We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Bernardino, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise, the desk staff was terrific, warm and friendly. Gayle behind the counter even offered me a bowl of stew from a fresh pot she just made. The room was clean and quiet. I will stay here again and recommend this location to my friends and co workers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    112
    67
    39
    26
See reviews for
104
111
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

These pillows were terrible, small, square and extremely hard. I have no idea who's idea it was to put them in a motel. Had the worst neck ache ever in the morning, need to go get a massage today. While I am all for diversity, this Best Western motel has gone to the limit by buying pillows that appear to suffer from dwarfism! Anyone flying in to SLO, California should try to keep their airline pillow - if they would like to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great reference of things to do in SLO, awesome suggestion to do Farmer's Market on Halloween! Traveling with my 85 year old mother, she got tired about 10:30pm so we walked partially back and then rode the town Trolley to the motel. Followed that with a night cap down the block at an Irish Pub. You made great suggestions to make this trip memorable for us both.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for choosing us; looks like you had an awesome Halloween weekend! There are indeed many events and places to explore around town and we would love to welcome you back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsons, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

this is a hotel i will definitly tell my friends about, staff were great and professional. Hotel was comfortable and secure. If and when I visit this area again either for business or pleasure I will stay here. The breakfast is just enough to get you on the road without alot of sugar to bog you down durning your drive (even the waffles, were light and tasty). I was impressed at the selection of fresh fruit availible as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank robin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in a downstairs room and we heard every step of the people above. TERRIBLY creeky floors. Secondly, the back of the room faced a pub/bar that played LOUD music until 1AM. We were no more than 20 feet away from that. We stayed a Friday and Saturday night. Clean room, comfortable, but the noise factor really should put this rating at 1-2, but I wanted to give them a little credit for a clean, comfortable room and decent continental breakfast. There is no lobby or courtyard for visiting with friends if you are looking for that kind of setting. Just a basic BW. This was our only choice for this particular weekend as all other hotels were sold out. Unfortunately, I will not be returning to this BW.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, choose upstairs room and on the west side of the building (same as the off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We usually stay at Best Westerns on our road trips because of price and dependability. We showed up without reservations, and Gayle at front desk honored the Costco rate that I found online the night before(That is the same rate as AAA) Gayle was friendly, office, and grounds were clean, and felt like a safe area. They offered some fruit, cereal, pastries, and I believe they had waffles for the free breakfast that was good. The bed was clean and comfortable, but the carpet was filthy and stained. The shower had caulking peeling, and hanging down the front, and some of the caulking on the inside was not clean. If I owned it, I would never rent out the room without either cleaning the carpet, or replacing it. It looks as if somebody bought the place, and tried to save money fixing it on their own. There was newer crown molding and paint, but zero attention to detail. I did have a comfortable sleep, and the people were nice, but the only way I would stay again is if I checked out the room first before paying. I might be able to understand if that was the only room available, and they told us about the dirty carpet, but the hotel appeared to only be about half full. I am not a nit picky person, but I have never experienced this at a Best Western before. Replace the carpet, clean a little better and you will get 4.5 stars.

Room Tip: Good place to stay, but ask to see room before you have them charge your credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

The lady at front desk is so nice and helpful, she really cared about helping. Big room with comfortable bed. Nice location. Its and old hotel but has been renewed, so room furniture and bedding are almost new.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at San Luis Obispo

Property: Inn at San Luis Obispo
Address: 1895 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613 (Formerly Somerset Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between San Francisco and Los Angeles along the breathtaking Central Coast, the Inn at San Luis Obispo is the ideal lodging option for families, business travelers, and couples. Our 3-Diamond, AAA-approved hotel invites you to experience well-appointed accommodations with ample amenities, such as refrigerators, microwaves, and free Wi-Fi. While you're here, you'll also enjoy a daily complimentary continental breakfast, outdoor heated pool, and hot tub. And our location couldn't be more convenient. We're just a few blocks from the shops and restaurants of downtown San Luis Obispo and just a short drive from beaches, wineries, and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Somerset Hotel San Luis Obispo
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing