We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love this Hotel!!”
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Chatsworth, CA
1 review
“We Love this Hotel!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed here along with many other family and friends for a weekend long wedding celebration. (We had about 40 rooms.) The staff was courteous, accommodating, fun, and very efficient. The rooms were clean and the bed was so comfortable. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the coffee available in the lobby all day long.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendySV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    140
    56
    14
    6
See reviews for
137
113
28
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We were there for my niece's wedding and they could not have been nicer or more accomodating. Rooms were nice and included all amenities. Hotel was within walking distance of resturants, etc. Enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccinc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anaheim
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is a very clean and up to date hotel. The breakfast is wonderful. The beds are delightful and extremely clean. The staff was wonderful. Always smiling and willing to answer any questions and help me find the best restaurants to eat at. This is a value that you do not find to often. i highly recommend the La Questa Inn. The fountain in the front is beautiful and the art work (statues) in the front are so unique.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siouxzwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubac, AZ 85646
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Great location, quiet and friendly,outstanding manager and deskclerks, good clientele, beautiful gardens and trees surrounding, good balcony and chairs, intriguing water sculpture in front, park sculpture with joyful uplifting, dancing figures at entrance.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwdama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Nice rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was good albeit a bit cramped into their lobby. Bathroom tiny, but clean. Simple balcony for a feeling of a bit more space. Beds comfortable. Main complaint was that there were not many outlets for all of our electronics and the ones there were not easily accessible. Other drawback - but not a deal breaker - was the a/c was either very cold or the room was stuffy. Again, very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa bar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We were traveling with our two grand children. They loved the hotel, the pool and the free movie rentals offered by the hotel. It was within walking distance to several restaurants which was very convenient. The hotel also offered a free continental breakfast, which offered a variety of items. It was a very enjoyable and pleasant stay. Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redroxred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night over 4th of July weekend and were very pleased with our accomodations! The rates were the cheapest out of all the other SLO hotels/motels and with AAA you get an additional 10% off. We had a Standard King room which is your basic room with a small balcony, but no view. The rate includes continental breakfast served from 6am - 10am.

Positives:
- Spacious, comfortable and clean rooms
- Staff was very friendly and helpful
- 5-8 min drive to Higuera St (Downtown SLO)
- Nice DVD collection, rentals are free

I can't really think of any criticisms other than that the bathroom was a bit of a tight squeeze and that the "freshly baked cookies" they offer in the afternoon are kinda gross (reminded me of stale Mother's cookies). The continental breakfast is pretty basic (I wasn't patient enough to wait for the wafflemaker that the other reviewers mentioned) with juice, cereal, bagels, packaged muffins, yogurt, coffee, tea. But Apple Farm Inn is right across the street so if you're looking for more substantial breakfast fare just head over there. Splash Cafe & Bakery is also a few blocks down and has good pastries in addition to their famous clam chowder.

When in SLO, I would definitely stay here again just based on the value and quality alone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainjainwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
609 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,571 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Property: La Cuesta Inn
Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing