We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Drove in for a Saturday night stay for some wine tasting, found a Google+ coupon (it's now expired) so booked a room here based on the nice looking pool area. Check-in was easy, and though the front desk had never seen the coupon before, it was honored. The room was large, quiet and clean, but the bed sagged so I got so-so sleep. Easy access location off the 101, and if you're into good diner food, walk around the corner to Margie's Diner.

Oh, we weren't able to use the pool; got in too late in the afternoon, and the next morning the grey crud returned (fog).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNatural000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Rose Garden Inn. We really appreciate your help in making our guests more comfortable. We are in the middle of a remodel. Beds that have not been changed out yet, will be removed during the remodel and replaced with the new beds. Some rooms are already complete and the others will be shortly. We hope this will be complete before July of this year or shortly after. Thank you once again for staying with the Rose Garden Inn.
Sincerely
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed one night and traveled back and forth between Cal Poly and the beach. Great location! There was a minor glich in room keys being coded wrong, but that was quickly fixed. I loved the hangers being removable (like to hang things in the shower). The young lady who checked us out was wonderful. She found plastic utensils for us, so that my kids could eat their lunch! The volcano was a huge hit, and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drivingthekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

We would like to thank you for your review of the Rose Garden Inn. We truly believe that this review will be helpful to others when traveling with children and visiting the beach and Cal Poly area. Please come back and visit us soon.
Thanks again,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Rooms are clean, bed is comfortable, staff is very friendly and accommodating and the price was inexpensive. What more could you ask for in a roadside motel? A beautiful spa area! The hot tub is large with a pretty rock waterfall. Made for a nice surprise to this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debnbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Wow, what a nice review! This is exactly what we are striving for. We truly appreciate you taking the time, out of your busy day, to mention us. Please come back and see us again. We love to make our customers happy!
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night and needed an accessible room. Our room had recently been remodeled and was clean as well as comfortable. The night clerk was very helpful and made us feel welcome. We had a few issues such as the roll-in shower didn't drain properly (flooded the floor) and there was no hairdryer or coffee pot. Evidently we were the first to use the room since the remodel. Upon leaving in the morning, the Manager was very nice and apologized for our inconvenience. The price was right for us and it is a very convenient place to stay when traveling the 101 freeway. We would definitely stay there again mostly because of the way we were treated. I'm sure that the problems we had have been resolved because of the care the Manager took to make things right.

Room Tip: We appreciated the offer to preview the room upon check in to be sure it met our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetocamp90808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

I want to sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your night stay with us at the Rose Garden Inn. Reviews, such as yours, help us improve at every level. The shower you mentioned is known for it's flooding because of the way it is made, so your review will help us respond to the company, and come up with a solution to fix this problem. We have attended to the other issues of missing items in your room and are happy to say that the room is complete, and ready for your next visit. Your kind words about our staff were truly appreciated. We hope to see you again in the very near future!
Best Regards,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Room was very clean and spacious ,the staff was very friendly and helpful on dining options. I could not wait to use the hot tub after a long day behind the wheel. I slept like a baby on our king size bed which was so comfortable.. The room had everything you would need, my wife forgot her hair dryer, the room had it, my clothes needed ironing after being crushed in a suitcase, the room had it, we had leftovers from dinner which we reheated and kept in the mini-fridge. the room had it, The Rose Garden Inn will always be in our plans along the Coast, our favorite place to vacation, Hearst Castle, Cambria, Morro Bay, SLO, Pismo"s five cities, Solvang, Santa Inez Valley, Santa Barbara all the way down to the Pacific Coast Highway and Santa Monica.

Room Tip: Every room has a Rose Garden View, Second floor rooms have a balcony, Eastside rooms view the Pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertk326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Robert,
I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about our hotel. The staff and management works very hard to make our guests happy, and I can't tell you how much it means to us to know we have succeeded. We hope you have a chance to come visit us again, in San Luis Obispo, and we hope you will have another wonderful vacation on the Central Coast of California.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Only downside to this place was there was no elevator and we were on the second floor. No big deal but when you have 4 people, that can be a lot of luggage to lug up and down the stairs. Rom was comfortable and it was facing the pool. Was so cool! The Jacuzzi had a waterfall and it was roomy enough for like 20 people. Was great. Front staff were very friendly and Margie's restaurant's food was really good. Bed was comfy. Nothing negative to say about this place. Would definitely stay there again! The hotel is a little confusing to get to. You don't see the "Rose Garden Inn" sign until after you turn the corner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Located right off of 101, this is easy to get to from the freeway. It doesn't look like much at all from the outside, especially given that it's surrounded by much newer, nicer looking hotels, but it's fine. If I paid more, I would feel ripped off, but for the price it was serviceable. Our room was on the second floor, so no room opening onto a patio for us (there was a very small balcony). Overall clean - not spotless, but clean. I was told our room was one of the "remodeled" rooms. Decor was nice, nice flatscreen tv. Cable was fuzzy. Bathroom was strange - it looked like maybe new tile was put in the shower, but the tub and fixtures were CLEARLY old. The sink faucet was gross - nothing a little CLR wouldn't fix but I really wished I had some Lysol. Shower fixtures - again, a little CLR or cleaner would go a long way. Bed was comfy enough, and it was quiet at night. Early in the a.m. we clearly heard the freeway traffic (windows are single paned - condensation inside too) but when you stay by the freeway, noise is expected! Front desk staff was very friendly. Planned renovations poster in the lobby look promising! Bottom line, would I stay again? Yes, if looking for a budget hotel! Never saw the pool/hot tub area but pictures look nice!

Room Tip: Would request one further away from the freeway if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
907 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#9 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,460 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £47 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing