We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is very noisy, the plumbing system from other rooms echoed thru our room every time someone flushed the toilet. You can hear people talking in the next room and when people are walking on the floor above you it sounds like an elephant.
To top it off they had workman there and were hammering, drilling until 8.45 pm. When I rang the front desk to discuss this Taz was very rude, however the drilling etc stopped. We stayed two nights and the first morning we were woken at 7.00am by what we can only assume was a wake up call, followed 1/2 an hour later by another one. Not impressed. And someone had set the alarm clock which went off at midnight.
It is 3/4 of an hour walk from both Amtrack and Downtown.
On a positive note, the room was large and very modern and clean.
Gardens outside were lovely.
Has a laundry which is a big plus when you are travelling.
Did not use the spa or room service

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 481JanD481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo. We here at the Holiday Inn Express pride ourselves on providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests.

We apologize for the issues with the noise in the hotel during your stay. We are in our last week of our room "Refresh" and all of the noise associated with this renovation has stopped. We appreciate feedback from guests like yourself and apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.

We would love the opportunity to have you as a guest again and allow us to impress upon you our great service and wonderful rooms.

James Davison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've stayed at this H I E many times while visiting my granddaughter when she was attending Cal Poly SLO. Periodically we go on wine tasting tours and we make it a point to return to this fine establishment. Being a Platinum member of the H I E, and staying at H I E's nationwide it rates as one of the best that we have ever booked. Reception, courtesy, cleanliness and special attention (always) are a notch above other H I E's in my opinion.

Sal Freitas

Room Tip: So quiet and peaceful that any room will be restfull
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your loyalty as an IHG Platinum Rewards member. We are honored you choose us as your place to relax while exploring the beautiful wine country we are in the middle of. We look forward to making your next visit with us special.

James Davison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for NYE and had a wonderful visit. Check-in was effortless at the front desk by the friendly staff member. Room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Also had a great location right off the 101 on the main street in town. Close to everything. The breakfast was amazing with a fabulous waffle making machine. The staff was attentive and helpful at every turn. Excellent property. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are very happy to hear you had a great visit and a wonderful start to the new year with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Thank you.

James Davison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our overnight stay en route to Cambria was wonderful. The front desk staff was more than accomodating in allowing us to check in early. The room was quiet and clean so we were able to get a good night sleep, have a tasty breakfast and be on our way.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Andrew,
Thank you so much for your review of the Holiday Inn Express in SLO. It’s great to know you enjoyed your quick stay with us before travelling to Cambria. I am happy to hear we were able to accommodate all of your needs during your stay. I hope you enjoyed your Central Coast getaway and we can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Amy Swink
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Express SLO
805-544-8600
aswink@hisanluisobispo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here this past weekend and was rather disappointed. I requested an early check in time as I had an event to attend at 3pm and needed the time to shower and dress. I called to confirm my early check in time and was guaranteed my room would be ready on my arrival. It wasn't. Though the staff and incredibly nice and pleasant, that didn't help me in my situation. Hours later, I finally made it into my room to find that the upstairs door, which leads to the hallway, was open and being used by construction workers who by the look of it, were demolishing the second floor. I should probably mention I was staying in a townhouse suit so this makes more sense. The open door/bathroom situation was handled but left me uneasy. Any noise heard made me jump. The noise from the construction was on going lasting late into the evening. It picked up just after 7:30 am the next morning. All throughout the first floor water dripped down from the ceiling leaving puddles and water streaks on the walls. It was concerning. The breakfast is made to order and very tasty, which is really the only positive thing I have to say about that stay. I won't book there again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Victoria,

While I am happy to hear that my staff greeted you pleasantly, I am disappointed that we were unable to accommodate your early check-in request. We realize that guests often have important events to attend and we make every effort to have a clean room ready for them upon their arrival.

I also apologize for the unexpected maintenance issues in your room. The good news is that we are nearing the final stage of our room renovation. With our great location and new decor, we hope you will give us the opportunity in the future to demonstrate our commitment to providing all our guests with exceptional accommodations and service.

Please contact me so that I may resolve your concerns to your full satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Amy Swink
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We spent several nights here last spring. Good location, the staff couldn't have been more accommodating (which was good as we had to call upon them several times) but the place is simply too high priced for a hotel of this age. As is often the case, HIE took over after another national outfit ran the place for some years. It is showing its age in the rooms; at least the one we were in had been neglected for some time. Part of the problem was a sewer odor in the room; a maintenance person was quick to appear and work a bit of magic but the smell lingered.

Nice lobby and breakfast buffet area. Easy to walk to restaurants nearby. There are also some better priced places to stay within a three block radius. HIE has a tendency to advertise different prices; be sure to double check to make sure you're getting the "discount" advertised rather than the "regular" rates, here and other HIE places.

There is a good sized pool and a smaller spa within a gated area.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room in the back away from the street which can be busy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_Bones3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear John_Bones3,

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo. We appreciate your feedback as a Senior Contributor. I am very glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your needs during your past stay. I am sorry you experienced some problems in your room. We are currently undergoing a major renovation of all of our rooms which will be addressing issues like the one you had experienced.
Since we are a popular destination, we recommend booking in advance for the best possible rates by calling us directly. I hope you will be able to visit us again soon and enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms!

Kind regards,
Amy Swink
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

It's nice to stay in a place where you know what to expect, and after being caught without a reservation on a busy Saturday night, we were glad to get a room in a clean and nice place, with a good breakfast included. My one big complaint is the price! We feel that $200 for one night is overpriced by about $70. A bay view room in Morro Bay was $170. So to pay more for the HI Ex seemed too much. But when you're in a pinch, you have to pay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Niki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Niki,
Thanks for your feedback on the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your clean room and our breakfast too! Our weekends do book up fast, so for the best rates we do recommend making reservations in advance.
Kind Regards,
Amy Swink
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
727 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,423 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Address: 1800 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £99 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing