We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Diego, California
1 review
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my family about 10 years ago, give or take and my memories of it are far from what it is today. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it has had some updates, mainly the carpet, furniture, and most importantly mattress! The mattress was very comfortable, and the pillows were the best I have slept on in a long time.

The pool has been updated as well, and there is now a large jacuzzi with a volcano/waterfall. It is very pretty, and so relaxing. I felt like I was on a vacation!

All of the staff was very friendly, and the rooms were clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    111
    74
    48
    44
See reviews for
136
103
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Perfect little place to make your stay in San Luis Obispo perfect. Staff were more than friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Easy access to the city and even easier to the beach (Avila). Very good value for the money. If we go back, the Rose Garden Inn will be our stopping place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked the Rose Garden Inn based on its website description and Trip Advisor reviews. We crossed our fingers, hoping our overnight stay would be acceptable.

We were pleased that our stay turned out to offer not only value, but a clean, well-equipped room with access to a huge, empty hot tub. The Inn even provided towels to be used for the clean and well maintained pool/spa. The Rose Garden Inn was just what we needed after a day on the train and a rainy afternoon spent in and around SLO.

Lulu at the Front Desk greeted us with a welcoming smile (she had also helped us book our reservation via telephone earlier in the week, offering a 10% AAA discount). We were initially given Room 116, however due to a nearby cookout for contractors staying at the Inn, we requested to be moved and were quickly accommodated to Room 106. Our room was a Premier King-Size room and it was equipped with everything higher-priced hotels offer (sizable refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker w/coffee and tea, blow dryer, plenty of outlets, great wi-fi, thick cotton towels, and more).

The Rose Garden Inn met all of our needs and I recommend it to those needing a place to stay in and around SLO.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_Gunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

An oasis in a truck stop, a beautiful spa and courtyard make you feel like you are a million miles away from the freeway but you are right there.

Friendly, accommodating and pleasant...I would return in a heartbeat. Plus when I pushed the wrong button on the vending machine and got flaming Cheetos the manager took them off my hands and gave me change out of his own pocket so I could get a granola bar.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
323 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Went with friends to San Luis Obispo, Ca For sight seeing and winery visits so much fun Stayed at Rose inn. Very clean and the pool and jacuzzi was fabulous. Close to downtown and wineries, and beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soquel, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My mother and i traveled to San Luis Obispo for the sad occasion of her bother's funeral. We stayed at the Rose Garden Inn and really found it quite pleasant! While the hotel itself is probably quite old, they've done well to upgrade things. Our downstairs rooms had full sliding glass doors that stepped directly out onto a pretty grassy lawn area and led to the pool nearby. The room was very comfortable and contained all the things you'd like to have like small frig, microwave, coffee pot, hair dryer, etc.

What I'd like to comment on particularly is how very wonderful the manager and staff were! They could not have been more friendly and pleasant and helped us find our way around town, recommended restaurants and showed a genuine and sincere interest in making our stay as nice as possible.m

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms have the double slider that opens directly onto the grassy lawn are. Nice! Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Hotel has been a great, easy access location to stay in, in the past. Daniel (manager) and staff have been extremely accommodating and so nice...making sure I had everything I needed, and always have such great recommendations for anything I've wanted to do in the area (site seeing, dinner spots, best wine tasting, etc). Location couldn't be better.. centrally located in the middle of everything (quick 10 minute drive to Pismo, Shell Beach, Avila Beach, Morro Bay, Cal Poly, etc). I stayed here last year with all these feelings about property, but forgot to write a great review of my experience..sorry :) Since my last stay, they've upgraded many of the rooms, and sounds like they are doing many upgrades to the rest of property by March 2014...absolutely LOVE all the new furniture in these rooms, amazing how nice they are! Can't wait for my next stay when I return to the area in another month. Thank you again for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.7 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing