We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paradise, United States
1 review
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Clean, safe, great location, and friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back. I would definitely recommend Embassy Suites to anyone. Located by a variety of restaurants, malls, and main streets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Patricia W;

Very happy that you were able stay at Embassy Suites during your recent visit to San Luis Obispo. Great to see that you found our hotel to be clean, safe and in a great location. We hope your travels bring you back to the area soon.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    366
    215
    96
    56
See reviews for
456
244
39
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is inviting, conveniently located, reasonably priced, and has great service. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast and evening reception is a nice touch, and the open air feeling is very nice. Overall, a great value when visiting the San Luis Obispo area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Pamela E;

Thank you very much for your very kind feedback regarding your recent stay. Looks like you were able to take full advantage of the many amenities the hotel has to offer. We very much look forrward to seeing you on your next visit to SLO.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had trouble finding the hotel, went to the address as per the GPS, and could not find it. Ended up asking at a local restaurant, and it was where the GPS has said it was, but right down the back of a heap of shops, and cannot be seen from the road. It would have been helpful if this had been mentioned by the hotel. Once there, no problems. Room was small, with 2 beds, and a small lounge which was swallowed once we opened the sofa bed, but we were not in the room long, so it was not a real issue. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, and lots of seating. We got there in time for the tail end of afternoon drinks, which were nice. The night market in San Luis Obispo was on the night we were there, and was well worth the trip. We missed the hotel shuttle, but we had a car, so no problem to drive in, and staff were helpful with directions. This was the only hotel from our 4 weeks in the US where internet was not free, so we did not bother with it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Shoeberry;

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. Regarding being a bit hard to find, we have worked extensively with our on-line partners to improve directions to our hotel; it is located at the back end of the shopping center and can be a bit difficult to find if it's the first time at our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed our complimentary cook to order breakfast and our evening reception.

We certainly hope to see you back again soon. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have stayed this hotel quite frequently when I travel to the area on business and it has been on a constant decline. The rooms were very dated with mold in the bathroom (multiple rooms I have stayed in have had this mold/mildew green stuff). I drew the line when on my most recent stay I was rained on during a storm. My room leaked and it continued across the ceiling until it hit my bed. I moved to another room, but that was the last straw. In addition, it has been nearly two months since this stay and the promised points have yet to be credited to my account. The corporate office was finally able to help me out today as the hotel isn't even responding to them. I'm sure I sound bitter and mad because I am. I highly suggest not staying here. The Hampton Inn nearby is very nice, as is the Hilton Garden Inn in Pismo, either of those are leaps and bounds better than this dump. They have informed me they plan a renovation soon, but I don't think they can do anything to win back by business at this point.

Room Tip: Pick the Hampton Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linedpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Linedpaper;

I offer my sincere apologies for what you have experiened and offer no excuses; you have every right to be upset. Your comments regarding mold, the room leak and us not rewarding you the points promised are very concerning to me and certainly unacceptable. Your comments have my direct attention and my immediate follow up.

In order to make this right I ask that you please contact me at the hotel and give me the opportunity to bring a meaningful resolution to your overall concerns. As a team we do take great pride in Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, so please give us another chance to win you back.

Sincerely,

Kevin Phipps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Staff was great. Management had everything planned out before we arrived and our meetings flowed perfectly because of it. The food was great, the chef is remarkable. Our evening reception not only tasted great, it looked even better. The set-up staff gets everything done professionally and on time. They also adapt to changes; and then made it feel like nothing had been changed. Great bunch of folks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Thomas F;

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. So glad that you enjoyed our overall food, our evening reception and that you found our set-up staff helpful. Our team works very hard to adapt and be flexible with all guest needs.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxxxxxxx, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Nice hotel with nice accomodations. I would stay again for business or pleasure. The staff was very friendly and helpful and I was pleased with the amenities and the breakfast. Great place for business!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sharon W;

Thank you for your great comments regarding our staff and the amenities of our hotel. Hope to see you back soon for your next business or leisure trip.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hotel needs to be refresh. It's tired and dated in the rooms. The staff is great and the breakfast is wonderful. Lots of families , so very noisy. The menu need to be updated as well. I got nothing extra as diamond member. wish they had a regular Hilton in the area. Great area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Fernando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Fernando S;

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments regarding our great staff and our complimentary breakfast. I would also like to thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton brand and recognize your Diamond status which is very important to us. Due to our hotel's destination location and configuration we do have many families that stay with us. It can get a bit noisy at times as you mentioned; that being said, my apologies for the noise factor.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we truly hope to see you back for a future visit.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing