We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price”
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the price”
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We got a great deal for Labor Day weekend $99/nt on Sunday night. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable. We had no problems with the noise, although we didn't leave the window open. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was pretty decent, waffles/juice/cereals/etc..The coffee in the room was not tasty at all. Get the coffee from downstair. The pool was small, and the jacuzzi was rather clean. Overall, the hotel was a good decent place for the price, especially in a beach town. We had no complaints. Would stay again !

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomaitais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    142
    56
    14
    6
See reviews for
141
114
28
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

We paid $129 at La Cuesta for a Wed. night stay. I requested a room upstairs and "away from the freeway". Unfortunately, you really need to be about two blocks away to avoid freeway noise. The rooms are average - there was a wad of hair on our carpet but otherwise looked clean. It was a "value" hotel = you get what you pay for. The breakfast was good with make-your-own waffles, staff were friendly. The bed was moderately comfortable. If you need to save money, stay here, but just take earplugs. Another option is the Holiday Inn Express, a couple blocks toward town - we moved there for the next night stay and paid only $3 more for the night - just get an upstairs
room away from the pool there.

  • Liked — waffles at breakfast
  • Disliked — close proximity to freeway and noise
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank triptipper_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffAssistantGM, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
We do our best to place all of our guests in the quietest locations available at time of check-in. Unfortunately, our location is conveniently located along Highway 101, so freeway noise is inevitable. In response to guest feedback, we have installed double-paned glass in all guest rooms which have eliminated nearly all noise complaints. Be sure to let our staff know if you are a light sleeper and we will work hard to accommodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

I stayed 1 night at this place thinking it would be nice, quiet, not your typical chain hotel, clean and have a "spacious" room to relax in. What a mistake. The room I reserved was a king loveseat(the most expensive) with a balcony. I paid 189.00 and was totally disappointed. First of all the room had a very bad odor. The bed looked like it was original to the hotel. Very lumpy. The pillows didn't even have a protector on them and the sheets were grayed with age. The dust ruffle(if you could call it that) was dirty. The "balcony" consisted of a cement slab with an iron railing(also dirty and grimy), no outdoor furniture like in the pictures, just cement. It was also next to the freeway and when I asked if I could change, I was told there weren't any other rooms except for one directly above it, which wouldn't solve the noise problem. This I find hard to believe since they still had the vacancy sign on at 9:00 pm. Also be aware check in time is 4:00. That is ridiculous. Please be warned fellow travelers about this place. I'm not one to throw a fit with a hotel, so I took my lumps and left the next day. Don't be fooled by the pretty pictures.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Bad odor in room.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank travelpro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffAssistantGM, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
La Cuesta Inn prides itself with providing to every guest a pleasant and enjoyable stay. If something isn't what you like we will do our best to solve the problem or offer a fair alternative. Due to San Luis Obispo being a heavy turn-a-round tourist destination, most lodging establishments in this area find themselves completely vacant one night to sold out the next, fluctuating rates on a nightly basis. (Impacted weekends average $160) When we search available rooms for an unsatisfied guest, we will match what you have reserved with what we have available. This isn't always reflected in our vacancy sign so please inquire within. All linen including duvets, pillows, sheets, and towels have been replaced through phases the last 12 months. Due to the nature of the business, we are required to use strong chemicals to properly clean and sanitize our bedrooms which can leave residue odors that some guests find unpleasant. Please contact our front desk immediately if any room you are checked into is unsatisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

We stayed one night at La Cuesta while visiting some friends in San Luis...it is a totally satifactory hotel. It is actually a hotel with interior corridors and a complimentary continental breakfast (which we slept in and didn't partake of - we ate at the Apple Tree across the street which was FABULOUS). The help was attentive, the room was quiet (we asked for a room away from the freeway), and the hotel is right off of 101, so it is to get to the coast from there. Nice and clean, with marble/granite vanities and a separate vanity from the bathroom which was helpful. We slept like babies.

  • Liked — Easy access
  • Disliked — Nothing really...just nothing spectacular either
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a room away from the freeway
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank flowergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2007

Our family - two adults, one child, spent two nights here last week. We had a basic room with two double beds, refrigerator, tv and bathroom at a rate of $119 per night. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and helpful, and the location was ideal for our needs. We were able to bike to Cal Poly campus, walk into downtown for meals and other activities, and we were able to leave our bikes locked to the rack on the roof of our car overnight in the hotel parking lot without anyone bothering them.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cas_Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2006

This hotel was booked for me by my employer, and it was a nice place to stay. I was there for 3 months on business from January through March 2000. This hotel doesn't have suites or kitchenettes, but it makes up for it in its locale. It does have a nice continental breakfast with muffins, bagels and breakfast bars. Make sure to be there on a Thursday night for the Farmer's Market, and take the horse-drawn carriage ride through the town. It's worth every penny. Great restaurants everywhere you go. Whale watching and Hearst Castle are only 30-45 minutes away. Keep going north past Hearst Castle (San Simeon), and into the mountains to Ragged Point and walk out to the look out point to take a peak at the Pacific Ocean. If you're lucky, you'll see a sea otter frolicking in a tide pool.

San Luis Obispo in the Central Coast region of California and in the heart of wine country, and is one of the most incredible places!

No complaints. I would highly recommend this hotel and its surroundings.

  • Liked — The location, Farmer's Market and restaurants.
  • Disliked — Nothing! Everything was great.
  • Tips/Secrets — So much to see and to do. Check out the elephant seals lounging on the beach in San Simeon!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepyhead8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Village, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2006

Stayed at the La Cuesta for two nights in October for a business seminar I was attending in San Luis Obispo. Since the California central coast is so beautiful,my wife came up with me. The hotel itself was very clean and nice with good size rooms and attention to detail. They offer a continental breakfast of bagels, cereal, juice and fruit. They also have a self serve waffle machine with premeasured waffle mix in little cups that you pour into machine to make your own waffles. It is a nice little extra touch. Regarding the title of my review, even though the rooms were nice, the mattress on the king size bed that we had was so bad that both my wife and I woke with excruciating back pain which unfortunately lasted throughout the day. It was very,very painful. It was so bad that we actually took the bedding off the bed and slept on the floor! That's how bad it was. Those with any back issues might want to be careful. The desk clerk was told of our very uncomfortable night, but did not have anything to say but, "really?" No offer of a discount or much concern at all. I contacted the hotel via email when we returned home, and at least they did repond... with a coupon for a free weeknight stay. While I appreciate the offer, I would rather they would have offered at least a small discount of our bill. I guess if I do take them up on the free night stay, I will have to bring our own mattress!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — horrible mattress
  • Tips/Secrets — bring your own mattress
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Hydrobluepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,599 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Property: La Cuesta Inn
Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing