We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2010

arrived on 8.10.10 for a 1 night stay as part of coach tour around California.hotel was lovely,San luis Obispo beautiful.we arrived on a thursday night which is farmers market night and there ware 100's of stalls selling everything from vegetables to fast food,really good experience.just be warned that to get into centre of San luis Obispo from hotel is quite a long walk or you can do as we did,take the bus which goes every 20 mins,its no problem.there is a couple of restaurants nearby but not much else.
the included buffet breakfast was lovely with everything from fruit to make-them-yourself waffles.
we would gladly stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preston069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

I would highly recommend the La Cuesta for a visit to SLO/Paso Robles wineries! Very convenient to the 101, and less than a mile walk to downtown.

This hotel looks like it was recently renovated, and our room was spotless and well-lit. Everything in the room worked, the beds were very comfortable, and the room was quiet - we couldn't hear any sounds from the hallway or other rooms. The iPod dock/alarm clock was tricky to figure out - easier to get a wake-up call. They offer free wireless internet which was fast. The extra sink (outside the bathroom) and DVD player (with a decent selection of free movies in the lobby) were a nice touch.

Check in/out were quick and easy, and the staff was very friendly. Housekeeping did a great job as well. Breakfast is your typical continental, but with a good variety. There's not much seating in the breakfast area, but they've converted a guest room to tables and chairs for overflow seating.

Really nice place - I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SixAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Stayed here for two nights. Greeted with a friendly check-in and afternoon cookies. Room has an extra sink just outside the bathroom door which is nice when traveling with a family. We had two queen beds that were quite comfortable. Located just off the 101 off ramp the inn is very easy to find, but our room faced the off ramp so you could hear the traffic with the lanai door open. Closing the door muffled the sound enough, but then we had to run the fan for fresh air and that was noisy too. Just your average continental breakfast. Not much breakfast seating. Just a few minute drive to Cal Poly so it's great if you're visiting the campus. A little too far to walk to the downtown restaurants and stores though.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chisox05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

What I liked best about La Cuesta Inn was their helpful staff and manager. The staff were very approachable, helpful, and friendly. The manager gave us a good deal on a week's stay and took care of any problems we had immediately.
Our room was quiet and had a lovely tree outside the balcony. (Our room faced the back street which is lined with trees.) And though the hotel was near the freeway, we could not hear any freeway noise.
La Cuesta Inn does not have a fitness room, which I found I missed. And the room we were in was not "hypo-allergenic". I have an allergy to dust / dust mites and I had some allergy reaction in the room. (Though I must say this is a common problem for me in hotels.)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewer10025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My wife and I stayed in this hotel last Saturday for one night, and found it to be clean, and a good value. The breakfast was a major disappointment, so we ended up going out to a restaurant to eat.
The 3 star rating we are giving is for our room (Room 105), not the hotel. Directly outside the rear window was the off-ramp for the freeway (Hwy. 101). Cars and large trucks exit the freeway at high speed all night and make a lot of noise. Unfortunately the freeway noise was nothing compared to the noise coming from the inside stairway between our room and the elevators. The stairway noise (or elevator noise) sounded like furniture movers pushing heavy furniture around and it was impossible to sleep with this noise going on most of the night.
I don't know if any of the other rooms on the other floors had a similar problem so my low rating is for this room only. Overall the hotel itself was nice enough.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed here for only one night. It wasn’t terrible, it wasn’t great and the price was reasonable. We were on the third floor right next to the elevator which worried us at first, but the room is pretty airtight and we didn’t have any disturbances from the in and out of the elevator. The room was clean and standard size, not cramped but it wasn’t spacious. Unfortunately, they use a spray of some sort (Fabreze?) that was pretty strong and prompted us to almost request a new room. Figuring it was something housekeeping used on all the rooms, we stayed put. To help with the overpowering scent, we opened the window which was a disappointment because even though we weren’t right over the freeway we could hear freeway noise. Unfortunately, right outside the window there was a building flood light that meant we had to close the black out curtains and this meant no cross ventilation which gave us little air in the room. The room was curiously warm though it wasn’t a hot evening. We had to turn on the air conditioner which helped a litte, but it was very noisy. We then ended up closing the window because the freeway noise was pretty loud. The bed was comfortable and bathroom with a double sink was nice. The breakfast was average with waffles, cereal, hard boiled eggs, etc. We ate in the lobby on wobbly tables then noticed there was a dining area behind the elevator that might have been a better place to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txorig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I got married at the Jack House and were searching high a low for a nice, affordable, and nearby option for our guests (all of whom were traveling). Our wedding ended up taking over almost the entire hotel and we couldn't have been happier. The manager, Jim, was ultra-accomodating and so happy to have our business. He was willing to work with us on room blocks and he even let us have our casual morning after brunch by the pool. In fact, he even helped us out with our rental dilemma!

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It's not luxury, but it is clean and comfortable with a good breakfast spread and friendly staff. The hotel was totally affordable for our guests and my mom had a great time running room to room to visit everyone. If you are coming for an out of town event or wedding with a group, you must have your guests stay here!

Stayed: September 2010
Thank vigmagian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £97 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing