We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did Take Out, good food, good value, hard to pick it up.”
Review of Thai Palace

Thai Palace
Ranked #31 of 303 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“We did Take Out, good food, good value, hard to pick it up.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We ordered take out and the dishes were delicious. No concerns with the food - but as the restaurant is in a pedestrian mall area and there's almost zero parking nearby it was good that one of us could jump out of the car and collect the food while the other circled the block a few times. Good value for -in experience.the quality of the food. Can't comment on the eat-in ambiance and service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 0591TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My favorite local Thai”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Best Thai in San Luis Obispo and surprisingly reasonable. No sticky rice but all my other favorites are superb here! Try the Laab, Green Papaya Salad, Fresh Rolls and Tiger Tiger Beef...soooo good. Cute location, good stopover while downtown shopping!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klmattocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had our Christmas eve dinner here because we couldn't find any other open restaurant that night. It was a good choise, the staff was very friendly and the food was good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Having spent a month in Thailand, we can be a bit picky at times. Glad the reviews held up! Delicious khao soy and papaya salad. A bit on the spicy side for mild, but my husband thought it was just right. It's pricier than some - but the main dish was more meat than noodles (a rarity) and the meat was slow cooked to perfection! Great central location with gelato across the way to cool you off if your mouth gets too hot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiamYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Savory A+”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had dinner there last night, and it was fantastic! We ordered the appetizer special: crispy curried rice lettuce wrap. Talk about refreshing and burst of flavours! This was followed by mouth watering Pad Kee Mow (flat rice noodles with chili, bell pepper, onions, and Thai basil leaves) with Shrimp. And for dessert, we had this amazing green tea, chocolate, strawberry flavoured mochi and a slice tiramisu torte. The mochi tasted like they were home made- fresh and so fragrant. You will enjoy this Palace of savory foods! The staff was super friendly, and there was no wait to get a table on a Sunday night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spicytofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Palace also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Thai Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing