We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Suites-SLO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Embassy Suites-SLO”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel is in door and the breakfast was great. There was a lot to choose from. There was a buffet style of breakfast food set up plus you could order an omelet. There was a lot of tables that you could sit at and finding a place to sit down and eat was not a problem. There is a shopping area where the hotel is located so you can go and shop or eat at a restaurant that is walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member;

Glad to see that you really enjoyed our complimentary cook to order breakfast; many guests comment on what a great value this is. And you are correct, there are many convenient shopping options within walking distance of the hotel.

Look forward to your next visit. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    384
    227
    107
    65
See reviews for
493
258
39
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very nice lobby and Manager Cocktail hour, as well as a nice breakfast setup, with a buffet and cooked to order hot food. Unfortunately, there was a little mold in the shower and the ceiling was starting to peel off.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear David B;

We get many comments on our spacious Atrium and our complimentary cook to order breakfast; glad you enjoyed them. Very sorry about the issue you mentioned in your suite, it will be addressed quickly as we do our absolute best to maintain the property at a high level.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Fair price and the normal nice perks that Embassy Suites are known for. Cons: Rooms by freeway are a little loud, free breakfast and evening drinks a good...but not great...but they are sort of free! Pros: Most of the staff is very friendly and will try to help you any way they can. Lots of parking. Easy on off at Hwy 101

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Wayne D;

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your comments regarding our complimentary cook to order breakfast, our evening reception, our friendly staff and our ample parking are well received, and thank you! We hope to address freeway noise in our future refresh.

Again, thanks and we hope to see you again soon. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I chose this hotel for a college recruiting trip to Cal Poly because I had stayed here before and it seemed fine. I was not disappointed. My 2nd floor room was fine, everything worked, the bed was comfortable. I could hear some noise from the atrium during the evening when I was in the "living room" but the bedroom was totally quiet. The staff I met were pleasant and helpful. They gave me a code for free wi-fi even though I am only a lowly "silver" Hilton Honors member. And the breakfast was good as ever.

I saw some of the recent reviews about unpleasant rooms, needing a renovation, etc. I agree it could use some updating but my room was fine -- perhaps when the hotel is not full, they try to only use the rooms that are in better shape.

Room Tip: There seems to be a wide variety between rooms, so if you don't like the one they give you, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldGuyfromBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear OldGuyfromBay;

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo for your recent recruiting trip. Very happy to see that everything was in proper working order in your guest room suite, as it should be of course, and that you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful.

We look forward to your next stay when passing through San Luis Obispo.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Rooms were clean, the help was truly outstanding. The morning breakfast was above average...................................................................................................................

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Thebarber:

Thank you for your recent stay and for your kind remarks regarding our clean suites, our outstanding staff and our above average complimentary breakfast. We hope that your travels bring you back to San Luis Obispo soon.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Pealing paint, stinky rooms, and outdated fixtures (shower, sink, ect). This hotel is a shell of its former self and unlike most Hilton Hotels we've stayed. We'll stay at Marriott or Hampton next time in SLO. The breakfast is great (best complementary I've ever had, quite a spread), but we were so tired from the uncomfortable beds that it didn't make up for it. Room had not been fully cleaned.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Matthew B;

As always we appreciate direct feedback from our guests. As we work our way towards a refresh we work hard to maintain our property in excellent condition. I was very disappointed to learn of the pealing paint that you mentioned and we will follow up immediately. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast and that you enjoyed it.

Thank you for your feedback and for your recent visit.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were stuck. Our flight to LA would not arrive in time for us to make a connection. The folks at United agreed to house us overnight. The Embassy Suites treated us like visiting royalty.

Their van picked us up at the airport and took us to the hotel, where we took advantage of the happy hour reception.....free food and drinks...including well drinks at the bar. Our suite was overly large, and we felt pampered. The room was quiet and clean, and the full breakfast was one of the best we have had in a chain hotel.

If you are in the Central Coast wine country, this is a good spot to overnight.....freeway close.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baysil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear baysil;

My sincere thanks for the terrific feedback regarding your stay. Loved the comment about being treated like "Royalty." Our staff works very hard to provide excellent service to all our guests. I'm also glad to see that you took full advantage of our evening comp reception as well as our morning cook to order breakfast. Our two room suites also provide additional space for our guests and are often a surprise to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I wish you safe travels.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
592 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
848 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing