We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Bakersfield, United States
2 reviews
“satisfactory”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Everything was about as expected for a mid-range motel. No surprises, good or bad. not a lot more to say, just a decent place to stay, close to the places we wanted to visit. this review needs 200 characters to submit so here's a few to fill it up.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    116
    69
    40
    28
See reviews for
108
113
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We needed to take a last minute trip to SLO. In looking for a good quality, reasonably priced place to sleep for the night, we came upon a great AAA rate for this hotel. We have stayed at other Best Westerns in the area and were impressed by the cleanliness and consistency of the brand in that area. Since we were just needing a sleepover place, we were more interested in saving money than the hotel itself. This place delivered just what we were looking for. Clean, quiet, plenty of room, good hot shower, and even a mini-fridge and big flat-screen t.v. If you are looking for a great basic room for a night or two (or three...), I would definitely recommend this place for the price.

Room Tip: Upstairs is usually a better choice as this is a "motel" style place with rooms off of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This Best Western is a nice clean, quiet motel near the highway, a 10-minute walk to downtown (great downtown). San Luis Obispo is a charming town, not stuck up and not sleazy either. I was there when school was out, and it was a great value. The staff were very professional, I would definitely stay there again. Usually drive through SLO but take a look, it's worth the stop, the community is very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank armadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest; thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed exploring quaint San Luis Obispo, and would love for you to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clovis ca
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

wife and i had a brief holiday and enjoyed the comfort of your hotel easy freeway access great food next door as well as breakfast very peaceful the staff was very helpful and jovial nice to see during the holiday season would recommend a stay and go wine tasting

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took good care of you. Please do visit us again!
Happy Holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I found this place on kayak -good reviews -great price decided to check it out - we were going to stay one night in town but then met Gayle and Troy (owners) and they changed our mind -stayed one extra night for the farmers market- unlike any others farmers market more like a huge party downtown :music food photo booth and bars - plus the trolley picks you up across the street and only 50 cents - it takes you straight downtown- all in all super hospitable staff ,great breakfast , pool and a nice hot tub :) next time in SLO definitely coming back to stay here

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nursejola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Excellent value Quiet, very clean and well-maintained Simple, safe accommodations Great location Efficient, professional staff I would go back again Small Motel is tucked away in a quiet spot Breakfast room is pleasant

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was more then a little disappointed by the physical condition of the Somersett Inn, it has definetely seen better days and has that sad aura of neglect. The staff was friendly but that in itself would not lead me to recommend that others stay here. The mattresses on the beds need to be replaced and if you are on the bottom floor with someone in the room above you, prepare to be part of their routine and conversations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcm4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at San Luis Obispo

Property: Inn at San Luis Obispo
Address: 1895 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613 (Formerly Somerset Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between San Francisco and Los Angeles along the breathtaking Central Coast, the Inn at San Luis Obispo is the ideal lodging option for families, business travelers, and couples. Our 3-Diamond, AAA-approved hotel invites you to experience well-appointed accommodations with ample amenities, such as refrigerators, microwaves, and free Wi-Fi. While you're here, you'll also enjoy a daily complimentary continental breakfast, outdoor heated pool, and hot tub. And our location couldn't be more convenient. We're just a few blocks from the shops and restaurants of downtown San Luis Obispo and just a short drive from beaches, wineries, and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Somerset Hotel San Luis Obispo
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing