We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed here for only one night. It wasn’t terrible, it wasn’t great and the price was reasonable. We were on the third floor right next to the elevator which worried us at first, but the room is pretty airtight and we didn’t have any disturbances from the in and out of the elevator. The room was clean and standard size, not cramped but it wasn’t spacious. Unfortunately, they use a spray of some sort (Fabreze?) that was pretty strong and prompted us to almost request a new room. Figuring it was something housekeeping used on all the rooms, we stayed put. To help with the overpowering scent, we opened the window which was a disappointment because even though we weren’t right over the freeway we could hear freeway noise. Unfortunately, right outside the window there was a building flood light that meant we had to close the black out curtains and this meant no cross ventilation which gave us little air in the room. The room was curiously warm though it wasn’t a hot evening. We had to turn on the air conditioner which helped a litte, but it was very noisy. We then ended up closing the window because the freeway noise was pretty loud. The bed was comfortable and bathroom with a double sink was nice. The breakfast was average with waffles, cereal, hard boiled eggs, etc. We ate in the lobby on wobbly tables then noticed there was a dining area behind the elevator that might have been a better place to eat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txorig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    140
    56
    14
    6
See reviews for
137
113
28
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I got married at the Jack House and were searching high a low for a nice, affordable, and nearby option for our guests (all of whom were traveling). Our wedding ended up taking over almost the entire hotel and we couldn't have been happier. The manager, Jim, was ultra-accomodating and so happy to have our business. He was willing to work with us on room blocks and he even let us have our casual morning after brunch by the pool. In fact, he even helped us out with our rental dilemma!

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It's not luxury, but it is clean and comfortable with a good breakfast spread and friendly staff. The hotel was totally affordable for our guests and my mom had a great time running room to room to visit everyone. If you are coming for an out of town event or wedding with a group, you must have your guests stay here!

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
Thank vigmagian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I am currently using the free wifi in this hotel which I booked through Tripadvisor. That, the decent beds and big rooms, free breakfast and welcoming staff are all good, but as an experienced user of Tripadvisor I was suspicious when five of the six most recent reviews gave 5 stars, and all from first time contributors - this is a big red warning flag, but I took a punt. Don't believe word about this being 5-star. It is a nice motel with slightly grubby public rooms and carpets, lots of staining on the carpeted area outside the bathroom and a well-worn feel. It would be a decent stopping point for a night (all we are doing) but do not expect luxury. We paid $120 for one night, which is probably $40 more than it is worth as a functional, nice-ish motel room on the edge of the freeway. Apple Ranch opposite was horrible for dinner - we were late and tired when we arrived, but would rather eat in McDonalds than this next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsmantravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth, CA
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed here along with many other family and friends for a weekend long wedding celebration. (We had about 40 rooms.) The staff was courteous, accommodating, fun, and very efficient. The rooms were clean and the bed was so comfortable. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the coffee available in the lobby all day long.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendySV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We were there for my niece's wedding and they could not have been nicer or more accomodating. Rooms were nice and included all amenities. Hotel was within walking distance of resturants, etc. Enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccinc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anaheim
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is a very clean and up to date hotel. The breakfast is wonderful. The beds are delightful and extremely clean. The staff was wonderful. Always smiling and willing to answer any questions and help me find the best restaurants to eat at. This is a value that you do not find to often. i highly recommend the La Questa Inn. The fountain in the front is beautiful and the art work (statues) in the front are so unique.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siouxzwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubac, AZ 85646
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Great location, quiet and friendly,outstanding manager and deskclerks, good clientele, beautiful gardens and trees surrounding, good balcony and chairs, intriguing water sculpture in front, park sculpture with joyful uplifting, dancing figures at entrance.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwdama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
609 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,571 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Property: La Cuesta Inn
Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing