We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Helpful Staff”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were originally going to spend just one night here - but the hotel was so nice and the staff at the front desk (Daniel and Mary) were so friendly and helpful, we decided to stay an additional 2 days. We received excellent suggestions on where to spend some time - sites not always found in the brochures. Situated right next to an extraordinary diner (Maggie's Diner), the hotel was a real find. The rooms were clean, nice big screen TV, and quiet - just what we were looking for. We made the hotel our HQ as we explored up and down the California coast. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for Daniel or Mary - they will take care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Rose Garden Inn. We are so happy you had a nice stay with us and look forward to another visit. Since there is so much to do on the Central Coast, we are hoping you come back soon so we can send you to even more of the sites in the area.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here overnight on the way to the Hearst Castle. The room was quiet even though the hotel is next to the 101 and the bed was super comfy. The room was quite large and bathroom had shower over bath. Loads of hot water for the bath, but couldn't get any out of the bathroom basin hot water tap! Daniel on the desk was very helpful and told us that we were in town for the weekly night Farmer's Market. The town was bustling with the main street closed off and loads of bbq and food stalls. Loads of good eating places in town, plus book stores! (Phoenix second-hand bookstore has two floors of books!) Had breakfast early next morning at Margie's Diner, good American diner experiene!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpotAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are well known for being the perfect stop when heading to Hearst Castle because of our freeway convenience and our friendly staff. We truly appreciate the nice words and hope you come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Ibarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were traveling thru for the evening and needed a place to unwind a few hours and then hit the hay. It had what we needed. Comfy beds, clean and quiet. We chose this hotel while driving in the car on my app and it caught my eye because of the huge spa/hot tub with a waterfall and a huge pool. When you have a 9 and 11 year old, that is important. It was a little to cold that evening to swim but the GIANT hot tub felt GREAT! Our room was just a few steps from there and had a big sliding glass door with two chairs and small table so we could enjoy a cocktail on the porch. We also have two small dogs and they are pet friendly and only charge $10.00 for a pet...perfect. The rate was also reasonable. Perfect place for our needs. They don't have a free breakfast but Margies diner is next door and breakfast was great...you definitely get what you pay for and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladydarbeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late July. Arriving late we got a room at the back of the hotel. Looks like they are updating their rooms in the front. Our room smelled of cigarette smoke and it felt dirty. Not to mention the musty smell. We asked for another room that smelled a little better but it still felt old and could have used some updates. Their were holes in some of the walls and things that needed to be repaired. The bedspreads looked and smelled dirty and there was even a cigarette hole in one of them. We wished we had spent a little more money for a far more superior hotel. The only thing the hotel has going for it is the grounds. The hotel isn't near the freeway and I just didn't like the location. Stay somewhere else. The service wasn't that great. You might save some money but it isn't worth it if you are looking for comfort & cleanliness. I would have been better off at a Motel 6. I will never stay at this hotel again!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmerlgreco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My Wife and I stay here a lot to visit our Son who teaches school in SLO. Everything you need and very nice rooms plus a pool and huge spa. The staff is always ready to help and give tips about SLO. We will keep staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Call ahead, for a room this hotel fills up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I, along with adult daughter and teen age granddaughter stayed for a day and an evening at the Rose Garden. The desk attendants were courteous and never gave us any trouble. The two rooms were clean and comfortable, but small. Included in each room was a small refrigerator and a microwave, along with the usual TV (CRT type), DVD player, desk and chairs. The beds were comfortable enough that my wife did not unroll her foam mattress pad as she usually does. So far so good, why 4 stars instead of 5?

The bathroom was smaller than average, so small that the plumber had to slightly angle the toiler away from the tub, still ok, but you'd only want one person in there at a time. And when I wanted to use the internet, I found it was down. The desk suggested that I bring my laptop to their office because the reception there is sometimes better. But even when I did so, I couldn't get a webpage to load, and I wanted to watch a sporting event that was being streamed. I couldn't get even email to download. Latter in the day, to be honest, I was able to get average Wi-Fi in my room with no problem, but when I really wanted it, it was not available. The desk person at the time told me that she had a "man" working on the router. Apparently, she did have that man, but he didn't fix the problem until later. As I type this, download speeds approach 1.2 Mbps while upload speeds are faster, almost 3 Mbps.

We did have a problem in the bathroom with a clogged toilet, but the desk sent a man immediately to take care of the problem.

So, two complaints, the small bathroom ( don't let that stop you from staying here) and the internet (apparently they have problems with that frequently or the "bring your laptop to the office" suggestion would have probably not been made. So, if you need the Wi-Fi, IF YOU REALLY NEED TO HAVE RELIABLE WI-FI, find another hotel. but this one is fine for most travelers.

Room Tip: The back is probably quieter. The Hotel is just off the Highway with lots of traffic 24 hours a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I was there for four nights on business, Monday - Friday, and it was a really nice and clean room. The beds are super comfy and there was a nice fridge and microwave. The T.V. was also nice. That's where it ended. There are things that really do need improvement in this hotel. I stayed in the back on the top floor. There are only stairs, no elevator so if that is a problem make sure to get a 1st floor room. Second, there was no clock in the room. I had to use my phone as my alarm clock. Third, the bathroom leaves a lot to be desired. The shower head is at least 20 yrs old and rusted. I had to ask for a bathtub stopper so I could take a bath cause the shower head was a joke. The bathroom sink was really outdated also and barely had water flow. The toilet seat was really flimsy and could use an upgrade also. The towels were then and really scratchy, either they need some fabric softener in their wash or just plain better quality of towels. The headboards are not attached to the bed and are loose on the wall so every time someone gets in and out of the bed the mattress hits the headboard and it bangs the wall. My bed was on the same wall as my neighbor's bed and was awaken many times by the headboard banging up against the wall. Oh and there also was no iron and ironing board in the rooms either. And for some reason the A/C is right on one of the beds in the double bed room. So make sure you have an extremely hot person with you to sleep in that bed or else they will freeze from the a/c being on all night or you will wake up sweating from it being off all night.

All of the rooms have a balcony. There is a little cafe right next door that's open 6:30am - 9pm. They also Mon - Thur have a dinner that is served for their contractors but guests can get tickets from the front desk to have a plate. The food is really good. Also there is a BEAUTIFUL pool and spa jacuzzi with a waterfall. I loved being in the jacuzzi and it was never crowed. That alone made it all worth the stay.

Overall it really was a nice stay and I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
737 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
278 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £49 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing