We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Come for the kitsch, stay for the service!”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Amazing! Come for the kitsch, stay for the service!”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I booked a room at the Madonna Inn for one night while on a road trip for a friend because I thought it would be good for a laugh. But it turns out this hotel offers impeccable service as well as a delicious steakhouse, amazing pool with a gorgeous view, reasonably priced bottles of wine to enjoy in the hot tub, and comfortable rooms with amazing decor. We wanted to cancel other plans and stay for longer, but there was no availability the following night. In less than 24 hours we made use of the bar, formal dining room, cafe (great breakfast), the pool, hot tub, and the view from the grounds. I can't wait to come back with my husband for a longer trip, stay in other rooms, and do the spa next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    518
    215
    82
    64
See reviews for
443
748
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Madonna Inn is not a 5 star classy hotel. It is a definite destination for those who love a little fantasy in life, and fun galore. We (couple) stayed one night after attending a very romantic wedding at the hotel. The food was EXCELLENT, I had the prime rib. Drinks were stiff enough to loosen up the most uptight of the wedding guests. This place is like Disneyland for adults, yet appropriate for the entire family. A little bit tawdry, a whole lot of FUN. We stayed in the Misty Rock room (#191). The rock shower was amazing, but the subterranean setting was a bit musty. Will definitely go back, and explore different rooms on future trips through the central coast.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on the website first to see what is most to your liking. There is a fantasy boud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachXtreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Every room here is a step into another realm. Hotel staff was very pleasant , even when I asked to change rooms late at night. I was in the Pioneer Room which has an antigue gun hanging on the wall... just a bit much for a sensitive vegetarian , LOL The only complaint for the room(s) is a musty smell. The pool and views are wonderful. My waitress in the restraint was snotty, but the wonderful food made up for her.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPPY013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is like Disneyland for cracked out knitting grandmothers. Beyond gaudy to gaudy chic... every room lends itself to a different time, place, lifestyle, thought process, world, and almost makes you joyously throw up in your mouth just a teensy bit. Theatrics aside, there are nothing but theatrics in this cutesy throwback property that will remind you of grinning divas in bustiers. Don't be surprised if you see John Waters.... I think he would like it here. We had a wondrous NYE event here.... shocked we weren't escorted off the property. =)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlineConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

If you're coming here for a laugh - and I can't see how you wouldn't be - then it's an expensive one.

The rooms are unique - but very strange and tacky in the extreme. It's funny, and one-night humour makes it a good reason to go get the pictures.

We had the fleur de lys room which was a bit smelly, but spacious and entertaining. Winding white railings with hearts cut out lead you upstairs. Pink is nearly everywhere - wallpaper, carpet, breakfast menu, tablecloths and even the sugar is dyed pink.

Breakfast quickly became less of a joke as the eggs benedictine appeared with a gammon steak in there in the space of ham - and potatoes/muffin/eggs come soaked and dripping in oil and all kinds of lethal animal fat. Really inedible to the point of nuclear.

Fun to see, alright to stay and happy to leave. The whole thing was vastly overpriced, however, considering what is on offer for that price in California.

Nice people, though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonNsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We were recommended this place by SO many of our friends.
So we stayed for one night on our road trip down the PCH.

We didnt book in advance, and got a room called Misty Rock.

Room - clean and comfortable, interior like a cave!
Bathroom - great rock waterfall shower!

Go and have a cocktail in the Silver Bar, and enjoy the complete randomness!

I probably wouldn't stay here for more than one night, and if I could do it again I would book in advance and select the room I wanted. But fab experience and would recommend to others!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkismart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Bored of US hotel chains ? This is the perfect antidote - completely OTT.

We stayed in the Oriental Fantasy room. This is one of the "standard" rooms (ie not one of the more famous rock rooms), but the attention to detail was incredible. It is also clear this is true across the board, every part of this place is unique. It is on the pricey side for a US motel, but well worth it for the experience.

Couple of points -

1. It is right on the freeway, so ideal for those travelling Highway 1, but there is some traffic noise as most rooms have no lobby area to insulate.

2. It is a 5 minute drive (would be difficult to walk though) into SLO. Well worth a look around, particularly on a Thursday evening for the Farmers Market.

Room Tip: Try and get a rock room for the complete experience, but any room is a great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farnham_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,379 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing