We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sands Inn & Suites(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
University Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Luis Creek Lodge(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lexington Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peach Tree Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Farm Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Motel(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbeam Motel(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
211
166
79
34
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
166
79
34
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinefront deskcal polycinnamon rollsupgraded to a suiteyogurtother hotelsbeds were comfortabledowntown slothe breakfast areastayed here for one nightclose to downtownhousekeeping staffwe've stayedshort stayhot breakfastwould stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a straight forward hotel, without any fancy touches.
Clean, quiet, in the neighborghood of most other hotels.
For me not at a walking distance fron the city downtown.
If you look for a simple place to spend the night, this could work, as it did for me and my family of five.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jose Manuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next stay with us and allow us to provide the best possible service and comfort to you and your family.

James Davison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Although this was fine for the single night I stayed it felt very cheap. Also, I had booked a king bed and was given a queen. Finally the workout room was not sufficiently air conditioned so I had to cut my workout short. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo. We here at the Holiday Inn Express pride ourselves on providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests.

We apologize for the issues with the bedding of your room and your experience with the fitness room. We will have maintenance check our fitness room AC to make sure it is not a reoccurring problem. We appreciate feedback from guests like yourself and apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.

We would love the opportunity to have you as a guest again and allow us to impress upon you our great service and wonderful rooms.

James Davison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I've come to this HI Express for several years and have never been disappointed. The rooms are quiet and clean. Appliances (TV, coffee, air conditioning/hearing, wifi) have never been out of order, and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast offers a nice array of choices in a spacious room.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms can be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your years of return visits. We greatly appreciate it. We pride ourselves on our clean, comfortable, and well appointed rooms and we will work hard everyday to make sure you will always have a great stay. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit with us.

James Davison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Thus hotel was in a very good location to downtown SLO. It was within walking distance to restaurants and was not hard to get in and out of. The continental breakfast was decent for what you pay for and the rooms were well cleaned. The bathroom needed some cosmetic work and certain attention to detail by the cleaning staff was missed and had to be pointed out. For the most part I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo. We here at the Holiday Inn Express pride ourselves on providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests.

I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy our accomodations during your recent visit to SLO.

We would love the opportunity to have you as a guest again and allow us to impress upon you our great service and wonderful rooms.

Kind Regards,
Amy Swink
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Went for the cheap route next door at the Sands and regretted it. This hotel is 10x better and worth every penny when it comes to the room facilities and amenities. Don't be a cheapo. Spend a little bit more specially when traveling with the family. You'll thank me later :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank DaddyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo. We here at the Holiday Inn Express pride ourselves on providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests.

I am that we were able to provide you with the service you deserved.

We would love the opportunity to have you as a guest again and allow us to impress upon you our great service and wonderful rooms.

Kind Regards,
Amy Swink
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews