We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Accomodations”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wedding Accomodations”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We were able to make a group reservation at a reasonable price for the location and season that we held our wedding. Our wedding was the Mission San Luis Obispo and needed to host guests from Southern and Northern California. Cal Poly was having their graduation the same weekend so rates were ridiculous and the hotels were completely booked. The Rose Garden accommodated all of our guests. I, the bride, also stayed there. The rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnrwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachfrontinAvila, Public Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
We are so happy that you stayed at the Rose Garden Inn. We are happy to accommodate larger parties, and especially wedding parties. We hope you return to the Rose Garden on your next trip to the Central Coast. Congratulations on your wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    112
    74
    48
    44
See reviews for
136
104
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

From the mildew-y smelling hallway, to the dirty women's restroom smelling stairwell and then the 30 years of cigarette smoke embedded in the walls & flooring of the actual room, I didn't think it could get any worse. But then the room was dark, the lock on the sliding glass door did not seem to work, there were stains on the bathroom mirror, the carpet, the lampshades and worst of all, the accent chair. This chair was totally to be soiled.
Needless to say, I didn't want to touch ANYTHING in this room and the smell made it impossible to stay the night. Then I was told that could not get a refund and there was no manager on duty and the ONLY time to reach them was at 7 AM on a Monday morning. Well, the manager was not available that morning at that time and I will never, ever stay at this motel or recommend it to anyone else. Save your money and stay at another motel. This one is only good for inspiration for a cheesy, road-trip, horror movie.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sconner2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachfrontinAvila, Public Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
We are sorry that you did not experience a pleasant stay at the Rose Garden Inn. The hotel is entirely non-smoking so we are sorry you ran into a smoking problem. We also have a maintenance staff on the property, all day, everyday. If your sliding glass door did not lock, the maintenance could have fixed this for you, or the front desk staff could have placed you in a different room. As far as granting you a refund, the manager does have to approve this, and on occasion, he is not available on the weekends. But he is always available during the week; he provides the absolute best service, and upholds the quality of customer service the hotel provides. He has a personal answering machine if for some reason you can not get a hold of him, and he will promptly return your call, and in this case, issue a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Reading reviews that complain about things like moldy smells always amuses me. This place sure had a moldy smell in the hallway, which was actually in process of being repainted, but so what? It reminded me of my grandmother's lake cottage.
Here are the big pluses: the roses are lovely, the pool is clean, heated and mostly empty, the cleaning staff is commendably honest (my teenagers left our room wih Ipods, laptops and cash in plain sight and everything was there to the penny when we returned!) and here is a very odd bonus: the hotel serves free DINNER (not breakfast) Sunday thru Thurs.
One minus: the hotel is actually in a suburb of SLO, not real close to town, so we did more driving back and forth than I'd anticipated.
But, all in all, a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I travel to San Luis Obispo at least every other month for business and I first stayed at the Rose Garden Inn because it was so reasonably priced. I have been back again and booked another stay for August because it is such a great deal! If you are looking for fancy this isn't the place for you. BUT if you are looking for a clean, comfortable room for a very good price then by all means check out the Rose Garden Inn. There are refrigerators and microwave ovens in the rooms and it's very charming. I

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruinGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We were met at receiption by a person who just could not be bothered with us or her job. After we checked in we were not happy with the room and ask if we could change to a first floor room but apparently their were none available, if we wanted a room facing in towards the pool we had to pay extra because these had twin beds not double beds.( never heard of that before) When my wife said she was not happy the receiptionist told us we could go somewhere else, like a Motel 6 just down the road, she also told us we had half an hour to decided and she would not charge us. Because we did not know the area we decided to stay but that is the only reason.The room was of an ample size but tatty, the whole place needed renovating and cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royandavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachfrontinAvila, Public Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment about the Rose Garden Inn. We value all of our customers', past and present, input. There are price differences between our different room types, but we do not offer twin beds; only doubles, queens, or king beds. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope your experience did not fully deter you away from our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Great night's sleep in a quiet hotel. They even have BBQ. My husband and I gave up on another cheap hotel nearby because of the noise (I'm a light sleeper), but Rose Garden has always been quiet. We go to SLO once a month, so it's important to get a clean, quiet room that is reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Room and bathroom were both large and clean. Bed was comfortable with clean sheets and blankets. Amenities included referigerator, microwave, plasma television. Enjoyed our stay very much and the dinner that was provided on Thursday night was excellent -- tri tip. Service personnel were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again and recommend hotel to friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna_brittenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.7 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing