We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silverware was NOT washed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I have until now had very good experiences with Embassy Suites hotels. Had made prior reservation and arrived 1/2/2014; the place was fully booked. We ordered dinner and ate in the room. Later that evening my wife became extremely nauseated. She had not been this sick in many, many years. We did not at the time associate this with the food or utensils.

The following morning we went to the dining area for the complementary breakfast. Every knife, spoon and fork we grabbed was dirty. The second or third fork pulled from the container was the straw that "broke" the camel's back! The fork was "covered" with what appeared to be dry egg yolk and who knows what else.

Asked to speak with the individual in charge of the food area and the chief came out from the kitchen/cooking area. He was shown several filthy utensils and immediately had staff begin pulling the containers holding the knives, forks, spoons, etc.

This nauseating experience was relayed to staff at the front hotel desk. Mind you; this was not one or two pieces of silverware. It was as though nothing had been washed after the last meal.

It was absolutely disgusting. You should never say "never" but, in this case we have made an exception. We would "never" go back to this particular hotel again.

Side Note: The next evening we stayed at the Embassy Suites in San Rafael, CA as our stays there have always been excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear T K;

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at our hotel. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and not taken lightly, I assure you. The situation you described has my direct attention and is completely unacceptable to me as well. Though we have never had a complaint such as this, I will ensure that it never happens again.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback and I sincerely hope that you reconsider our hotel for future travel; we want to make this right.!

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

The room was very nice and kept clean and serviced. There was trouble with the elevator and no body attending the Peet's Coffee bar. The front desk couldn't or wouldn't break a large bill. Breakfast was good. Comp reception bar was bottom shelf.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Dennis N;

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience. I see that you were able to enjoy our complimentary cook to order breakfast and evening reception. Also glad to see that you found your accommodations clean and well serviced. On the rare occasion that we have an elevator issue we contact our vendor immediately; sorry this was an inconvenience during your stay.

Hopefully we will see you again soon. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Clean, comfortable, quiet and a great value with continental breakfast and cocktail hour! The rooms were nice & spacious and come with a little fridge and microwave so you can bring your own food & drinks as well. Central to all the local attractions. We visited Hearst Castle and a couple of winerys & this was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Loreal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Loreal P;

Thank you for commenting on the overall value you experienced during your recent visit. Happy to see that you found your guest room suite clean and spacious. And you are correct, there are so many options for leisure activities in the area, i.e. Hearst Castle and Wineries that you mentioned to name a few.

We look forward to your next visit to the area.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

NOT Honored..Hotel Staff informed me that I would receive poits for my stay.. Original member no. archived and could not be reinstated but was told I would still get the points. Never did. I have the feeling that his point system is Not in the best interest of Hilton Hotels...?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Oscar M;

Thank you for taking the time to post your concerns. I was very disappointed to learn of the challenges that you had with HHonors points properly posting to your account. I would be happy to work with you directly to get this issue resolved. Please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience.

Thanks so much,

Kevin Phipps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My car club, year after year, chooses this particular hotel because of how the staff treats us. No other hotel comes close to this one when it comes to value. This is my destination every year. The complimentary breakfast, happy hour, and room amenities are unparalleled by any other. More importantly, is the hotel staff. Remarkably nice folks there that truly care, and it shows.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Tom O;

As always, thank you for your returned business year after year. It is our pleasure to host your annual car club event and we enjoy your group a great deal. Thank you for your positive comments regarding value, our complimentary cook to order breakfast, our comp evening reception and our great staff. We very much look forward to this year's event.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a comfortable hotel with a good staff. They have an evening cocktail reception,complimentary. The made to order breakfast omelet and buffet is very good. It is a short drive to downtown and many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank michaelcB4209DA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member:

Thank you very much for your kind remarks of your recent stay to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. So glad you took advantage of our complimentary cook to order breakfast, our evening reception and that you found our hotel comfortable for your stay. The location is also a bonus for many guest that stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit, all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Best hotel in the area for the price. Great location as it is sort of in a shopping center with great places to eat and do some shopping. BUT - since it is at the end of the site, there are no mall traffic issues or any noise. Very convenient and easy to get to. The staff was especially friendly and helpful with everything. Transportation to and from trains and airports is also very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Elizabeth M;

Thank you for your recent visit to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. Very happy to see that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, our friendly staff and thank you for recognizing our complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport and train station.

Safe travels and we look forward to your next visit.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
735 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £93 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing