We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!! Staff was extremely rude. Poor value for your money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada San Luis Obispo
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
sanramonmom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful!!! Staff was extremely rude. Poor value for your money.”
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We reserved the King Suite because we have four children. First of all, we entered and the smell was absolutely horrible. We had a total of 4 beds, 6 people. There were enough towels for 4 people and the pull out bed did not have pillows. When we went to the office to ask for more towels and pillows, the guy laughed and said, "we're full". This service cost us $200.00. We travel monthly with the kids because of sport competitions...... This was definetly the worst in 4 years.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — service and price
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sanramonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    77
    149
    171
    182
See reviews for
300
130
31
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We just returned from staying at the Ramada in SLO. I was hesitant at first to book there due to many bad reviews, but I decided to give it a try, since the hotel had the king suite that we wanted and also allowed pets--a necessity for us.

I'm not going to say it was perfect, but this was a nice hotel.

Things I think need attention would be minor. The wastebaskets didn't have liners in them, the wifi connection didn't work in all of our suite (BUT to be fair, we were in the far back building--and it DID work), and we only had 3 towels for 4 people when we checked in (but they nicely gave us more--anyway, the housekeeping staff doesn't know how many will be staying in a room). The mirror in the bathroom steams up during showers, but so do most at people's homes. The bathroom light is on the timer, so as long as you remember to turn it ALL the way you won't end up showering in the dark. That type of lighting control seems to be standard in many hotels, but I prefer a switch. While the fruit danish supplied for breakfast weren't necessarily home-made, the bagels were large and the serving of cream cheese to accompany them were generous.

Electrical outlets were a bit difficult to access, but I brought my own extension cord to make it easier and have my chargers for the phones and computer centralized anyway. I don't remember seeing an alarm clock (it may have been in the room used by the boys), but we use our cell phones for alarms anyway.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful, giving us extra towels and pillows and helping us with some travel needs when we left for our airport--I was VERY appreciative of their extra help. Someone (probably a mischievous former guest) had tinkered with the hot water heater, so the first night we had a rather cold shower. I called the front desk, and the manager came down RIGHT AWAY to check on the problem and he fixed it immediately. Considering the late hour, I was impressed with the service.

Our suite was nice, with plenty of room and a very nice deck overlooking the creek. The hotel isn't brand new but was in good shape and easy to access. Our suite had a kitchen unit, and the refrigerator and coffee maker were very much appreciated, as were the ironing board and iron since we were getting ready for a wedding and had to deal with dress clothes which had been wrinkled in transit.

Checking in and out was easy, the firm mattress in our room was very comfortable, and nothing "smelled" (as in smelled bad). We had plenty of room for our things. We would probably stay here again if we have to visit SLO in the future.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cjwo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sicwaiting
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

This hotel and it's staff and management make you want to go back home. The rooms are dirty, unkept, and smell of mildew. Staff tried to enter (and did enter) our room no less than 4 times per day with our complaints falling on deaf ears. Management was abrasively rude both on the telephone and in person and allowed their staff of underlings to be the same. We felt uneasy about leaving any valuables in the room due to the freedom the staff in entering it, so we ended up lugging computers and bags to and from the car when we left and came back. To top it off, the rooms at the Ramada are more expensive than the other motels in he city but the quality and service is well below them.

There's more but I think you get the point. The city o SLO was the only bright spot of our trip. I'd advise anyone to stay anywhere but the Ramada Inn Olive Tree when visiting SLO.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying there
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sicwaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

After seeing the generally good reviews on this site we booked the hotel for a one night stay for some Cal Poly events and were shocked at the poor room condition (bugs in the bed) and lack of any meaningful staff response - changed room but no apology even.

would not stay here again for any price

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank zzzman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

On our way from LA to San Franciso, we wanted to stay in San Luis Obispo as it was recommended in Lonely Planet as a quaint and pretty town. Although we were not disappointed by this (it is a lovely town and the weekly Farmers Market on a Thursday is a brilliant night!) the hotel lacked any sort of personality. On arriving we were greeted by 2 other guests who looked a bit like they should have been on the Jerry Springer show and who were fascinated by our English accents! So enthusiastic were they that when my friend popped back to reception (our key did not work.....surely we should have known that the door handle needs to be pushed up, not down!??!), another resident was already complaining about the noise outside our room and insisted on a transfer!

As the heat was in its 90's we opted for a motel with a pool......and I use this term loosely! The pool is tiny and looks dirty and therefore was definitely not an option. The room was ok in size but had been painted that day and so absolutely reeked of paint! The staff were friendly enough and when our telly created its very own poltergeist and kept switching itself off, it was changed within 10 mins. However, the toilet did not flush properly, something which we didn't complain about as really couldn't be bothered!

The restarant was good, although gave me awful indigestion in the night......be warned, its rich cajun comfort food and needs a stomach of iron to handle!

The location was OK and we walked into town within about 25 mins, ideal as the town has only a handful of taxi's (of which we saw none in our 2 day stay).

As previously mentioned, the breakfast was pretty rubbish with weak juice and a handful of muffins or bagels but there are plenty of restaurants in the area to grab something.

If you want something cheap, cheerful, clean and somewhere to lay your head at the end of a busy day, then this is fine (we paid $178 + tax for 2 nights) but if you want anything more then I would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phippster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la palma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2007

it was really clean and comfortable. the hotel staff was really helpful and nice. the beds were comfortable. the pool was heated. the price was nice compared to other motels. the view was really nice. i would suggest everybody to stay here. i will definately come back and stay again at ramada.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lmatkopar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was clean and spacoius, but nothing fancy. Breakfast was kind of poor though, only bagels, muffin and coffee, and we had to wait for the managment to bring out more when it was not enought for all the customers (we were about four people having breakfast, still it wasn't enogh...). So, OK for the money but don't expect anything more.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lt.ripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#23 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Inn & Suites
San Luis Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Luis Obispo

Property: Ramada San Luis Obispo
Address: 1000 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2362
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Olive Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Ramada Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing