We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for 2 adults and 3 teenagers in 1 suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel is the best place for a whole family to stay in one suite and have plenty of space to do what they want. The indoor lounge is great too. And the huge breakfast takes care of lunch as well. The complementary drinks at the bar from 5:30-7:30 is great as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Daniel G;

Great to see that you were able to enjoy the amenities of our hotel with your family. Our evening comp reception and comp breakfast tend to be crowd favorites. I was glad to see that you also enjoyed our lounge as well.

Continued safe travels to you and your family - all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Each year I have a business/vacation trip to San Luis Obispo, when I try to stay in a different hotel each time. Last year I stayed at the Marriott Courtyard, which was very nice, but decided to try Embassy Suites this year. The bed and bathroom were comparable to the Courtyard, except you get a sitting area and a pullout sofa in a separate room. The decor and carpet were nice but a bit dated. The bed was comfortable, the towels nice, and the soaps were excellent. One reason I chose this hotel was because of its location. It's near the center of the city toward the rear of a shopping center, so you are within a short drive to the sights and within walking distance to lots of chain stores and restaurants. Something else I really liked were the free breakfasts and happy hour. While the breakfasts are not unusual for a hotel this size, free drinks and appetizers for about two hours every evening in the spacious lounge area were quite a treat. One observation I must make has to do with all the children running around in the open areas. Some singles and couples seeking quiet time may be disappointed by the commotion and chatter of the kids. But overall, the hotel room itself was above average in comparison to other large chains I've stayed in around SLO, and the location and the cocktails, in my book, make it very good and a good bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Matt2414;

I'm so pleased that you chose Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo for your business/vacation trip. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your spacious guest room suite and amenities and that you found our beds comfortable. Many guests really enjoy our location for the exact reasons you mentioned, i.e. close to downtown SLO as well as convenient shopping within walking distance. It was great to see that you took advantage of our comp evening reception as well.

Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback. We look forward to your next visit to SLO.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I recently went up to SLO for a nice relaxing weekend. We had previously stayed at another Embassy Suites in Lompoc which turned out to be very nice..but this one even better!!!!!!!!!! Beautiful indoor setting for the complimentary free breakfast buffet and the cooked to order station...the food was great. In the evening they set up the bar in same area for free HH drinks and snacks..Was all very very nice. Had a great suite...very comfortable and so much room!! I highly recommend to anyone going in that area to stay there!! The staff was very very hospitable and took care of any needs we had. Perfect!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalibuJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear MalibuJanice:

Wow, sounds like you had an amazing time! My sincere appreciation for you taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. Many guests comment on our open Atrium area and find it an enjoyable place to relax at the end of a long day. I was very pleased to see that you found our food "great" - Chef Sowell and his team work very hard and take much pride in what they do. As you mentioned, our suites are quite spacious and I'm glad you found your guest room suite comfortable. I will definitely share your incredible comments with our staff, and again, many thanks for sharing your feedback. We look forward to your next "perfect" stay.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I really like the Embassy Suites brand and was looking forward to another great stay. Overall, the ES in SLO is a decent property with helpful staff in a good location right off Highway 101. It did take a few minutes to actually find the hotel as it is in the back corner of a large shopping center, with only a rather small sign on Madonna Road indicating where it is.

Check-in was quick and efficient, the front desk staff friendly. The room was rather dark with a toilet/sink/tub & shower in a separate room and a larger sink/counter area between the living area and bedroom.. My room had a balcony overlooking the side parking lot. The very large bathroom door opened outwards so that a person could not be standing at the outside sink when you opened the door. While the bed was comfortable, the furnishings in the room need updating and wi-fi signal on my iPad was very week in the bedroom. One of the two elevators was out of service the first night of my stay. Breakfast was a typical ES affair, although my one sister got the incorrect omelette the first morning. But the potatoes and watermelon were delicious. Coffee was disappointing, a Maxwell House product, instead of Starbucks or a higher quality variety (although there was a Peet's Coffee stand in the lobby, too, of course, for purchase).

Breakfast on the second morning was absolutely overrun with unruly children running amuck with little parental supervision. I also stood in line for at least 15 minutes to get a cappuccino from the Peet's Coffee stand adjacent to the breakfast area. When there was no more Splenda left at Peet's, they directed me to the regular coffee station in the buffet area, but there was none there either. When I asked a staff member (a busboy?), he said that he didn't think they carried Splenda. I told him that I had it the day before and that there is some in the room. Another staff member looked in the kitchen but was unable to find any.

This was a perfectly adequate and decent Embassy Suites property, but I expected a higher level of overall quality for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside balcony, rather than one opening to the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjsparma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear pjsparma;

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent visit. Sounds like you had an overall good stay with just a few bumps in the road. I apologize for one of the service elevators being temporarily out; we act promptly, sometimes, however, it's just a matter of waiting for the elevator service company to respond. Regarding our coffee, we do meet brand standards and most guests enjoy it; I do understand and appreciate your feedback here, however. During the summer season we do have many families that stay with us who come to enjoy all that the central coast has to offer. At times it does get busy at comp breakfast and we do our absolute best to create an enjoyable experience for all guests.

Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments to heart. We hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to SLO and give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to your loyalty to the Hilton Brand. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed only one night as we had driven in from Vegas and were on our way to San Francisco.Since we had missed the free cocktail hour the staff were kind enough to give us drink vouchers for the Bar. The rooms were amazing and very comfortable for a family of 4. The breakast was made to order eggs with multiple options...too many choices.

Room Tip: Very pretty area stay longer.Visit Hearst Castle nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Pavlina B;

Thank you for your recent visit to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo and for sharing your positive feedback regarding our hotel. I was pleased to see that our staff took great care of you both at our comp evening reception and at our comp breakfast. And you are correct, there are many choices on our cook to order line that can make the selection process difficult. I was also happy to see that your family of 4 found our guest room suites very comfortable.

Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit to SLO. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

It is one of the best in value in every category. Never experienced any issue in any of our stays. Rooms are extremely clean. Evening reception with unlimited drinks (alcoholic & non) with finger foods. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Vasudev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Vasudev N;

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. You echo many guests' comments regarding the exceptional value the Embassy Suites brand offers. I am so glad that you enjoyed our evening comp reception. We look forward to your next visit. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Clean hotel with decent breakfast bar with made to order omelettes. Very friendly staff from check-in to housekeeping and anyone we passed in the hallways. Perfect vicinity for Cal Poly and downtown visits. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member;

Thank you for your recent visit and for your positive feedback. I was very happy to see that you found our hotel clean and our complimentary breakfast with cook to order omelets a great value. We often hear feedback regarding our very friendly staff; I am pleased that you found this to be the case throughout the hotel. And yes, if you are visiting Cal Poly we are in a great location.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to SLO.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
735 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £94 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing