We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptionally good welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Clacton-on-sea
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An exceptionally good welcome”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Probably the best Holiday Express Inn we have used whilst touring in California. Excellent welcome from all reception staff but especially Alex who should be awarded 'employee of the month' status for her immediate help and assistance in finding First Aid supplies for a minor injury. The hotel has been refurbished and the quality of the furnishings, decoration and furniture was exceptionally good. The beds were very comfortable and the choice of firm or soft pillows was a great idea. Everything was spotlessly clean. Elevator access to all floors. Breakfast included crispy bacon and cheese omelettes which made a nice change. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepeingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your "Exceptionally Good" review. From all of us here at the Holiday Inn Express, we truly appreciate your time to review us. I will let Alex know of her unofficial status of employee of the month. She will be very happy to hear about this review. We look forward to having you as our guest again in our newly renovated rooms.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    152
    78
    32
    9
See reviews for
160
106
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

ok, It is a Holiday Inn Express, Why the almost $400 per night per room? Price gouging to the extreme! Normally this place is a $129 a night. This " family chain" takes advantage of a family event. Never again!

Room Tip: Very noisy hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilio_VI_STT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review us. We appreciate and learn from each of our guests. We understand your concern about our rates on certain high-demand weekends. Cal Poly graduation weekend is one of those weekends and our rates are actually lower than most of the hotels in this area. We pride ourselves in offering competitive prices and giving our guests the best value. I hope we get the opportunity to have you as a guest again in our newly renovated rooms. Please feel free to reach out to me personally to discuss your stay with us. Thank you.

James Davison
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express-San Luis Obispo
805-544-8600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had such a wonderful experience here on NYE, we decided to stay here again. Consistency in customer service, cleanliness, quality, is something all hotels should strive for. This place exceeded our expectations again by their consistency. Check-in was handled expeditiously by the great front desk staff. Always nice to hear the words, "Welcome back"! Our room was clean and comfortable. Wifi had a strong signal and the TV channel selections were great. The morning breakfast was awesome with a lot of variety. All in all another memorable stay! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We appreciate all of our return guests. We love welcoming you back and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your wonderful review.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint george
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a pleasant stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Nice room and amenities. I would stay here again. Our room was spotless and well maintained and the front desk staff was very helpful in assisting us in finding dinner accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vettelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We are very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. I will let our housekeepers know that you found the room to be spotless. Thank you so much for taking time to review us. We greatly appreciate it.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our first trip up north in several years, so our first stop was in San Luis Obispo. The location of the hotel is just off 101, easy to find. We were greeted by the nicest front desk employee we have ever encountered. The lobby smelled great and had a nice fireplace with seating. We were tired from the long drive and the dining room had fresh coffee waiting for us. After checking in we went up to our room. Our room was on the small side, but very clean with a large flat screen t.v., comfy bed, all fresh. After a quick rest, we were ready to explore the downtown, so as we were existing the lobby, the front desk clerk once again asked if we needed anything and were we enjoying our trip. Next morning's breakfast was adequate with many choices, such as muffins, eggs, toast, yogurt, juice, cereal. Check out was a breeze. We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniversarytrip10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are pleased that you had a welcoming and comfortable arrival experience with us. Thank you for taking time to review us. We look forward to your return.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is very noisy, the plumbing system from other rooms echoed thru our room every time someone flushed the toilet. You can hear people talking in the next room and when people are walking on the floor above you it sounds like an elephant.
To top it off they had workman there and were hammering, drilling until 8.45 pm. When I rang the front desk to discuss this Taz was very rude, however the drilling etc stopped. We stayed two nights and the first morning we were woken at 7.00am by what we can only assume was a wake up call, followed 1/2 an hour later by another one. Not impressed. And someone had set the alarm clock which went off at midnight.
It is 3/4 of an hour walk from both Amtrack and Downtown.
On a positive note, the room was large and very modern and clean.
Gardens outside were lovely.
Has a laundry which is a big plus when you are travelling.
Did not use the spa or room service

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 481JanD481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo. We here at the Holiday Inn Express pride ourselves on providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests.

We apologize for the issues with the noise in the hotel during your stay. We are in our last week of our room "Refresh" and all of the noise associated with this renovation has stopped. We appreciate feedback from guests like yourself and apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.

We would love the opportunity to have you as a guest again and allow us to impress upon you our great service and wonderful rooms.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've stayed at this H I E many times while visiting my granddaughter when she was attending Cal Poly SLO. Periodically we go on wine tasting tours and we make it a point to return to this fine establishment. Being a Platinum member of the H I E, and staying at H I E's nationwide it rates as one of the best that we have ever booked. Reception, courtesy, cleanliness and special attention (always) are a notch above other H I E's in my opinion.

Sal Freitas

Room Tip: So quiet and peaceful that any room will be restfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your loyalty as an IHG Platinum Rewards member. We are honored you choose us as your place to relax while exploring the beautiful wine country we are in the middle of. We look forward to making your next visit with us special.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,401 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Address: 1800 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing