have been nice to have something like hot eggs or some meat product. The waffle maker made beautiful small waffles.

The pool and spa looked lovely but I never had time to use either since I drove to the ocean each night as it was only 15-20 minutes away.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor seemed nice and quiet during my stay. I did notice that some rooms had balconies and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I go to SLO every 5 weeks or so to see my daughter, son-in-law and granddaughter. Every time I am greeted with hospitality and great service. Jacob has given me exceptional customer service and so have the other front desk people. I have been upgraded to a better room when available. They have renovated the breakfast area and upgraded the lobby. I feel safe and the room is clean, comfortable, and furnishings are nice too. I stay here EVERY TIME I visit.

Room Tip: I always like to be on the upper floors but every room is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbarnes922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I certainly enjoyed our stay at La Cuesta Inn. The staff was very friendly and we felt welcomed from the moment we checked in. Our room was clean and neat. We had a restful sleep and an overall great experience.

If we ever go back to San Luis Obispo i would most definitely stay at La Cuesta Inn again!
I just wish there would be other city locations of this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinaroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The bed was very comfortable and the hot tub and pool makes it ice to.dip in after check in and before dinner.
It is at the end of town so it is quiet but still close to a few restaurants.
While we were there th hotel lobby was going through minor renovations so we got my breakfast in our room, which was nice. We sat in the balcony overlooking the mountains.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've been coming to La Cuesta Inn for about 5 years now. Mostly for pleasure, but occasional business. I really like the renovations, very warm and welcoming. What keeps me coming back though is the service. In particular, Jacob is fantastic. Always friendly and helpful, yet professional. Nice touch to be greeted by name after a 4 hour drive! Great breakfast, love the cookies and tea in the afternoon. As a frequent guest, it would be nice to see some sort of "points" program. Looking forward to being back Memorial Day weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mochacappucino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Property: La Cuesta Inn
Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing