We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick Business Trip”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

See review under Room suggestions. The rooms where dated and needed remodeling. The price was reasonable for the rooms. The food was good. You get traffic noise being close to the freeway.

Room Tip: The Hotel is near the 101 freeway you can hear it from outside the room but not to much in the room...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madonna_Management, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our conference rooms are some of the nicest in San Luis Obispo, and we are pleased that you were able to experiance our facilites. The Madonna Inn was opened in December 1958, and while all rooms were newly renovated in 2008, we strive to keep that "retro" feel, that many of our guests adore. Our pool, spa and fitness center were opened in 2008 as well, and we are ecstatic that you were able to enjoy those amenities while you were on your buisness trip. The world famous Men's bathroom has been featured on The Travel Channel and was voted #3 top bathroom in the world and is something not to be missed. We are sorry to hear that you will not be returning, but we hope that your memories of The Madonna Inn will follow you and bring you joy. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,656)
There are newer reviews for Madonna Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

Here's the thing: If you want the Four Seasons, go to the Four Seasons, if you want a good time, go to Madonna Inn. Quirky rooms, delightful staff and Great dining and dancing make this place one of my family's favorites. We took my parents there last weekend and we all danced the night away. They also have a fabulous pool, hot tubs and a spa - which I personally have not used, but it looks very nice. Kids liked The Mill Room, I sort of think the Merry Go Round was pretty hilarious. You will have to decide for yourself what room befits your personality or event but the front desk people are very helpful....and patient when you're trying to decide. Girls Week End? Go. Christmas gift to the folks? Go. Family weekend escape? Go! Honeymoon?? GO! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go online and view their room grid for photos and details.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madonna_Management, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay at the Madonna Inn Resort & Spa. It is always nice to hear about the great times and experiences our guests have at the property. We hope you are able to utilize the pool and/or jacuzzi's, or treat yourselves to a relaxing Spa visit during your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Two couples, two rooms, too much fun!! Everything was great! Dinner portions could have been smaller or at least smaller offerings should be on menu but place generates happiness....(free wifi would have been really nice). Everyone should have this experience!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsymelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madonna_Management, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you for the kind words and great feedback. Please know that your comments and suggestions have been forwarded to the appropriate members of our Management Team for review. We pride ourselves on providing each and every guest with a unique and enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I loved everything about this place EXCEPT the price.
Stayed in the Old World Suite for one night recently.
The room is awesome!!
Rock floors, rock walls, rock bathroom, rock shower, rock fireplace.
Love the waterfall shower and waterfall sink.
This particular room is very large with a couch in front of the fireplace and a dining room table and two bathroom sink areas.

Besides all the rock, everything else is painted red... including the red velvet bedspread. Totally cool.
and the room was SPOTLESS.

The pool area is great too. Nice huge pool and a couple spas.
Nice view from up there too plus a pool bar.

If only the price wasn't so high ($300 a night) and they told us all the prices are going up at the start of 2012 too! Yikes!

Fun and funky! We had a great time here!
Recommend the Old World Suite for sure!

Room Tip: The Old World Suite is awesome... Rock Waterfall shower and waterfall sink. NO PETS ALLOWED so leav...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcoastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed here for one night. We had the “roses and something” room. It was huge but it lacked any type of layout. A big sofa in one corner…and another sofa up against the wall. The bed was fine and (from what I’ve read…no bed bugs)
We went to the restaurant that night and had a nice meal..nothing fancy but the quirky restaurant was just fun to sit in.
Breakfast was a different story. When I ask for toast I expect to put the butter on myself AND NOT HAVE PRE MELTED BUTTER PUT ON WITH A BRUSH BEFORE I RECEIVE IT!!!!!
The bathroom was like a grotto but was clean and spacious.
One thing I will say is that reading the reviews about bed bugs makes me worry. Not the bed bugs but it seems that the Madonna Inn have a standardized response that they post up as a response to the reviews
So one night and on to Santa Barbara….an experience but glad it was just the one night

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madonna_Management, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

The Madonna Inn Management Team would like to thank you for providing the comments and feedback from your recent stay at the property. Comments such as yours help us in our ongoing effort to improve our guests experiences each time they visit us. I can give you my personal assurance that our Hotel is free of bed bugs and that we currently have a proffessional pest control company that services the entire property. We maintain a philosophy that our employees, including managment, should be proud to reccomend the Hotel to their closest family and freinds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed in I guess what you would call the lower level, I call it the bedrock room. I felt like Wilma from the Flintstones stuck in a bad marriage! =) What can I say, the room is "unusual" but you know what you're getting into when you book this place. I LOVED the shower! I never experienced jet streams and waterfalls from every angle as I'm showering. Everything else seemed creepy to me, but for someone else it may be really cool! I did feel cool when I saw this place as one of Hue Hefner's spots to stay at!!!..But then again, what does that say? =)

Room Tip: The rock room definitely does not offer a warm and cozy feeling. the shower is beyond amazing, but...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieQtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madonna_Management, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Wilma! LOL!!
We appreciate your thoughts on the Hotel and were happy to hear you enjoyed the rock waterfall shower. This is one of the ammenities we are most known for at the property. I can understand not feeling warm and cozy in a rock encased room, however, as you noted this is perfect for some. We do have a number of rooms that have the rock shower experience, but have carpeted floors and standard walls versus the all rock floors and walls found in the rock rooms. We hope that you would join us again for another experience and we can be sure to provide the accomodations you would be more comfortable in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

110 themed rooms to stay in, ranging from an antique cars room, crystal room, fabulous fifties, imperial family, love nest to a Swiss chalet! We stayed in an underground cave, all rock with a huge rock fireplace and a two person waterfall shower! We loved the room so much we elected to have dinner in our room, thereby missing out on the amazing Steakhouse restaurant, the silver bar with its hand carved wood and rock furnishings, all pink themed and the delicious bakery and pastry shop! ( found that the next morning though!) Pricey but worth the experience for a one night stay. This was our honeymoon after marrying in Las Vegas the week before and we booked it from Australia before leaving. We weren't disappointed and would stay again - would love to try all the different themes! If you're traveling that way, give it a try - you won't be disappointed! Quirky and fun!

Room Tip: Think about your favorite fantasy and choose your room based on that!
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madonna_Management, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Congratulations on your recent nuptials from the staff and management of the Madonna Inn Resort & Spa! We are happy you chose our Hotel to celebrate your Honeymoon and were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We would love to have you celebrate your anniversary each year with us and experience all of the different themes. Our fondest regards to the two of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,425 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
627 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
878 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £174 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing