We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic motel - pricey unless you have a coupon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada San Luis Obispo
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Basic motel - pricey unless you have a coupon”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

Motel is on the edge of San Luis Obismo on the same road as about 3 others but is only a 15 minute walk into the city centre.

Rooms were ok, we didn't have any problems with cleanliness or smells as a stated in other reviews.

Breakfast is very basic.

I think it's over-priced but we had picked up a booklet with hotel coupons so had a king size for $79 which made it reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    90
    161
    183
    198
See reviews for
332
140
35
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Room was blazing hot when we arrived... Shower curtain wasn't the cleanest looking...
Disappointing continental breakfast... Only butter and jelly for hard bagels... No cream cheese even though they told me there would be... generic pastries... Totally boring!
But ok if you need a relatively inexpensive place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nmnoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was the only hotel with availability. It was dirty. The carpet was dirty and stained. The bathroom floor was dirty. Plan ahead or keep going! You will not be pleased with this place! We could not get out quickly enough!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

austin,tx
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

After driving down the coast we were extremely tired and ready to rest. We ended up here,and were sorry we did not plan our trip a little better, the entry and carpet smelled of cat urine,and a musty odor. This room had not been updated or had anything replaced,EVER! The mattress was creaky and bumpy,the wall lamp over my head was loose,and I was afraid it would fall on me. the desk lamp had a tear that clearly was taped together.I smelled the bedspread and it smelled musty. I asked the young man at the front desk when it was changed,and he said "often". "How often",I asked,"about every couple of weeks". The blanket had a food stain(I hope),and I told him for what we were paying(143.00) i needed clean blankets. He was very nice about it and brought us 2,and we pulled off the nasty bedspread and threw it in the corner. He claimed they didn't any more bedspreads available. We didn't bother to eat the free breakfast which was served in the tiny lobby. I think it was just cereal and muffins. If we ever go to San Luis Obispo again,I will make sure and book a room in advance at the Hampton. I didn't see any other large hotels,but we arrived late in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank txmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I expected better from a Ramada hotel and was very dissapointed, the manager was miserable and his customer service skills are non existent. The rooms was clean and tidy, the breakfast was rubbish with only a few tables and everyone getting brekkie at the same time, we had to wait ages to eat anything and there wasnt much choice! There must be better places to stay in this lovely town

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Poor customer service from the manager on duty, he had a bad aditude the entire time. He then gave me a key to a room that was never cleaned and when I told him about it there was no apology. No hot water, shampo, conditioner, soap, and only two towels for two people....Not a happy camper right now.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Csylvia508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We were driving from San Francisco in the general direction of LA, and by the time we got to this point it was time to call it a night.

We were able to get a reasonable rate by using our AAA card.

It was after midnight. We were given a handicap accessible room on the first level. The room seemed clean, though the decor was dated. It had a small fridge and microwave, and we found the WiFi to be stable and easy to connect to.

The bathroom was extremely large, due to it being an accessible room. It seemed to be built well for this purpose, there was a fold down bench in the shower and many hand rails. The sink was not lowered. There is a very large parking space right out front of the room. The room was a bit noisy from outside noise

Room Tip: Use your AAA (American) or CAA (Canadian) card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-McCormick-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#23 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Luis Obispo

Property: Ramada San Luis Obispo
Address: 1000 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2362
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Olive Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Ramada Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing