We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable beds, great breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds, great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

While you can easily see it from the freeway, it's a little difficult to find off the street. Locating this little gem is worth it! The beds were super comfortable, the free breakfast included made to order omelets! They've got a great pool for kids and a nice workout rom.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are a little noisy in the living area, but you can't hear any noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Tricyko;

We are so glad you found our "little gem." It was great to see that you found our beds comfortable and that you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast. We hope you are able to visit again soon.

Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    364
    215
    96
    56
See reviews for
456
242
39
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel since we are familiar with Embassy. It was a nice hotel, a little hard to find. About a 10 minute drive to Avila Beach and also from downtown SLO. My one complaint is that embassy suites is known to be a family friendly hotel. They did not have the Disney channel, I had to pay 8.99 per day so my toddlers could watch something on tv. No, toon network isn't appropriate for small kids. Over all this hotel was good.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princesscel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear princesscel;

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. You are absolutely correct, our hotel is centrally located to many great local attractions. We will check into the Disney channel option, thanks for bringing to our attention.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We love other Embassy Suites' focus on family, and have taken our grandchildren on many a trip using ES. However this particular accommodation failed our need for a disabled suite. Showering was a disaster and we had to be moved to a regular suite. We had to buy a toilet riser to be able to use the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank violas723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear violas723;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay. I am truly sorry that we did not properly accomodate your needs during your stay. It is my sincere hope that we can re-gain your trust and bring you back for a future visit. I ask that you contact me directly and I would be happy to personally coordinate your next reservation.

I wish you all the best!

Kevin Phipps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

You will be impressed by this Embassy Suites as soon as you walk in the front doors. They have a full size atrium for their complimentary evening reception and full cook-to-order breakfast which will leave you feeling relaxed and not having to compete for space or food! The staff at the reception desk and in the food service area were excellent and displayed attention and care in a friendly manner. The rooms (suites actually) were very comfortable with plenty of room for families or just extra space for watching TV in a living room setting, or bedroom if you prefer!

We were there for a weekend wedding, and it seems that there were other wedding guests (for other weddings) there as well and maybe some family reunions. It really was a joyful gathering in the morning as families sat together and didn't rush off.

All in all, this was one of our most pleasant stays! Give Embassy Suites a look if you need a base-camp in the San Luis Obispo area.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor if you have kids. Ask for a higher floor if you don't! Some rooms don...
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem to follow the usual environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear William H;

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We are so glad to see that you enjoyed the many amenities our hotel has to offer. We hope to be your "base camp" for your next visit to San Luis Obispo.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in a king suite. It was nice to have separate rooms to sleep in or watch tv. Our front door opened to the atrium/main seating area. And even though it was not on the 1st floor, it was pretty loud in our "living room" area on the Friday and Saturday night we stayed. During the week, it was fine. A plus though is you couldn't hear the noise in the bedroom. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the breakfast was awesome, and the evening guest reception was a very nice touch!! The atrium seating area was a nice place to hang out and chat or meet up. Convenient to shopping and not far from a couple different beaches. We will be staying here when we go back to SLO.

Room Tip: If staying over a weekend and you want quiet, request a room away from the atrium/seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buggirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear buggirl101;

Thank you for selecting Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo for your recent visit to the area. Looks like you truly enjoyed all the amenities the hotel has to offer and that you enjoyed the hotel's prime location. We look forward to your next visit and wish you safe travels in the interim.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

When we opened the door it was like someone blowing smoke in our faces. The room was filthy and decided not to stay. Went to a hotel in Avila Beach and stayed at a WAY nicer hotel, better location (ocean view vs. shopping mall) at a similar price. It was outrageous what Embassy Suites were charging for that room. It needed to be gutted and remodeled.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank dougz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear dougz75;

Needless to say I was very disappointed to read your comments regarding your guest room suite experience. Our team takes such great pride in maintaining the property at a high level; I assure you that your comments will be followed up on and shared with our housekeeping team.

I wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hidden behind strip malls and fast food places, next to a larger mall, it took us a couple of passes before figuring out where the hotel was. Could use better signage. An architecture abit different from other Embassy Suites (suggests bought an existing building), but all in all a good value for a family of 5 and a good stop on the way up Route 1 and the Pacific Coast Highway. Convenient then from LA and for getting to San Francisco. Count 3 hours to SF, more if you go through Big Sur.

You'll appreciate the free parking (many places in CA only offer valet parking, which is a poor deal for all travelers), there are several fast food and other restaurants nearby within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear David M;

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. Very glad to see that you found our hotel to be a great overall value and that our location was ideal for your trip. We certainly hope to have you back again soon when traveling through the area.

Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing