We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a stop on your way up the california coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stopped here after a grueling trip from San Diego (being labor day weekend) and we were pleasantly surprised how updated the room was. How quite the hotel was and the continental breakfast was just perfect.
The price of the room was reasonable considering it was very last minute and a major holiday weekend. We could not match that price anywhere on the coast.
Another bonus was downtown San Luis Obispo. We had dinner down town. It was full of people walking the streets, art gallerys still open (some small shops too). A great place to walk off the fabulous meal we had at F Mc Clintocks.. Truly a nice place to stay overall.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capitolacath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Inn at San Luis Obispo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

I planned on staying at this hotel until I got the worst service from the front desk staff and the 1800 number. Serving customers and trying to help are not things this company values!!! I would stay anywhere in San Luis Obispo other than here!!!! They were so rude and offensive!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glowgirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We checked in with a younge lady VERY helpful.nice rooms etc.... That night went down for dinner recomendations and steven tje joker was funny and gave us hisfavorite restutants they were great. Thanks for everything

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovingca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

So we check in to the Inn. We unload everything into the room. We unpack, and then notice that there were some black hairs on my bed; under the pillow, top of the sheets, under the sheets; also a few stains on the pillows. Then my dad noticed a large brown stain on his mattress cover. He decides to go ask the front desk for a new cover. He goes in and asks them for a new cover and a new sheet for me. The guy at the front desk gets his wife who comes out and tells my dad that they only have enough for each bed (really? no other sheets?). She goes on to say that she new should have told us not to come (this was because my dad left a note asking for clean sheets in the reservation). She goes on to tell us that she wants us to leave. We check in down the street with Holiday inn and La Cuesta, and both places have heard stories like this in the past.
So bottom line: if you want clean sheets don't go here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have stayed here many times during the past 4 years.

Good location If you need to be close to Cal Poly University. It's an older motel property that has done some upgrades but the property still feels like a 1950's drive in motel. The rooms tend to be clean but small, some bathrooms are very awkward with miniature sink & counter tops. Breakfast is minimal- Best Western standard. The front desk staff needs better consistency with their treatment of guests.

If you are looking for low price then this is a reasonable place to stay because they do meet Best Western basic requirements...but I wouldn't stay here if I'm on vacation.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quieter, the floors are not very soundproof.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flowerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed - only one night - on the second floor, which was lovely and quiet. There are beautiful views as the hotel is set amidst mountains. The pool was lovely though it would be good if it opened a little earlier (so it was possible to swim before breakfast). It was cold but really refreshing. Service was helpful and friendly.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Scottishtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We had planned 3 days in SLO and 5 days in Santa Barbara. We had booked a pricey and reputable B&B in San Luis Obispo. We typically read reviews ahead of time but we goofed this time around. A few day before we were to leave for SLO, I read the reviews for the B&B we had booked- BED BUGS!!!! YIKES! So, at the last minute, we booked 3 nights at the Best Western Somerset Inn. The room was impeccably clean and comfortable. The pool and spa were sparkling clean! The managers were the friendliest, most helpful individuals. Forget the high priced hotels and B&Bs. I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldpoet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
727 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at San Luis Obispo

Address: 1895 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613 (Formerly Somerset Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £69 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between San Francisco and Los Angeles along the breathtaking Central Coast, the Inn at San Luis Obispo is the ideal lodging option for families, business travelers, and couples. Our 3-Diamond, AAA-approved hotel invites you to experience well-appointed accommodations with ample amenities, such as refrigerators, microwaves, and free Wi-Fi. While you're here, you'll also enjoy a daily complimentary continental breakfast, outdoor heated pool, and hot tub. And our location couldn't be more convenient. We're just a few blocks from the shops and restaurants of downtown San Luis Obispo and just a short drive from beaches, wineries, and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Somerset Hotel San Luis Obispo
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing