We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great secret of San Luis Obispo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Avila Beach, California
1 review
“Great secret of San Luis Obispo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at the Rose Garden Inn first in May of 2013, when I was vacationing and checking out the area for a possible move to SLO. What a great family-style hotel this is. The rooms were clean, well decorated and the staff was so accommodating and helpful. I later returned in August when I made a move to San Luis Obispo. I was able to stay more than a week with my pet, until I found a place to live. Once again the staff was so amazing in assisting me during this time, Daniel, the General Manager is the best, as was Mary, one the front desk people, who was helpful is guiding me to good places to look for a home and place to live.

I would highly recommend the Rose Garden Inn for one night or 10 nights, it is like a home away from home and you feel like you are part of a family there.

Sandra Napua

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for the front rooms as they have been recently decorated and are very nicely done...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    111
    74
    48
    44
See reviews for
136
103
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

A friend and I were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the Rose Garden Inn when we drove down to L.A. to visit a mutual friend. The bathroom and bedroom were very clean; the 2 doublebeds were comfortable; the staff friendly and helpful. My friend swam in the pool/hot tub and commented positively on it. Despite being next to the highway, it was very quiet.

Having driven a hybrid electric car, I wish the Inn offered plug-in access. The hallway carpet was old and unattractive, but overall, it was a good find and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the pool. There was no view to speak of, though, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I wasn't thrilled with this hotel. When we arrived there was no one there to check us in and we had to wait 20 minutes before they showed up. They were rude and totally unapologetic for their absence. Rooms were okay but nothing special. We had a handicapped room and it was odd. It was very nice having the diner next door. Overall it was an okay but definitely not great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel I, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
I sincerely apologize that you had to wait for your room during your November stay. There is just simply no excuse for that, so we will not give one. We are very well known for our friendly staff, which keeps people coming to our hotel time and time again. If you would, please email us at rgislo1@gmail.com. We would like to know the time and date you checked in. Your review will truly help us be sure we get good reviews in the future. Thank you so much for taking the time.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Clearly an older property, but updated decently. Close to I-101 exit so very convenient, highway noise not noticeable (from our ground floor room). Diner restaurant (Margie's Diner) adjacent to property (next door to front office), but we didn't try. Also very close to grocery and other retail. Room was clean with basic conveniences for this category (small fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board); TV just OK (25-inch, non-flat screen, with basic cable channels). Sliding glass door access to parking lot was convenient, but otherwise not that useful (no patio or sitting area). Pool on property inside surrounded interior area seems nice (with faux rock waterfall!) but we didn't try. Dog-friendly -- dog rules given at check-in stated 35 lb maximum, but wasn't mentioned (or I didn't notice) on website or booking.com when I booked (but I added specific note mentioning that we'd be arriving with 65-lb dog); exception given by friendly manager

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were originally going to spend just one night here - but the hotel was so nice and the staff at the front desk (Daniel and Mary) were so friendly and helpful, we decided to stay an additional 2 days. We received excellent suggestions on where to spend some time - sites not always found in the brochures. Situated right next to an extraordinary diner (Maggie's Diner), the hotel was a real find. The rooms were clean, nice big screen TV, and quiet - just what we were looking for. We made the hotel our HQ as we explored up and down the California coast. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for Daniel or Mary - they will take care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Rose Garden Inn. We are so happy you had a nice stay with us and look forward to another visit. Since there is so much to do on the Central Coast, we are hoping you come back soon so we can send you to even more of the sites in the area.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here overnight on the way to the Hearst Castle. The room was quiet even though the hotel is next to the 101 and the bed was super comfy. The room was quite large and bathroom had shower over bath. Loads of hot water for the bath, but couldn't get any out of the bathroom basin hot water tap! Daniel on the desk was very helpful and told us that we were in town for the weekly night Farmer's Market. The town was bustling with the main street closed off and loads of bbq and food stalls. Loads of good eating places in town, plus book stores! (Phoenix second-hand bookstore has two floors of books!) Had breakfast early next morning at Margie's Diner, good American diner experiene!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpotAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are well known for being the perfect stop when heading to Hearst Castle because of our freeway convenience and our friendly staff. We truly appreciate the nice words and hope you come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Ibarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were traveling thru for the evening and needed a place to unwind a few hours and then hit the hay. It had what we needed. Comfy beds, clean and quiet. We chose this hotel while driving in the car on my app and it caught my eye because of the huge spa/hot tub with a waterfall and a huge pool. When you have a 9 and 11 year old, that is important. It was a little to cold that evening to swim but the GIANT hot tub felt GREAT! Our room was just a few steps from there and had a big sliding glass door with two chairs and small table so we could enjoy a cocktail on the porch. We also have two small dogs and they are pet friendly and only charge $10.00 for a pet...perfect. The rate was also reasonable. Perfect place for our needs. They don't have a free breakfast but Margies diner is next door and breakfast was great...you definitely get what you pay for and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladydarbeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.7 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing