We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Suites--San Luis Obispo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have traveled to San Luis Obispo twice a year for the last 17 years. We have noticed a general decline in the quality of this establishment in just the last year. Some major maintenance needs to occur. When we stayed for three nights in a "disabled access" room, the ceiling started leaking on our last night. What??? At least we got that night free, but come on, what is going on here?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank V7580MSjamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was very disappointed to read that you had a ceiling leak in your guest room suite on the last night of your stay. We work very hard to ensure each suite is well maintained and I can assure you that we responded to the leak issue in your room immediately. I was glad to see that my staff compensated you appropriately and your last night stay.

Thank you for your many visits over the years and we certainly hope to have you continue staying with us in the future.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed one night only but my experience was enjoyable. The breafast and happy hour were the reason I chose this hotel. The food, drink and the services were outstanding. The location is only problem with this hotel. I have three GPS nagivation systems in the car but I can't find the hotel. The hotel should have a bigger sign at the main road.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lekhoi_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear lekhoi_2000;

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our complimentary breakfast, our evening reception and our service. It was a pleasure having you as our guest.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel is well situated near the Madonna Inn, downtown and restaurants. If you forget something there are a number of stores within walking distance. The breakfast is a plus, especially the made to order eggs or daily special. It is pleasant and a nice place to stay when in San Luis Obispo or visiting Cal Poly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKawahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear BKawahara;

Thank you for the great comments regarding your stay. Your feedback regarding our convenient location, local shopping and complimentary cook to order breakfast is echoed by many of our guests. We look forward to having you back for another pleasant stay.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My overall experience was very enjoyable. It is a lovely hotel with a nice ambiance and very comfortable rooms. The decor of the hotel and the rooms is most pleasing, The food was very good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Janet H;

Thank you for your recent visit to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. Very happy to see that you found our hotel lovely, our guest rooms suites comfortable and the overall décor pleasing. Also glad that you had the opportunity to try our delicious food. Until next time, safe travels.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

When my Aunt Mary turned 100, she chose to spend her big day with her daughter, Merrill and visiting family from Massachusetts, at the Embassy Suites in San Luis Obispo. Upon check,-in Aunt Mary was overwhelmed when she was personally welcomed by, Kevin Phipps, General Manager (as she later explained, "of the whole place"!), who, of course congratulated her on her 100th.

In a "surprise" event, the staff sang "Happy Birthday" in the sparkling Atrium and the Executive Chef, Keith Sowell, "personally baked presented" his specially designed, chocolate cake made with California's best chocolate and 3 candles of "100". The cake was "To die for", as they say.

The Embassy has been Mary's and Merrill's choice of "staycations" for many years. They chose the Embassy once again for the big day, for easy of use, wonderful breakfast, happy hour, newspapers and a wonderful atrium, the place where the family visited and played Trivial Pursuit.
My experience in working with Kirsten Jegsen, Director of Sales, who arranged all of this, was excellent. I just told her about the 100th; and she was off and running.

Thank you, Kirsten, Keith, Kevin and your wonderful staff for you attention and caring.

Room Tip: For the vision impaired, room 109 and 110 are bright and very accessible to two exits for easy in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmoretomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Travelmoretomorrow;

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was truly our honor and our pleasure to welcome your Aunt to the San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites for her 100th birthday celebration. What a wonderful legacy and we were very excited to play a small role in the festivities. Your Aunt has such a wonderful spirit and personality and we truly enjoyed meeting here.

I hope that your Aunt has many more birthday celebrations ahead and you are certainly always welcome back to Embassy Suites.

Warm Regards,

Kevin Phipps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My stay was excellent. I would definitely return to your hotel in SLO and tell my friends to stay there as well. When scheduling conferences for my place of employment I will definitely recommend the conference be held at SLO Embassy Suites. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Veronica M;

Thank you for the wonderful comments that you posted regarding your stay at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. Sounds like you had a great conference and hopefully we will so you again soon for another conference in San Luis Obispo.

Thanks again and I wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Always enjoy my stay at Embassy Suites. The hotel staff greets me by my name and makes me feel very welcome. I enjoy the breakfast buffet and they have an excellent fitness center. Also, it's close to Cal Poly where I conduct my business.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank JoElla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear JoElla B;

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo for your recent visit. I was pleased to see that our staff greeted you on a personal level and made you feel at home. It was nice to read that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, our fitness center and our close proximity to Cal Poly University, amenities of our hotel that many guests enjoy.

Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
750 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
654 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
931 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £109 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing