We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very loud and lousy air conditioning in rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very loud and lousy air conditioning in rooms.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Make sure they do not put you in a room with french doors opening up over the breakfast area. They do not seal up to keep any of the noise out. The A/C unit did not blow cold in the bedroom but was freezing in the outer room. Asked to move but they told us they would have to charge us extra. So disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Timothy A;

First of all, thank you so much for your recent visit and for your feedback. I was disappointed to learn of your concerns and that we did not effectively resolve them while you were on property. Our goal is complete guest satisfaction and we fell short of meeting your expectations, and ours. We hope you will give another try so we may demonstrate our commitment to excellent customer service.

Wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    386
    232
    109
    66
See reviews for
498
264
39
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is tucked away beside a shopping center. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. I stayed in a room that overlooks the atrium. Not the best room is you want quiet or fresh air. The room was also hot in the evening I could not get the air condition to work properly. Bottom line the room was acceptable for a night. I would not recommend it for a stay that's more than that. I can't speak on the outer rooms, but I think they would be better with fresh air.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Robin L;

We appreciate you taking the time to evaluate our hotel. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, they work very hard to service the needs of our guests. And thank you for the feedback regarding your guest room suite location and room temperature issues - guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we definitely follow up. We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Though the location was hard to find at 1st since it is tucked inside the shopping center, it is pretty convenient to get in and out highway. It is only an exit away from downtown. Overall was a pleasant stay. I would stay at another embassy hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homebody1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Homebody1234;

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have worked with our on-line partners to improve directions to our hotel, so point well taken regarding hotel location. Glad to see that you had a "pleasant" stay and we very much look forward to a future visit when visiting SLO.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is not as elegant as some of the other Embassy Suites in California. I compare it to the one in Orange Co. or Milpitas. The Atrium is Fantastic in both of those cities. However, the Rooms are comparable. The beds are heavenly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Virgil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Virgil R;

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. Glad you found your guest room suite, particularly the beds to your liking. We hope to see you back soon.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I travel for work and this is one of my favorite Hiltons in California. While other hotel food usually ranges from poor to mediocre to good, this hotel truly has some great chefs! I am glad I do not live in SLO because you might find me going to this hotel for dining! LOL

The Pros:
Convenient location in SLO. Next to shopping, restaurants, minutes from the airport and the freeway.
An older but well designed Embassy suites. Natural light bathes the courtyard to give an open and outdoor feeling to the dining area.
Peet's Coffee located inside. Start your morning off with a latte or mocha!
Friendly bar with happy hour (free drinks and chips) nightly!
Large amount of seating for breakfast, lunch, dinner and work on the go.
FANTASTIC dining. I stay here every 6 to 8 weeks and thoroughly enjoy the dinners. They have a some creative dinners options (especially for anyone who is vegetarian!!!!) that range from savory, to spicy to healthy. Their menu changes regularly so you will always have something new and familiar to look forward to. So while I would not place this on par with the greatest restaurants I have eaten, I would definitely place this restaurant in the league of restaurants as opposed to "hotel restaurants."
Did I mention great food?
Fair number of meeting rooms, convenient parking, friendly staff.

Cons,
Perhaps I am biased but I really haven't found any yet. I suppose if you are looking for the newest hotel and latest design, this is an older Hilton and is not at a resort status but if you love SLO, this hotel fits in perfectly.
Being older, you can hear people walking above you. If this issue, you may want to stay on the top floor.

So if you find yourself in the wonderful town of SLO, this is a great place to stay. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: This is a somewhat large hotel. If you do not like walking, ask for a room close to the courtyard. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMadScalpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear TheMadScalpel;

Wow, sounds like you've truly enjoyed the various dining options available at our hotel. I would have to agree, we have great Chefs that work very hard to satisfy all pallets. We also appreciate the other positive comments about our hotel and definitley look foward to serving you in the future.

Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel was clean and staff friendly. The pool was nice and fitness center had nice equitment. The breakfast was good and was nice to have free cocktails in the evenings. It was a good location and very quiet. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Kim K;

Thank you for the great comments regarding our friendly staff and clean accommodations. Alos nice to see that you took advantage of our fitness center and pool areas. We truly hope to see you back soon.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times and continue to enjoy great service at a reasonable price. Staff is very helpful. The rooms are clean and quiet and reception and breakfast buffet are outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Wow, great feedback on all fronts: great service, helpful staff, clean hotel and great breakfast. Thank you very much for this feedback which will be shared with our team. And thank you for your multiple visits to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
718 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,400 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing