We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sands Inn & Suites(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
University Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Luis Creek Lodge(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lexington Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peach Tree Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Farm Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Motel(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbeam Motel(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
211
166
79
34
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
166
79
34
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinefront deskcal polycinnamon rollsupgraded to a suiteyogurtother hotelsbeds were comfortabledowntown slothe breakfast areastayed here for one nightclose to downtownhousekeeping staffwe've stayedshort stayhot breakfastwould stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My wife and I have just stayed here for 7 nights and it was truly wonderful. Everything was perfect, the staff were truly amazing so helpful in so many ways. Lauren at the Front Desk was outstanding as was the manager.The comp breakfasts were fine (something for everybody).



We used Enterprise Rental on Broad Street, they picked us up and returned us to our hotel and even let us choose what car we wanted, you cannot beat that for service.









Thank you for making our stay in San Luis Obispo so memorable.

Thank you again Expedia for all your help with our reservation (that is why we always use yo

Anita and Kenny.
Vancouver Island
Canada..

Room Tip: They are all nice rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

this hotel needs a makeover, everything is dated. service from staff pleasant and helpful, breakfast typical for hie, but I notice when bananas were. out they weren't replaced forbsome time. rooms are not for the business traveller, at least not from.my point of view. Round table, with few ac outlets. Fitness room: small, sit downn bike straps broken, no cleaning wipes, no weights, weighing scale situated in.the bathroom, which is also in.the fitness room. walls need repainting or at least repaired. Ss I say not the best and not the worst

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodbadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here for one night as we toured the Cal Poly campus. The rooms were spacious and well decorated. The beds were comfortable as were the pillows. The linens on the beds were fine but not as high quality as I was expecting.

The location is on the same street at many hotels which are all within a mile or so from downtown and the campus. We were impressed with the decor of the hotel. It looks like its been recently remodeled. The rooms look like that as well but the bathrooms were a surprise. Although they were all clean it seemed that they hadn't been updated. Not that big a deal but surprising since the rest is all so nice.

The breakfast was fine, nothing special. They had the fun pancake machine but they were out of syrup. The had yogurt, cereal, hardboiled eggs, bagels and all the usual. There seemed to be just enough tables for the guests and there was enough room to walk around. They had free newspapers everywhere which was really nice.

The front desk folks were fine and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed one night when visiting Cal Poly with our son. This turned out to be a fine place to stay and they offered a breakfast as well. We drove the short distance to town and had dinner and finished our night off in the hot tub. Close to the Cal Poly campus, clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Expensive for the kind of hotel service and location.
It is just a place to spend a night, no kitchen / even restaurants closeby. We had to drive for 10 mins to get water for the night. Best if you stay near the main street (near the mission) at SLO.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarunKJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXSLOGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear TarunkJain,

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your last trip to San Luis Obispo. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly because we actually do have many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We also vending machines with various snacks and drinks. The hotel is located only minutes away from downtown with many more shops, restaurants, and local entertainment for our guests to enjoy. I look forward to sharing this information with you.

Thank you,

Joel Koper
General Manager
805-544-8600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews